The UK's No.1 Forest Adventure, the classic and original Go Ape - experience. Fly down zip-wires, leap off Tarzan Swings...View and Book
Netherton Lane, Highley, Bridgnorth, Shropshire, WV16 6NJView on map
Why stay here ...
Little Netherton is in the tiny hamlet of Netherton attached to Highley. The CL is located in the quiet Netherton Lane with the large grassed site overlooking open fields. It's very good for bird watching and lots of extremely silly pheasants wander around. Owls can be heard hooting at night but not guaranteed. Steam trains on the nearby Severn Valley Railway are heard working hard and whistling for the many country farm crossings.
We are in an ideal location for exploring the pretty part of the Severn Valley with many nearby attractions especially the Severn Valley Railway. Half a mile from our site is Highley Station where regular steam trains run to the beautiful hill town of Bridgnorth, the lovely Georgian town of Bewdley and into Kidderminster. A day rover and family ticket offers excellent value for money for a day out avoiding the hassle of parking in towns.
Close by for walking and cycling is the beautiful Severn Valley Country Park on the sites of Highley and Alveley Collieries, a cycle and pedestrian bridge crosses the river linking the two parts. The River Severn has a good footpath in either direction also nearby is the Wyre Forest with its Go Ape aerial adventure. Cycle route 45 follows the railway to Hampton Loade then onto Bridgnorth in the opposite direction to Bewdley via Arley and the Wyre Forest but be prepared for the hills.
By car Bridgnorth and Bewdley are 8 miles away in opposite directions, Cleobury Mortimer 7 miles, Clee Hill 13 miles, Much Wenlock and Ironbridge 16 miles, Ludlow 19 miles, Black Country Museum in Dudley 25 miles and Shrewsbury 30 miles. On top of all this is the West Midlands Safari Park at Bewdley.
There's fishing, golf and plenty of local pubs for meals, two small supermarkets and a good butchers in Highley. Busses are hourly to Bridgnorth and Bewdley.
Having preferred staying on CLs ourselves in our motorhome we look foward to welcoming you on ours.
10amp electricity - Please follow directions listed to avoid grounding van on the slope at the entrance to the CL - If you have a larger caravan please disuss entering the site at the time of booking with the owner.
John and Van
Latest arrival time: 8:00 PM
Latest departure time: 12:00 PM
Some sloping pitches
Electric amperage: 10
Great savings on days out
Offers available to Club members
Soak in the picturesque surroundings of the encircling landscape as you experience all the awe-inspiring thrills of Hot ...View and Book
Log in to write a review
Arrived on site unannoyed, (previously viewed on laptop)welcomed by son who kindly allowed onto site to set up. On arrival of father, during which we were cooking tea, requested payment, book claims from £15, but he decided to charge £18, which was extortionate, no WC, no bins (hung rubbish bag on gate on dep), grass very long and previous cuttings being carried into van, the photograph of site not accurate, size is greatly reduced with DIY pallet fence for sheep. He claimed extra charge for waste water, we empty out daily, as would a caravan. Other CL's in Shropshire with far superior facilities, charging £14 or £15.
Response from the Club
Thank you for your review. The CL owner has been in touch as he works really hard to make sure all guests have a wonderful stay, as you can see from the other 5 star reviews for the CL Site. As such he would like address your concerns.
When the owner called on you, it was to see if everything was ok and not to collect payment. He was not aware you were cooking your tea. As you offered the payment he did collect it at this point but please be assured that was not his intention and he just wanted to make sure you were happy and settled ok.
The site is from £15 as the Sites Directory states. However it is £18 for a single night and this was advised before arrival.
The weather had been bad so a quick cut of the grass was only possible.
The site had room for 5 vehicles with lots of space to spare. A WC is not advertised on the listing or in the directory.
Please note if you have any concerns such as location of bins the CL Owners house is next to the site and they would be happy to help.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but we hope this helps address your concerns.