1966 World Cup Final

DavidKlyne replied on 08/06/2020 10:07

Posted on 08/06/2020 10:07

Did any of you watch the retrospective on the 1966 World Cup on Channel Four on Sunday? They concentrated on the black and white footage interspersed with colour film at goal scoring moments. I am no football expert but it seemed a hard fought game. There is a film called Goal which is in colour which gives a real sense of the excitement of the day. A little bit of nostalgia in these dark days.

David 

Takethedogalong replied on 08/06/2020 10:21

Posted on 08/06/2020 10:21

It was a good afternoons entertainment, well put together, and trying to raise funds for a C19 charity. We were too young to recall 1966, so it was good to watch the whole match and appreciate it. What a team they were, so skilful. And so fit looking.

The colour footage was special FIFA film, not sure it all exists now, hence the switch from black and white to colour. It would have been lovely to have seen a lot more of the build up, the crowds, etc.... but a very good programme. And they won😁 Again😁

JillwithaJay replied on 08/06/2020 10:24

Posted on 08/06/2020 10:24

I'm no football fan either.  Maybe having one fanatic in the house as a child put the rest of us off.  My dad was a very keen supporter of his local team all his life.

I meant to watch it but got sidetracked and missed it.  I do remember the day of the match, watching it on television and the famous "They think it's all over …" comment.  I do have a gold charm of the  Jules Rime trophy on my bracelet inherited from my mum. 

DavidKlyne replied on 08/06/2020 12:24

Posted on 08/06/2020 12:24

I had always thought that Bobby Moore was so pivotal to us winning that game but the programme highlighted how industrious little Alan Ball was to the game. But they all worked had, something that seems to be lacking in modern football? Good to see the interviews, particularly Terry Paine who was a Southampton legend.

David