94 Laid

Loch Eriboll, Lairg, Highlands, IV27 4UN

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Beach stays
  • Dogs
  • Peaceful stays
  • Scenic views
  • Waterside stays

Why stay here ...

  • Tranquil.
  • Wildlife (including otters, stags) birdwatching including golden eagles.
  • Sky TV reception.
  • Waterside CL.
  • Heritage Trail.
  • Good area for walking.
  • CL site is at Laird at the side of Loch Eriboll which is 8 miles away from Durness.
  • Nearest public house is in Durness itself.

Facilities on site ...

  • Battery charging
  • Dog walk from site
  • Information room
  • TV reception: variable

Prices

Useful Info

0.5 acres

Levelling blocks required

Electric amperage: 16

Lawned site

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
IV27 4UN
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 58.49145 / Lon -4.72158
OS field ref:
NC416590
OS map ref:
9

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Orca Whale spotting from site

94 Laid
Very convenient for the NC500 and nice to have the tea room on site, now run by the owner's daughter. We were disappointed not to be able to visit the artist Lotte Glob nearby (you now have to book in advance and she didn't return my phone call) but the compensation was that on our walk through the bottom of the site to Loch Eribol we saw Orcas. We had taken binoculars, hoping to see the otters, so were able to watch 3 big black fins jutting out of the water and were pretty sure they were too big for dolphins or porpoise. The next morning the café lady confirmed that Orcas had been seen in the Loch before. Magical.

BurtnJoyce

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 19:50

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A pleasant site with great walking

94 Laid
We enjoyed our stay here - the field was well arranged and there was a lovely walk down through the owners’ property to the loch - great for the dog and ourselves. Not sure what the reference to Sky TV implied. The owner gave us plenty of information about the local area including a walks leaflet. We would happily stay again.

tonysuvla

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2020 11:58

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stopover

94 Laid
We rang up to book ourselves in on our trip of the NC500 the day before we arrived. I went to give the owner our CAMC number and he said it wasn't required as we were to be sited in his tea room car park - the tea room being shut because of COVID restrictions. We still paid the same price as if on the CL (in fact my husband told him to keep the change!), and we were given ehu through his bungalow window. I suppose opening up his car park overnight is enterprising, considering the income he would be losing by not opening his tea room, and also for the sheer number of motorhomes/caravans taking advantage of the current "freedom" to drive the NC500. The CL was totally separate and situated some 100 yards or so from the car park - and gated off, so I could not see any harm in opening up his car park to those in need of an overnight stop. Indeed, I have stayed on other CLs that share their premises with commercial sites etc. Because of where we were situated we were able to take on water by way of our extendable hose which stretched from the water point next to the gate of the CL to our motorhome. We used our trusty red buckets to dispose of our grey waste, but I suspect we could possibly have driven over the drain had we so wanted. There were plenty bins near the bungalow so we were able to deposit our rubbish accordingly. The walk to the loch was lovely - however - it was annoying to find dog poo on the small track running from the CL to the loch. Why? Totally disrespectful of others. We do not own a dog! Apparently there are otters to be seen. I joked about asking about a refund if we didn't see any. We were told there were at least 3 females in the vicinity. The night we stayed it looked as if there may have been a "no-show" in the CL - as only 4 outfits were in place. I hope the owner is not penalised for being enterprising as he did NOT overfill his CL. It is ideally situated for those on the NC500, but I would highly recommend booking in advance if you possibly can.

Carolee

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 30/09/2020 11:36

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

94 Laid
Beautiful site with glorious views across Lake Eriboll. Cafe was closed which was a shame but fully understood with Covid. Only used the electric hook up as we had water on board and didn't need to empty. Will definitely use this site again in the future

BLUESTU440

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/09/2020 11:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wouldn’t stay here again

94 Laid

Mr Smith refused to open the toilet/shower facilities because it would take too much time to clean them due to Covid. Mr Smith was happy to take my money with no mention about the closed facilities. I only found out when I went to use them and they were locked! No signage so I had to seek him out to ask. Had I known in advance about the facilities being closed I would never have booked in the first place. We do not have facilities in our VW campervan. Mr Smith is also using the space around his house for other campers to park therefore this is not a site for just 5 vans. There were at least 11 on site with a gate providing separation for those of us on the CL side of the fence. Nowhere to place our rubbish so had to take it with us. CAMC seriously need to revisit the use of this site. There’s potential to affects its reputation and that of other CL sites. I’ve certainly learned a lesson which is unlikely to be repeated.

Comment from the Club:

Thank you for your review. The shared facilities were closed due to Covid restrictions on the site and we are very sorry for any inconvenience caused. We will make sure this is clearer on the site listing on our website to avoid any further misunderstandings in the future. Please be assured the owners do provide bins on their site so we are sorry you were unable to locate these. Our CL Advisors do visit our sites to check they are of the standard our members deserve and they will be visiting this site again in the near future. We are really sorry you were disappointed with your stay and hope you continue to enjoy our CL network in the future. 

Gghunterwilson

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/09/2020 20:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer