Little Netherton

Netherton Lane, Highley, Bridgnorth, Shropshire, WV16 6NJ

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Dogs
  • Peaceful stays

Why stay here ...

Little Netherton is in the tiny hamlet of Netherton attached to Highley. The CL is located in the quiet Netherton Lane with the large grassed site overlooking open fields. It's very good for bird watching and lots of extremely silly pheasants wander around. Owls can be heard hooting at night but not guaranteed. Steam trains on the nearby Severn Valley Railway are heard working hard and whistling for the many country farm crossings.

We are in an ideal location for exploring the pretty part of the Severn Valley with many nearby attractions especially the Severn Valley Railway. Half a mile from our site is Highley Station where regular steam trains run to the beautiful hill town of Bridgnorth, the lovely Georgian town of Bewdley and into Kidderminster. A day rover and family ticket offers excellent value for money for a day out avoiding the hassle of parking in towns.

Close by for walking and cycling is the beautiful Severn Valley Country Park on the sites of Highley and Alveley Collieries, a cycle and pedestrian bridge crosses the river linking the two parts. The River Severn has a good footpath in either direction also nearby is the Wyre Forest with its Go Ape aerial adventure. Cycle route 45 follows the railway to Hampton Loade then onto Bridgnorth in the opposite direction to Bewdley via Arley and the Wyre Forest but be prepared for the hills.

By car Bridgnorth and Bewdley are 8 miles away in opposite directions, Cleobury Mortimer 7 miles, Clee Hill 13 miles, Much Wenlock and Ironbridge 16 miles, Ludlow 19 miles, Black Country Museum in Dudley 25 miles and Shrewsbury 30 miles. On top of all this is the West Midlands Safari Park at Bewdley.

There's fishing, golf and plenty of local pubs for meals, two small supermarkets and a good butchers in Highley. Busses are hourly to Bridgnorth and Bewdley.

Having preferred staying on CLs ourselves in our motorhome we look foward to welcoming you on ours.

For 7 night stays pay for 6 nights.

10amp electricity - Please follow directions listed to avoid grounding van on the slope at the entrance to the CL - If you have a larger caravan please disuss entering the site at the time of booking with the owner.

John and Van

Facilities on site ...

  • Battery charging
  • Dog walk from site
  • Recycling facilities

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time: 8:00 PM

Latest departure time: 12:00 PM

0.75 acres

Some sloping pitches

Electric amperage: 10

Recycling Facilities

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

Offer image for: Go Ape - Wyre - 10% discount
Offer image for: Ludlow Castle - 10% discount
Offer image for: Scenes Above - Marlborough, Wiltshire (Micro Light) - 10% discount
Offer image for: National Archery - Hanbury, Worcestershire - 10% discount
View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
WV16 6NJ
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 52.442645 / Lon -2.388388
OS field ref:
SO736828
OS map ref:
138

Transport links

  • Daily public transport within 1 mile

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

Little Netherton
Just had a great couple of nights at Little Netherton CL, Highley, Shropshire. Great owners, chickens, free courgettes! The town is great too, with walks for the dog although many are overgrown. Close to Bridgnorth, Bewdley, Kidderminster and Ludlow. A word of caution, if you have a large rear overhang 🤭park up and get guided in, there is a driveway opposite! www.threegotravelling.com

sarahandric

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 17:10

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing stay

Little Netherton

Arrived on site unannoyed, (previously viewed on laptop)welcomed by son who kindly allowed onto site to set up. On arrival of father, during which we were cooking tea, requested payment, book claims from £15, but he decided to charge £18, which was extortionate, no WC, no bins (hung rubbish bag on gate on dep), grass very long and previous cuttings being carried into van, the photograph of site not accurate, size is greatly reduced with DIY pallet fence for sheep. He claimed extra charge for waste water, we empty out daily, as would a caravan. Other CL's in Shropshire with far superior facilities, charging £14 or £15.

Response from the Club

Thank you for your review. The CL owner has been in touch as he works really hard to make sure all guests have a wonderful stay, as you can see from the other 5 star reviews for the CL Site. As such he would like address your concerns.
When the owner called on you, it was to see if everything was ok and not to collect payment. He was not aware you were cooking your tea. As you offered the payment he did collect it at this point but please be assured that was not his intention and he just wanted to make sure you were happy and settled ok.
The site is from £15 as the Sites Directory states. However it is £18 for a single night and this was advised before arrival.
The weather had been bad so a quick cut of the grass was only possible.
The site had room for 5 vehicles with lots of space to spare. A WC is not advertised on the listing or in the directory.
Please note if you have any concerns such as location of bins the CL Owners house is next to the site and they would be happy to help.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but we hope this helps address your concerns.

cato5

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/07/2021 11:27

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A wonderful stay

Little Netherton
Stayed here for 4 nights and didn't want to leave. Peaceful and relaxing with just the chickens to keep us company. John was a perfect host. Nice and easy walk to the village and Highley station. Plenty of walks locally. Try the local butchers pork pies. Would we stay again OH YES!

Trevor and Nicki

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 13:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

Little Netherton
We stayed for five nights and didn't want to go home. Can only echo previous reviews comments, peaceful tranquil, a very friendly and knowledgeable host. Just what a CL should be. We will return. Brian and Ruth

Brian Sharman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 10:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place to stay

Little Netherton
We are just back from a 7 night stay and had a fantastic time. The kids especially enjoyed the chickens and the domesticated moorhen who loved to hang out by the caravan! There is also a very friendly dog called Finch who likes to come and say hello but he is no bother whatsoever. John, the owner, was more than helpful throughout, often available for snippets of info or just a bit of a chat. We enjoyed cycling, walks, lovely dinner at the Ship Inn on the banks of the Severn and visits to nearby Bridgnorth and Bewdley. We also had a day out at the Blist Hill living museum at Ironbridge. Really had a good and interesting week. One point of note, especially for those towing, is care is needed both entering and exiting the property. It’s a short, steep turn to the left that suddenly appears on the corner. It was no great problem though. John was more than helpful in getting us in and out but care is needed and a steady approach up the hill on Netherton Lane is needed. Would definitely recommend this site for a quiet, peaceful time away and would certainly like to return in the future. Thanks for having us.

Stipey1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2020 16:27

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer