window stays won't tighten

12 posts
Quote | Report

I have an Ace Jubilee Diplomat 2005. The windows have a telescopic rod each side and a plastic locking nut to hold the window in the open position. The knobs don't hold the window open even when fully tightened.  Is there any adjustment which would fix the problem without having to replace the fittings.

Quote | Report

I think if the threads have gone they it will tighten to a point at which the nob turns but the thread is slipping because of wear. If the nob comes to a point where it will not turn further then the end must be short of catching. I wil have another look at the ones on my caravan but it sounds as though they will need replacing. If there is a caravan scrap yard near you there might be a saving to be had by getting them second hand.

Quote | Report

Hi, I have an Ace Award and a few years ago I dismantled a telescopic window stay which wouldn't hold. The knob you turn is, as you say threaded, at the inner end of the threaded section was a small piece of metal, I can only describe it like a wedge. This 'wedge' then presses on the telescopic sliding rod and the force stops the rod from sliding, to hold the window open. It is possible that the 'wedge' has either broken or become dislodged. Perhaps the threaded part is no longer pressing on the 'wedge' Try to remove the fastener from the window to see if you can get access to see what has happened. Caravan breakers will have loads of these fasteners. Make sure you get one for the correct side.

Quote | Report