Electric parking brake hill start

Spamcan replied on 26/05/2020 12:28

Posted on 26/05/2020 12:28

Just before the lock down I took delivery of a car with electric parking brake and auto hold. Only recently has the tow bar been fitted with vehicle specific wiring. Not having had chance for a real test run and not having had electric brakes before could someone give me the benefit of their experience how how to tow the caravan especially on hill starts with electric brakes The vehicle manual is quite vague. I will say that I have been towing caravans for many years but with manual braking systems.  

NevChap replied on 26/05/2020 12:35

Posted on 26/05/2020 12:35

Firstly, how many times do you do a hill start with the caravan in tow? I must admit that in 33 years of towing I can't remember a time but probably have had to once or twice.

Secondly, it would help to know a bit about the car - is it automatic or manual for instance? If automatic as mine is (although had manual cars in the past) then I would think that simply starting to accelerate as you release the parking brake would enable you to move without slipping back (I know I can in my XC90).

Thirdly, I would try a hill start without the 'van in tow first: on a quiet road if possible. How does it perform? Do you need to adjust your driving habit?

From experience I don't think you will have a problem. Good luck.

eurortraveller replied on 26/05/2020 12:56

Posted on 26/05/2020 12:56

I have no idea about underpowered cars, or super heavyweight vans, or front wheel drive cars scrabbling for grip on a steep hill, but with a 2.2 litre diesel Freelander (manual) towing a 1200kg van - I just put her in first gear and press the accelerator,  the handbrake automatically releases and off we go.  Magic!  It's an everyday event here at home when I stop in the lane - which is about 1 in 6 - and get out to open the gate so I can drive straight in .

ocsid replied on 26/05/2020 14:13

Posted on 26/05/2020 14:13