Peugeot Boxer Ignition barrel red button

WilliamsDJ replied on 09/11/2019 23:37

Posted on 09/11/2019 23:37

Advice please, I’m new to motor homing, Van is an Elddis Accordo seven months old and refused to start I called out the roadside assistance who then traced a problem to a coil fault, which was bypassed to get me home. The coil is situated on top of the battery my question is can anyone tell me what the red button attached to the ignition barrel ring does? I have funny feeling I my have contributed to the situation.The Peugeot handbook is very vague the local Peugeot garage is somewhat puzzled and as for the supplier, well. Apparently, this button has only appeared on the latest models 2018 onwards, that’s all I know. Cheers DJW.

Tinwheeler replied on 11/11/2019 15:48

Posted on 11/11/2019 15:48

Hi, DJW. The red button isolates the vehicle battery.

Using it will disable all except the very essential electrical systems such as the ECU memory. It’s worth noting that, once enabled, it will prevent entry to the van by any means other than inserting the key in the look of the driver's door and will mean resetting the time/date of the clock.

If you have a tracker or alarm, these should be powered by the leisure battery but it’s worth checking that before isolating the vehicle battery.

Btw, our Boxer has this button and it’s the 2017 Euro 6 model. 

Tinwheeler replied on 11/11/2019 16:42

Posted on 11/11/2019 16:42

The pics below show my button and the accompanying label on the dash.

To elaborate on my post above, engaging the red button isolates most of the vehicle battery stand-by functions and, if this is not done and the vehicle is not used fo a few weeks, the battery will lose its charge.