Writing Reviews (particularly for CLs)

moulesy replied on 03/06/2019 11:02

Posted on 03/06/2019 11:02

We are staying more and more on CLs these days and have found many really lovely sites after reading reviews on CT. But I'm sure there are many, many more that we miss. The problem, for me anyway, when I look at latest activity, is the number of reviews with titles like "perfect" , "a real gem" , "lovely site" and so on.

So, and this is just a suggestion for folk writing reviews, these days I try to include the name of the site in the title when I write reviews. It makes it easier to distinguish between CL reviews and main site reviews which I don't tend to look at much.

Just wondering if others think it would be helpful to do that.

Wherenext replied on 04/06/2019 12:55

Posted on 04/06/2019 12:55

Nellie, for Latest Activity press Club Together in the top corner twice in fairly quick succession, then scroll down.

 

KeefySher replied on 04/06/2019 12:55

Posted on 04/06/2019 11:37 by moulesy

You misunderstand what I was saying, KS. Yes, if I want details of a particular site or even a site in a particular area I'll go to that site/area - I don't go scouring back through the latest activities to find it.

I'm perfectly aware of how to use the view site button.

But what I meant was that,  when I go onto CT, the first thing I look at is the latest activity. It is there that the plethora of reviews with vague, though complimentary, titles is time consuming. I was meaning, in my OP, that a title such as "Bunkers Hill (location) - lovely and quiet" would be more helpful than just those 3 words.

Posted on 04/06/2019 12:55

How do you find reviews from the period you've been offline for a few days or weeks as you've been out touring? Is there a time slot part to the search function? On other fora I use you can search by keyword and date range.

Do you not read the reviews, just the title?

The 'latest activity/reviews' only gives the first few words of a review. By clicking 'view this review' it opens with a page that has the site/CL name in the displayed file tree. 

To write a review can you do it without going via the individual site/CL page? 

Perhaps the software would be best modified to insert  the CL/Site name/location that displays in the latest activity/review display, then the review title free text box. 

When I write reviews its from the site/CL individual page, why should I have to enter the name/location as I'm following a link to write the review on the site/CL I've taken time out to write a review about. When the email from CAMC arrives asking me to complete a questionnaire or a review it contains a link to the site individual page.

Perhaps your request would get better responses in the snagging list section

 

moulesy replied on 04/06/2019 13:22

Posted on 04/06/2019 13:22

I'm obviously not making myself clear to you, KS. I'm not talking about reading reviews for a specific site.

Out of interest I like to read reviews, often at random, of CLs  (not club sites so no email from the club inviting them) which other folk have appreciated. We've stayed on quite a few now in areas we wouldn't necessarily have thought of visiting otherwise.

It was just a suggestion which might help folk, sorry you seem to be interpreting it as some sort of criticism!

Tinwheeler replied on 04/06/2019 14:49

Posted on 04/06/2019 14:49

I get it, M. I saw a review this morning in LA which, although it didn’t have the site name in the title, was called something like “Lovely CL near Tavistock”. It struck me then that it could be instantly recognisable and of use to someone planning to visit Tavistock. I wish I’d looked up the site name. 

moulesy replied on 04/06/2019 15:42

Posted on 04/06/2019 15:42

Yes, and I've just noticed two this afternoon. So maybe my suggestion was not so obscure as some have suggested! wink

Edit - the Tavistock one was Lumburn Court which we've pencilled in when we visit friends in the town later this year, so very, very helpful. smile

KeefySher replied on 04/06/2019 17:34

Posted on 04/06/2019 14:49 by Tinwheeler

I get it, M. I saw a review this morning in LA which, although it didn’t have the site name in the title, was called something like “Lovely CL near Tavistock”. It struck me then that it could be instantly recognisable and of use to someone planning to visit Tavistock. I wish I’d looked up the site name. 

Posted on 04/06/2019 17:34

https://www.caravanclub.co.uk/certificated-locations/england/devon/tavistock/lumburn-court/

Found by clicking 5 times on the bottom of the latest review section in CT laughing to get to it.

or putting 'Devon' & 'Tavistock' in the CL Search tool:

https://www.caravanclub.co.uk/uk-holidays/uk-search-and-book/certificated-locations/search/?Name=&SiteContentId=&County=1073853114&Town=1073853240&Postcode=&LatLong=

Different strokes for different folks. More than one way to skin a cat (metaphorically speaking) tongue-out

KeefySher replied on 04/06/2019 17:37

Posted on 04/06/2019 13:22 by moulesy

I'm obviously not making myself clear to you, KS. I'm not talking about reading reviews for a specific site.

Out of interest I like to read reviews, often at random, of CLs  (not club sites so no email from the club inviting them) which other folk have appreciated. We've stayed on quite a few now in areas we wouldn't necessarily have thought of visiting otherwise.

It was just a suggestion which might help folk, sorry you seem to be interpreting it as some sort of criticism!

Posted on 04/06/2019 17:37

No criticism from me.

 

nelliethehooker replied on 04/06/2019 18:05

Posted on 04/06/2019 12:55 by Wherenext

Nellie, for Latest Activity press Club Together in the top corner twice in fairly quick succession, then scroll down.

 

Posted on 04/06/2019 18:05

Thanks WN. I've just done that and of the last 35 reviews there only 2 of them have the site name in the title.