Ashbury Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Has amazing potential

As per the previous review we can confirm there were 6 vans on site and to be fair to the owner he did inform me of this prior to arriving. The site has the potential to be a contender for CL of the year. However, it definitely needs some TLC the grass was only cut once in two weeks and even then not fully. The toilets and shower must be cleaned daily especially during these Covid times and a mop and bucket would be really useful in the shower. Another example would be to tidy up the tyres containing currently weeds, even trying to level the pitches would help immensely all these points are really easy to implement and action. The owner is so friendly and helpful and the views are truly amazing it has everything going for it just needs that TLC. I have spoken honestly and balanced on our experience at Ashbury.

Clive H

Reviewed on 01/07/2021 22:09

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great ! and not so great

The views from this site are amazing and the site owner is a nice guy. We stayed here for 10 days recently (2021) - returning after last visiting 6 years ago. Sadly the site is not quite as it was, no bbq area (not that that bothered us) no cafe as it once had either - again no big deal. The pitches are in need of some TLC now but the access and views and dog walk area are all great. However, fellow campers, please be aware that they do not always adhere to the 5 van rule and abuse it to the point where we returned one day to find another van had been pitched right in front of us and there were 9 vans on site - view gone. The 6 real pitches are all down one side so giving each one a fab view of Dartmoor. Parking people on non pitches (no elec) to squeeze them on is not what we had in mind when booking a CL. I accept some site do at times put more on than they should, and if it does not hinder your own enjoyment of the site - hey ho - but this was not on. So summary a great little site but be aware you may well find yourselves with many more vans than expected and if this does not worry you than all well and good.

flossthedog

Reviewed on 12/05/2021 14:18

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Thank you for having us stay. First time we have ventured out since lockdown and we were perfectly comfortable. Fabulous site, arrival was simple and welcoming, hosts are lovely people, informative and helpful Everywhere was kept very clean and tidy Close enough to the town to be handy but far enough away to be peaceful, with beautiful views all around. Looking forward to a return visit

MBSTOK

Reviewed on 15/09/2020 12:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful stay

We stayed here for 15 nights in our motorhome with our 3 dogs.Having water on the pitch is a great bonus. The toilets and shower were immaculate which was reassuring as we visited as soon as lockdown was eased. There is a useful paddock to let the dogs into morning and night. The grass was cut but it would be perfect if all grass clippings were collected.Views towards Dartmoor are stunning . Derek and Gill has an excellent site which is easy to find and great to visit Devon. The cycle trails nearby are easy to find. Thank you both for a great stay

celiatony

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2020 22:31

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A warm welcome

We were warmly welcomed, and the site provided all we could ask in the way of facilities - I gather there were even loos and showers, although I didn't find them until we were leaving! But it was a delightful site, slightly "in the middle of nowhere" but not so far out of Okehampton that we couldn't go in there next day to look round.

Mrs Redboots

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/07/2019 18:46

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not just a Stopover

Excellent, well run CL. The Hardstanding pitches have sufficient room for car, caravan and awning and I disagree with a previous review stating that pitches are too close. They aren't and we've been on enough to know. The pitches have water and electric points but you have to drain the waste water at either of the 2 grids provided. It was obvious during our stay that the cover to the Elsan was going to need to be replaced and the owner replaced it the day after we mentioned it. The views from the site are glorious but you will find it open to the wind when it blows. The pitches look southward so awnings will probably be to the east. Access to the site just needs a little care but you can swing around to the opposite side of the road to make sure of your entrance. The "building" work referred to is a storage area for gravel etc used by the Hotel complex nearby so unless they need to do some building will remain inactive. As for the Mast, well what can one say, except most guests do not find it to be a problem. TV reception is good.😀 The owners also have a 2 person "cottage" for hire next to the site if anyone wants to take friends or relatives. We had a viewing and the standard is excellent with a walk in shower for those that need it. The local area is worth exploring, from walks on Dartmoor to Cycling along The Tarka Trail, The Granite Way and Drakes Trail, all accessed within a short drive. For shopping use Okehampton where you'll find a Waitrose, Co-op and Lidl. A bus route can be found at the end of the road. All in all an excellent CL, which is worthy of a longer than 1 night stay, although the site is excellent for this being close to the A30.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/04/2019 18:55

74 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Immaculately kept with good facilities, but the site has it's problems

Positives:- Extremely easy access, All hard standing and gravel track to access pitches, Quiet & peaceful, Owner was very friendly, Picnic benches supplied for sitting & eating outside, Gas BBQ supplied (50p contribution for gas), Individual tap on every pitch, Toilet facilities are very good, I didn't go in the showers (50p charge for each shower taken) as I used the on-board shower in my caravan but (based on the toilet facilities & other reviews) I assume that the showering facilities are good. There is a small dog walking pen (around 20mx20m) at the bottom of the field. Too small for my greyhound to run but extremely handy for when the dog wants a toilet break late at night. The field next to the campsite is used for training sheep dogs. This could either be a positive or a negative depending upon your point of view. I imagine that the shouting would become tiresome after a while, although I personally found it very interesting & entertaining to watch the dogs with their owners rounding up sheep whilst I was having my dinner. However, this site does have it's problems. Here are the negatives:- Pitches were too close together for my liking (with three units on site it felt like we were virtually sat looking in each others windows), I thought that this site is expensive compared to other comparable CL's, There is a big radio tower at the corner of the site with a high gain microwave antenna pointing straight at the pitches which probably isn't a good thing (I woke up with a headache, I can't be sure if that was as a result of the radio tower). Either way, it's not pretty to look at. During my stay there was a lot of work going on in a site on the opposite side of the road. Lorries arriving to drop off gravel, JCB diggers shovelling gravel around all day (continuous drone of diesel engines, banging of buckets/machinery, beeping every few seconds as the JCB's reversed etc). Would I go back? Sorry, I'm afraid I would rather find somewhere else. The radio mast and the racket from the other site of the road are deal-breakers for me. Shame as this is a really nice site. If they did away with the radio tower and racket from the site on the opposite site of the road then I would go back without any hesitation.

dayjj

Campervanner

Reviewed on 28/03/2019 21:45

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spent New Year 2018/19 on this delightful site

We had a delightful time at this site for 5 days over the New Year period. It is easy to find, good signage off the main road and at the entrance to the site. Do not be put off by the electrical installation at the entrance you do not notice it at all once on the site. The views are beautiful across the fields to the Moor and the site is very peaceful with lots of bird life. The sheep were there but sadly we did not see the shepherd working the sheep. All the facilities and local advice was mentioned in the last review, however I should like to add the delight of a warm shower room with a heated towel rail - luxury indeed in the middle of winter to be able to wrap a warm towel around you. This was a bonus as we had trouble with our water pump so showers in our van were not possible. The shower is also wide enough to dry in too. The separate loo and shower were kept spotless. Marvellous facilities for a C.L Site. There is also a very useful 24hr Waitrose shop at the garage near the A30/A386 junction five minutes drive from the site - great if you arrive late and forget something. This is a little gem of a site and the owners could not be more helpful. When, at first, we could not access the WiFi (which actually did not bother us) Derek kindly came out in the dark in a rainstorm to help us get connected without us asking him. The site drained well and was kept beautifully even in the middle of winter. You may need levelling blocks. There are not many sites you can recommend in the depth of winter but this site we certainly do. I am sure it will be delightful in the warmer months too.

martha two

Reviewed on 26/01/2019 19:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ashbury CP, Okehampton....one of the very best!!

This is a grand, peaceful CL located about 4 mls from the A30, & clearly signposted off the A3097, and about the same distance from the town of Okehampton. All pitches are hardstanding with 16 amp electricity, individual water connection and free Wi-Fi.....great value at £14 pn. Access to each pitch is from a slightly sloping shingle track. Levelling blocks may be required. In a separate building near the entrance are 2 toilets and shower (Additional charge). There is also a small paddock where one can let off one's dog for a short run around etc. Across from each pitch are picnic tables for caravanners to use with lovely views of Dartmoor in the distance, and if one is fortunate you might also see a lady training her sheepdogs in the field beyond. The area is good for cycling (The Tarka Trail and The Granite Way, with a link just down the road along the Pegasus Trial to the latter) and for walking both from the site and on Dartmoor. Oakhampton has a number of shops including the Co-op, Liddle and Waitrose supermarkets. There is also a new Holiday Let, The Gallery, which sleeps 2 people and allows pets, by the site entrance. There are quite a few N/T properties within easy driving distance, such as Castle Drogo and Lynford Gorge. This is definitely a site that we will return to when in the area.

163 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site, great scenery and very friendly and helpful owners.

We booked a 12 night stay at this lovely CL for early September. There was so much for us to do (cycling and walking) but so little time to fit it all in. There will certainly be a ‘next time’ for us to stay at Ashbury Caravan Park CL and discover the delights of this part of North Devon! Located and clearly signposted just off the A3079 access, even for a large, twin axle caravan is relatively easy. However on speaking to Gill we understand they have plans to widen the gate to make access even easier. All pitches are hardstanding with 16 amp electricity, individual water connection and free Wi-Fi. Access to each pitch is from a slightly sloping shingle track. Levelling blocks may be required. In a separate building near the entrance is a toilet and shower (Additional charge). Across from each pitch are picnic tables for caravanners to use with lovely views of Dartmoor in the distance. We were fortunate to see sheepdog training on the field immediately in front of our caravan – it’s amazing to see working dogs round up a flock of sheep and herald them into a pen by simple commands of whistle and voice. The area is good for cycling (The Tarka Trail and The Granite Way) and walking on Dartmoor. Oakhampton has a number of shops including the Co-op, Liddle and Waitrose supermarkets. The National Trust also have a number of properties in the area. We found Gill and Derek to be a most friendly and helpful couple who took pleasure in keeping their CL spotless and have no hesitation in recommending the site, either as a convenient overnight stop or for a longer stay. We will certainly be using the CL again when we are next in the area.

TheCaravanMan

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 28/09/2018 21:46

18 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer