Silver screen or not

Mike786 replied on 22/11/2019 14:55

Posted on 22/11/2019 14:55

Hi All,

I'm new to motorhomes so in need of some advice. I pick up my 2019 Auto-Trail Imala 734 next week which my wife and I intend to use throughout the year. On looking at various blogs it appears that a silver screen cover of some description is really required.

Any advice on these things would be really appreciated.

Regards

Mike

young thomas replied on 25/11/2019 08:16

Posted on 23/11/2019 21:50 by fatbelly

We have a Silver Screen that fits on the outside. In the cooler months without the SS we have bad condensation each morning but with it fitted we have none. It also keeps the Van warmer in the winter, during the day we peel it down to allow the daylight in. As I said we have a Silver Screen but from what I've read Taylor Made are equally as good.

If you plan to tour in the winter then get one.

Posted on 25/11/2019 08:16

"If you plan to tour in the winter then get one."

it depends where you tour in winterwink....we certainly dont need one in the places we visit....and even in 'warm places' in warmer times, our insulated blind does a good job of keeping the heat out.

we also do a few short stays in the uk at this time of year but, for our van and for such a short time, an external screen is not really worth the effort.

it really depends on your touring pattern/locations and the type of van you have.

Heethers replied on 25/11/2019 08:37

Posted on 25/11/2019 08:37

We find it no effort to place them on the screen, in fact l would go as far to say takes the same amount of time as pulling the blinds round, only disadvantage you need to go outside, also you can't use the cab doors 

Bakers2 replied on 25/11/2019 08:55

Posted on 25/11/2019 08:55

I'm with you Heethers. Also  don't have to drawback the curtains tidy and tieback, that always took longer as I'm particular that they are balanced and look tidy 😉.