Thule bike rack on fiamma rails?

Cheryl Barry replied on 17/11/2021 22:17

Posted on 17/11/2021 22:17

I’m new to motorhoming and looking for a bit of experienced advice. I’m buying an Autosleeper Broadway which has factory fitted fiamma rails, but I want to have a Thule lockable  bike rack fitted. Dealer says it’s not possible as the Thule won’t fit the fiamma rails but I think he just wants to fit the fiamma because he has one in stock. Any help gratefully received. 

eribaMotters replied on 18/11/2021 08:52

Posted on 18/11/2021 08:52

I've fitted 4 carriers, Fiamma and Thule [Omni]. They do differ in design and I do not recall them being interchangeable on mounts. From memory I think the Fiamma tubes are a smaller diameter but  seemed thicker walled. Quality wise they are comparable so I would not worry.

If your concern is security I would just get a high quality cable and lock. I use a Kryptonite Evolution to secure my self seek free standing sat dish but something a little cheaper on the bikes as they are old.

Colin

DavidKlyne replied on 18/11/2021 09:53

Posted on 17/11/2021 22:17 by Cheryl Barry

I’m new to motorhoming and looking for a bit of experienced advice. I’m buying an Autosleeper Broadway which has factory fitted fiamma rails, but I want to have a Thule lockable  bike rack fitted. Dealer says it’s not possible as the Thule won’t fit the fiamma rails but I think he just wants to fit the fiamma because he has one in stock. Any help gratefully received. 

Posted on 18/11/2021 09:53