Barrow Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful CL Site

We were booked in for 4 nights to test out our latest caravan, after a lapse of 9 years. We couldn't have wished for a nicer site, with plenty of walks, & nearby Pubs. The friendly owners (& Chickens) helped make this a lovely short break. Would recommend site to anyone as a base when visiting Somerset/Wiltshire.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very nice CL

We were booked in for two nights but could only stay the one night. Everything on the CL was easy and handy to reach and can recommend this CL, however if you have a long caravan or twin axle you need to be careful when entering the site. Luckily I had the wife walking in front of the vehicle otherwise we may have fallen into a stream which you cannot see. We had to take a bend in the road wide to avoid scratching the offside of the caravan which is when we nearly ended up in the stream.

Surfer

Caravanner from Worcestershire

Reviewed on 17/07/2016 14:18

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful CL>

This is a CL that for us was as near ideal as you can expect. Easy to find (although the turn off is literally just past the Rode Mill causeway don't overshoot), quiet apart from the birdsong, and nearby all sorts of touristy places to visit. A choice of hardstanding or well mown grass. TV reception iffy. We tuned in easily as did others only for the signal to mysteriously degrade the next day. We only wanted the weather forecast anyway. Beware cake loving chickens, good eggs though. We will certainly return.

hobbit

Caravanner from East Sussex

Reviewed on 19/06/2016 13:09

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Quiet

We stayed here for four days.. It is such a convenient site, in a lovely situation,for a motorhomer. Lots of lovely dog walks and several pubs within walking distance. The Mill at Rode, just across the bridge from the site, serves excellent food. The hard standing for our motorhome was excellent as were all the other facilities. We will be back.

HerbiesOulFolks

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/04/2016 11:36

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stay

Stayed 6 nts - end October. Very pleasant with lots of footpaths in the area - walked some of the Macmillan Way - do use an OS map (we borrowed 'Sarah's Map'). The turbine at Tellisford interested us. The site is quiet with plenty of space. Lots of lovely apples to buy to eat and take away. Try the PO/Shop/Cafe in the high street. Used the buses - great. Access to the site is a bit narrow away from the main roads - but not difficult. 

mgas3535

Reviewed on 04/11/2015 17:42

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We have stayed at Barrow Farm on numerous occasions and find it perfect. There is plenty of space for 5 caravans/motorhomes and it has everything you need.  There is always a warm welcome and facilities are great.

Caron

Reviewed on 01/09/2015 11:41

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Frome Valley Hideaway

Stayed for just one night (unfortunately, would've loved to stay on) on my way back to Wales from the South Coast. Beautiful site in an orchard at the back of a farm on the edge of Rode village. The river Frome is in the next field and there are PYO fields adjoining the site. The local chickens are VERY friendly - demanding even - so much so that I ended up sharing my supper with them; and lo and behold, there they were the next morning waiting for breakfast! Three hardstandings and three grass pitches; water tap and bins adjacent. Basic but beautiful.

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly and Peaceful Site

We have been to this site quite a few times now, as our son lives nearby.  We have been in Spring and Summer and have always enjoyed our stay, with nice walks nearby.  The owners are very friendly and go camping themselves.  At the right time you can even pick your own fruit.  The approach is a bit tight but nothing too drastic.

TheQs

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 28/08/2014 20:17

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice Spot

Stayed for a week in November and had a great time. Entrance is a bit tricky but if you take care it's ok.Electric hook up is only 10 amps so everyone seemed to be out one time or another trying to reset the RCD switches.Only down side for me was the toilet waste was a long way from the site. It was  at the front of the farm building which is quite a way from the pitches.We found that you can hear the main road noise from the pitch but it was that inaudible we couldn't at first work out if it was the road or the weir.Bus route brill, Pubs nearby and access to attractions easy. We will return to enjoy the locality again, and at £9 a night what more do you want.Just a note I used the caravan club Sat Nav to get there and even this  tried to get me to turn off down the lane before the farm. Entrance has a large white board on the right hand side if coming down the hill 

Dave P

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 24/11/2013 14:45

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL

This is a really relaxing and quiet CL, set in a lovely area of Somerset. The area for caravans includes both hardstanding and grass - we chose a grass pitch, as we then could have unspoilt views down towards the river. We were extra lucky as the weather during the first week in September was tremendous, hot and sunny. The owners were away when we arrived, and on their return from holiday on the Monday, Mr Benson was straight on his mower cutting the grass!!! An exceptional site for a quiet relaxing break, with a couple of good pubs in walking distance.

wesley

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 08/09/2013 17:19

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer