Bendgate Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recommended

This was my 1st visit to this site and I was very impressed. Very welcoming hosts, quiet location and uninterrupted views across the surrounding countryside. Basic facilities: electric hook up, fresh water and waste disposal, mobile reception (Vodafone) and TV reception. You need to take note of the directions given as just relying on the postcode whilst getting you to the right area does not actually take you to the site area.

Steve Peerman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2016 11:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Visit

We visited this CL in June, and missed the turning to Flat Lane on arrival. Nice welcome. We purchased some Leaflets on local walks in the Dales from the Post Office, in Long Preston, and I can honestly say these are the best walks I have been on. Easy to follow, and the views in the Dales - fantastic. For walks, I rate this site as one of the best, if you do not want to drive anywhere. We live in the South of England, but we will be back.

TYZER

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2016 21:41

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice quiet site

Sorry only just got round to reviewing site stayed at end of March. We had just joined the club and this was our fist site, great choice. Nice friendly welcome from owner and other site users. Basic site which is what we like, well spaced pitches with lovely views. We had a great meal and would recommend the `Bollywood Cottage', Indian restaurant at Gargrave.  Would definitely use this site again. 

chip1432

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/04/2016 00:33

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Gem

What can i add to the previous review. We stayed at this CL for the weekend mid September. There is so much walking right on the doorstep a great site in a beautiful location and for us not far from home. Life doesnt get better than this.

JanetMelanie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/10/2015 17:02

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't miss this!

As an ex-pat Yorkshireman who is exiled to Wales, I have to return from time to time to breathe the air, eat the fish and chips and say “ee by gum”. Bendgate farm is located in a beautiful dales landscape, the site is beautifully prepared and the amenities are spot on.  Tap, toilet sluice and bins are accessible and easy to use.  Particularly useful were the labels to the dustbins… many site owners wrongly assume that all Local Authorities use the same system for sorting rubbish. I frequently find myself staring into the single “recycling bin” wondering what is to be included. Recycling in Flintshire (my home) requires segregations of refuse into 7 containers.  So c’mon CL owners, follow the good example at Bendgate Farm – label your bins. The site is served by a phone mast that makes communication very easy.  The O2 signal was consistently good for calls, SMS and easy surfing – likewise the 3 network.  DAB signal was good – but not the best I have ever received.  I don't have a TV so can’t comment on goggle-box reception.  Why look at the TV?  This is God’s own county, so look out of the windows! Regional highlights?  Where to start.  Settle is lovely with a quirky museum.  And the Victoria Theatre is small but beautifully formed – with a great programme for such a small market town.  The Tuesday market is worth a visit.  While you are there get yourselves some fish and chips at the Fisherman’s restaurant.   Skipton to the SE is worth a look – big markets on Fridays and Saturdays.  Castle – worth a look.  Try a pork pie from Stanforth’s shop…  unusually for pork pies, these actually contain pork.    Forty minutes drive cross-country to the north of Long Preston is Hawes; I spent a fortune in the cheese creamery. I always wondered why there are large fridges in caravans… and now I know. Would I go back to Bendgate farm?  Yes please.

Vernon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/09/2015 00:19

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very pleasant weekend away.

Well first time at Bendgate farm ,what can i say how could you fault this site you couldnt , very friendly welcome great prices just in a perfect spot for relaxing peacfull rest very quiet beautifull scenery and the spaces are so far apart you just feel so free and happy it was wonderfull thanks Roger and family .

lizdek

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/07/2015 16:45

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely View.

We have just been to this site and we enjoyed the views from our van. The site is immaculate and well laid out allowing plenty of space between your neighbours. The owner is very friendly Unfortunately we found the lane which runs right past the site can be rather noisy,this doesn't seem to bother others though.Thank you Allan for your warm welcome.

greatoutdoors

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/07/2015 21:11

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Jewel in the Dales

I can't really add more to what has already been said in the other reviews other than to totally agree with them. Bengate Farm is in a great location and is a short drive to Hellefield Railway Station where you can get a train and go for a ride on the Settle to Carlisle line. We went as far as Appleby had a wonder around and something for lunch the got the train back. Not a lot to see at Appleby. Great views from the site which is tucked down a lane just past the farm. The owners made us very welcome. My only gripe is that it is a bit awkward getting out onto the main road. I had to get my wife to stand on the other side of the road to see me out. A convex mirror would be most handy opposite the exit. A fabulous site and one that we will be returning to.

Skiphunter

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 02/07/2015 20:50

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a little gem

We arrived on Friday and were met with a warm welcome from the owner Alan. The CL is in a quiet lane, with beautiful views and peaceful surroundings.  The CL is set out really well so that you have plenty of space.  There is recycling on site, along with water and elsan point (this is tucked out of view which is good).  The phone and TV signals are excellent. The owners look after the CL, with landscaped trees and bushes and grass on site is well kept and cut regularly.  There is plenty to do and to visit in the surrounding area, from Settle along to Skipton.  We went on a lovely canal side walk from Gargrave a few miles away and had a lovely day. The owners, Alan and Janet are really lovely and friendly, and even though they are very busy with their farm work still take time to chat with us.Other  visitors on site had stayed before said that's why they had returned.   We will be returning too, it's a little gem and worth a visit.  If you do visit, please leave space for us ?? Many thanks to the lovely owners who have a lovely place for us to stay.

BoroDave

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 08/06/2015 17:10

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

First rate site in lovely location. Easy access and good pitches. Quiet location with easy access to the local countryside. Very friendly and helpful owners. Highly recommended. We will return again. Five stars across the board.

Watendlath

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/03/2015 09:39

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer