Barrow Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So convenient

For us this site is perfect for visiting family that live locally. Okay, so on our first visit we were a little concerned about getting in and out, but if you go slow and steady it's worth the hassle. We've been three times now and hope to be back again if not this year then next. Beautiful setting and well kept grounds. On all the occasions we've been there we've had heavy rain, and although we choose to park on the grass we didn't have any problem with drainage. Sarah and Mike are lovely and very welcoming. Good walking for the dog, but always wear wellies, the grass on the back tracks can be a bit long and wet. Rode is a very quaint village, especially the village library - one way to use the old telephone box. Lots of wildlife around, including a very curious speckled hen who will eat out of your hand if you let her. Excellent value for money and I'm actually wondering why I'm writing this 'cause we may not be able to get in next time.........

HappyCampers49

Reviewed on 30/07/2013 14:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A mini oasis

We have just spent a gloriously sunny week at this site and the web picture didn't do it justice. I can imagine that even if it were pouring with rain this site would still look beautiful. Sarah the owner was very kind in guiding us in as we had taken a wrong turn as we approached and she kindly waved us in at the top of the drive or I feel we would have passed right by.The only criticism we have and it's a very teeny weeny one, is that perhaps the CC sign could be more visible from both directions. The location was perfectly centrally placed to visit the many attractions in any given direction. The Mill on the Rode is a very picturesque place to while away some time. The food was good but slightly over priced. We have two Whippets and the dog walk was their idea of heaven and if they had a say in the matter they would give this CL a 100% doggy rating too. We will be back!!  Tracy and Kevin

lexonsib2009

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 12/06/2013 06:52

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

I am a Cider Drinker!!

Fantastic site!! No problem at all with entrance. Really friendly family owned farm and site. Bus stop to Bath 5 mins walk & excellent pub/restaurant also 5 mins walk. The site itself has plenty of space, 3 hardstanding pitches & plenty of space for those who prefer grass. In fact when we left, work was just starting on widening the access to the field (not that it was a problem). Excellent recycling facilities.Lovely area, Bradford on Avon, Trowbridge & Frome 10 mins drive. It was just an added bonus that I got to see The Wurzles while staying in Somerset! Highly recommended - excellent holiday - we were even lucky enough that 2 lambs were born while we were staying. (well, excellent apart from the blow out on the way home!!)

sgreen1234

Caravanner from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 10/04/2013 23:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

very dark at night

a beautiful countryside site, just right for stargazers. No one around when we arrived so we picked the largest pitch and saw Sarah the next day, no problem at all. Free range chickens manage to escape and come to breakfast, just a slice of bread tho'. Entrance (on the left) could be tight when coming down the hill but no problem for our motorhome. The local hostelry is The Mill at Rode and the fish pie is to die for as is the ham, egg and chips. Only one slice of ham but 1/2 inch thick and nearly covers the plate. Our grandson was quite amused to have his fish and chips on a board. Sarah is a most lovely lady and even delivers the eggs when wanted, rich dark orange yolks. Site handy for lost of places and the bus stops are just a short walk away. Quite a busy site so if staying long I suggest a notice left on "your" pitch. We have an old police no parking cone which worked well.. The weather in Feb was bitterly cold so the taps, fresh and toilet drop, were frozen but fresh thawed out by evening. Full electric hook up, van and 3 for £9 a night, can't go wrong. We'll be back.

ianorlinda

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 24/02/2013 15:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely CL

I hate to tell everyone about this site because it should be kept a secret. It is a fabulous place. It is a basic CL with water and electric and and grey and black water points, what else do you need. It is such a lovely little site and situated close to Bradford on Avon and Westbury and in a pretty little village with at least two pubs within easy walking. The dogs loved the walks through the fields beside the river and it,s just such a lovely place to spend a tranquil weekend away from it all.

abarhs

Motorhomer from Dyfed

Reviewed on 24/02/2013 15:42

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site no problems with entrance

We have just returned after spending two nights on this lovely site. We have a 7m motorhome and had no problems with the entrance. We followed the directions in the handbook and came from the A36 through Woolverton. The site is very pretty and quiet, with the usual noises you'd expect in the countryside. Don't rely on the cockerel to wake you in the morning, he's a late sleeper!! Lots of good walking and a very relaxing place to stay. Lovely owners, very welcoming. We can see why people keep coming back, we shall certainly visit again when we are in the area.

2spritelyislanders

Reviewed on 24/02/2013 13:06

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice location

Slightly tricky entrance, sloping driveway with some overhanging foliage but ok if you took it carefully. Choice of hardstanding or grass pitches but hardstandings a bit short and some sloping (chocks required). Very friendly free range chickens, one visited every day! Good for visiting lots of local attractions.

mark1968

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/09/2012 12:06

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We love it!

We have been to Barrow Farm 6 times now over the last six years, most recently over the August bank holiday last week. We always have a lovely time and look forward to returning. The site is spacious and well looked after with improvements each time we go - most recently the big awkward tree was removed from the middle to open up the view and lots of smaller ones planted around the edges. Although there are hardstanding pitches we choose to go onto the grass as they are closer to the weir on the river and we like the sound of the running water. In response to the last review we have never had a problem with the entrance, even with our new, wider caravan. Yes, it is a tad narrow but taken carefully it's fine. Maybe the offending trees have been trimmed back but we have never noticed them before. The track is a little bumpy and puddly, especially with the recent mega rainfall...maybe that's on the 'to do' list next. One of the main reasons we go to Barrow Farm is for the peace & quiet. However, the reason I've not given it 5/5 is because they have a cockerel to go with the very curious free range chickens (fresh eggs for sale!) and you can occasionally hear gusts of laughter from the Mill Restaurant on the other side of the river. Neither of these bother us - in fact, we quite like them! There are lots of footpaths directly from the site and it's an easy walk into the village of Rode with it's very friendly shop, post office & pub. We always go into Frome because it's full of interesting shops and lots of history but Bradford on Avon is more touristy & just as close. Bath is only about 12 miles away, as is Longleat. We prefer the little villages though and can recommend the churches in both Beckington and Mells, the pub in the former and the walled garden in the latter are both great for food. We are already looking forward to our next visit and would recommend for you to go & see for yourself why we like it so much.

Nannanjan

Reviewed on 29/08/2012 16:26

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bad entrance

Just returned from this CL, although a very nice site when inside, the turn in off the approach down the hill is not very good at all ......in fact impossible with a longer van as mine is.....so went passed and turned round to approach from the other direction (the mill end) which was very akward as well, and once in the entrance the trees and bushes need cutting back a lot ,I now have two very deep scratches in my caravan window due to the over hanging trees and bushes.....would like to use this site again .but not as it is ....sorry!

1geoff

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 21/08/2012 21:22

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer