Barfreston Court Farms Ltd

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Dirty court and place tot stay

It was hard to find and once we arrived we were shocked by the rubbish and the dirty or broken cars and dirty caravan. The sanitary facilities were simply built into a shed and were heavily soiled. We made something fun of it ourselves by sweeping and rinsing the pavement on which we were standing, as well as cleaning the ladies toilet. In short, not recommended. Lots of car traffic from coming and going relatives and/or friends of the farmer. in the morning at daybreak Gekukel of the hens and Geese and Peacock huddled up. We brought the Ferry to Dunkirk early so as not to stay too long.

KipKompakt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2022 16:15

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful CL located near ferry

This site is very well placed for access to the Dover ferry, although the location and local attractions warrant a longer stay. Usual setting in a courtyard, but this is very useful for MH's who have plenty of hard standing. Separate WC's for male/female. Very well kept and well recommended

easyonthegas

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2019 12:14

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site!

Last minute escape for 1 night and this was a great choice, hope to spend more time here in the future. Lovely walks, 12th century church,good micro pub called the wrong turn. Clear starry skies with little light pollution was a great sight. Basic, clean and functional seperate men's and ladies toilets and covered wash area, wasn't sign posted but explained when we arrived. Worth a visit, great CL

Yachtiewest

Reviewed on 31/10/2017 20:12

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Unusual CL

This is not a typical CL - but don't let that put you off. It is situated in the courtyard of a farm - and a very attractive courtyard at that. Everything is on hard standing, so a true 12 month site. Really good for ferry, but also interesting enough for a longer stay. Make sure you walk up the the Wrong Turn if you stay her - its a great micro pub selling beer directly from the cask.

wesley

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 07/07/2016 12:47

33 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful stop over location

We enjoyed our one night stay during a tour of Kent and enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the courtyard setting that was once a centre of farming activities. The pitches are all on concrete with a central grass area and picnic table. M & F toilet and sink facilities (spotlessly clean and tidy) are in one of the barns but there are no signs to help you work out which one! One very large barn is used for occasional functions.  The local church is well worth a visit for its Norman & Saxon architecture and there are some lovely footpaths near the site for dog walking. There were no information leaflets at the CL. Unusually, we were obliged to pay the £15 pitch/EHU fee in advance.  Strongly recommended.

royvaux

Reviewed on 15/09/2015 11:34

15 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great place for ferry stop

We have stayed here twice before and it is a really good stop of for the Dover ferries. After driving down from Yorkshire it is a lovely peaceful stop before the early ferry and we also stop off again on our way home. The courtyard setting is very nice and there are his and her toilets as well a washing up facilities. There is a lovely old church and the country side is very scenic with several footpaths.  Access is down narrow roads with cars parked in the village but we have found that people / us give way.  We will be returning in September

Vantrip

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/07/2014 19:00

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil location, great stop off for Dover

Located in a quite valley, this is an ideal spot from which to explore Kent and a good site for easy access to Dover. We've been here twice and will be returning in a couple of weeks. All hard standing in a sheltered very clean & tidy courtyard. Site is level and has well appointed toilets (which we did eventually find in the top right hand corner of the yard). Facilities are hidden so you need to explore a bit. Lovely historic church in the village. Lanes to site are a bit narrow and CL sign is back from the road - we went past it, could be tricky for a large caravan so go steady when you get to the bottom of the hill. Mobile phone signal is bad. Be warned if you go to Canterbury - don't park in the motorhome park by the Cathedral is now £15! Use Park & Ride in New Dover Road.

NoelW

Motorhomer from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 07/05/2014 23:28

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful site, local roads busy

We booked here for an overnight stay before catching the ferry to France in June. The site was peaceful and the facilities were useful for an overnight stop. The owners were conspicuous by their absence but that did not bother us. We arrived on a friday night after a long troublesome journey on the M25 but had more problems negotiating our way through the local village due to excessive amounts of parked cars on narrow roads. The problem was just as bad on our way out on the Saturday morning with the locals being very aggressive in their driving - one at first,refusing to manoeuvre to allow us through. Signage could have been clearer at the site as the CL sign cannot be easily seen from the road. It is for reasons of access that we will look to stay elsewhere next time.

purplepanda

Reviewed on 14/07/2013 21:00

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent for overnight stop for Dover ferries

Great little site for overnight stop to Calais. We travelled from Cheshire and welcomed the overnight stop before sailing on the 07:30 ferry the next day. We arrived on site to a friendly welcome, there are 3 toilets and an area for washing dishes. We had a peaceful nights sleep and would definately use this site again for an overnight stop.

mufasa

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 27/06/2013 20:47

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer