Jockey wheel mishap

Mickbroth replied on 07/05/2019 09:29

Posted on 07/05/2019 09:29

Good morning, as a nervous newbie I posted a list of 20 questions on here a few weeks ago and thanks to the replies and advice we are now settled comfortably on our first outing and are loving it.

I had a bit of a disaster when preparing for the caravan trip though.  I wanted to check the nose weight using the Milenco gauge but I couldn’t wind the jockey wheel down enough to lift the hitch to rest on the gauge. No problem, I thought, wind it back up again, lift the front of the caravan and drop the whole wheel a few inches. (I’m sure my dad did this 45 years ago!). Off course what happened was I lifted the caravan too far and the jockey wheel fell out leaving me taking the full weight of the caravan on my thigh. Fortunately my wife was within earshot to put it back. 

I was thinking this could quite easily have happened if I was hitching it to my car instead of the nose weight. Did I do something wrong when unhitching for the first time to prevent me winding it down enough, and if so what could I have done to correct it.

Also on the subject of nose weight I was quite surprised how little we could put in the front storage area. We had one gas bottle, a few lightweight accessories and the security locks. It weighed 90Kg (limit of 75kg} so ended up moving a few things into the car. We did have the awning in the van on the floor over the axle so I’m guessing this could affect the nose weight too?

Amesford replied on 25/05/2019 08:28

Posted on 25/05/2019 08:28