Canaston Oaks

Canaston Bridge, Narberth, Pembrokeshire, SA67 8DE

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Adults
  • Dogs
  • Peaceful stays
  • Scenic views
  • Waterside stays

Why stay here ...

River walks.

Facilities on site ...

  • Battery charging
  • Dog walk from site
  • Shower (exclusive use)
  • TV reception: fair
  • WC (exclusive use)

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time: 12:00 AM

1 acres

Some sloping pitches

Electric amperage: 10

Lawned site

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
SA67 8DE
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 51.786572 / Lon -4.796868
OS field ref:
SN072146
OS map ref:
158

Transport links

  • Bus stop within 1 mile
  • Buses go to: Haverfordwest, Narberth
  • Daily public transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest port: Pembroke (23 miles)
  • Nearest train station: Narberth
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gem of a site

Spent a very enjoyable week here in September. Easy access and pleasant welcome from owner. Spacious, hard-standing pitches, slightly sloping. Grass mown regularly. Great views of the lake and surrounding countryside. Wonderful, well manicured and close-cut walks through the wood to the river, with ample seating in various places. Generally quiet site with very little road noise considering its proximity to the main A40 trunk road. One instant hot shower and separate toilet, with cold water to the basin. Both very clean, with hand-sanitiser outside, and toilet rolls provided and hand hot-air blower. Bin and recycling area tidy and emptied regularly. We were not disturbed during our stay except for the two over-friendly site dogs who were roaming the CL field unattended on most occasions. We believe one visitor had trouble with the one dog urinating on their awning (we had witnessed it go into their awning while they were off-site), and on another occasion we did see the other dog defecate near to our pitch, when unaccompanied. (Visitors' dogs were expected to and were on leads at all times.)

Reviewed on

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding site

We have visited this site several times before and cannot fault this site. Ease of access, arrival, booking and accommodating owners. The pitches are well spaced and generous for caravan, car, awning and to sit out to enjoy the benefit of the scenery and weather. Few improvements with a couple more lakes making it even more an experience. Once Wales was open again it was our first choice, advised toilet block probably wouldn’t be open which did not pose a problem, surprised it was open. We are happy using our own facilities with Covid still a deterrent for us. Unlike others we would not expect a deposit to be refunded if paid, I believe businesses have been hit hard and although we are not mixing we are happy to support businesses to recover. Only downside this visit haven’t seen our bird of prey but owls were very vocal, fabulous.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spacious & lovely surroundings.

Just stayed for 4 nights at this lovely CL. Received a warm welcome and then left to set up. All pitches are hardstanding but slightly sloping, not a problem. Plenty of space between pitches and lovely lake at bottom of the site. We were expecting an Adult Only Site, so were a bit surprised to see there was an older child in one of the outfits and another received visits from their family, including a child, who were staying in the B&B facility on site. It wasn’t a problem for us and there was a notice on the back of the toilet door saying it’s Adult Owner (but discretion of Owner). This wouldn’t deter us from booking again and we would definitely recommend it. Really enjoyed our stay.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

"Unfortunate Circumstances" Owner Response

These are the "Owners" of Canaston Oaks replying to this review. These folks had indeed booked two Vans in with us for the middle of August. I asked only for a £20 deposit for each Van (although Caravan Club themselves have always advised us for peak seasons to ask for more or full amount) These folks rang us to cancel and wanted their £20 each refunded for their cancellation, which only just covers one night. We at Canaston Oaks lost two bookings for two vans in the middle of the August period which we could not rebook at such short notice. Although we do sympathise with your loss and said so at the time, we feel we acted fairly with you and we could not respond again to demands in your letter for the deposit to be paid back. In our opinion we feel this has been an unfair review and does not give the whole picture.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little CL

We stayed here for one night in November. Just turned up and asked if we could stay. Mr. Lewis was very welcoming and helpful. Facilities were well maintained and clean. Hard standing pitches were level and the grass areas were well maintained. Easy access to site from main road. Lovely scenery but some road noise, hence 4* for peace and tranquility. Would definitely stay here again. Great value.

Reviewed on

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer