Bradgate Caravan Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very neat and well run CL.

A very neat and well run CL. The owner met us at the gate and gave us the security code for the gate. The grass had been well maintained. It had been very wet and one campervan left wheel spin marks in the grass when he left. However we had no problem at all. There were 5 small hard standings with EHU. Good dog walks in the woods behind the site and many routes across Bradgate Park which was opposite. The purpose of our stay was to visit the Great Central Railway. Ideal for steam enthusiasts. The owner was always most helpful.

TonyBurton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/05/2021 18:13

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The perfect site for me ! 25/26 and 27th of April 2021

Myself and the dog stayed here on our own as my husband was working. Its just perfect ! Not too far from home. Right outside Bradgate Deer Park. Excellent walking country, loads of public footpaths onto the park, or up into Swithland woods. A large CL field with hard standing. A large entrance area by the gate so there's no issue with having to wait on the road. The lovely owner will meet you at the gate and give you all the info you need re gate access code, internet etc. The pitches are all on the opposite end of the field to the road, so no road noise at all, even at busy times such as a Sunday. Loads of cycling routes around and about. The park itself is ideal for young children and their cycles or indeed anyone on 2 or 4 wheels. A lovely flat road surface through the park and Deer sightings guaranteed. The hilly parts of the park are great for kids to scramble up to the rocky tops, climb up to the Tower and the Memorial .... great views ! And all dog friendly ! A really nice and safe site for a lady and her dog staying alone.

Dobedobedo

Reviewed on 28/04/2021 11:29

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Home for Sleep and Quiet

Site basic, clean and tidy as a CL should be. Butterfly symbol in CAMH Handbook is misleading as the CL is on the side of a busy road, which is especially busy from 6.00am to 8.00pm even during the winter. Nice area for walking, but found the roads too busy for cycling. Cycling only allowed on a short bit of tarmac road in the nearby country park. Pleasant owner met us on arrival and wanted immediate payment. All pitches are hard standing, but 3 are close together and don’t look as though they would meet minimum distance requirements if all in use at the same time. Spent 7 nights here as the handbook indicated it was peaceful, but wished we hadn't due to the road noise, which made it a disappointing and expensive stay at £17 p/n.

Comment from the CL Owner:

I am sorry that you were disappointed with our lovely site and I have replied to each of your points below.

The road can be busy during peak times with local traffic (and at Christmas and New Year with Bradgate  Park being opposite, especially if the weather is good ) but at other times it is quieter.

The price of £17 includes electricity, water, sewage disposal, dogs, awnings, super fast broadband, extra cars etc so there are no hidden extras that you may find on sites elsewhere. We ask that you pay on arrival in cash or by BACS, this information is sent out one week before arrival to allow you time to decide which is best for you and means that we don’t have to disturb you once you have settled in.

All the pitches are within the Caravan Club guidelines and have been checked by the CC Inspector.

There are numerous cycling routes all round here both on and off road, in fact there is a bridle path adjacent to the site that you can follow just crossing roads as you travel through the beautiful Leicestershire Countryside. There is also a hard roadway through Bradgate Park just opposite where you can head off into the Charnwood Forest which is part of the new National Forest http://www.choosehowyoumove.co.uk/file/loughborough-cyclingmap-rural-low/

Baps

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/01/2019 14:05

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Stay in Autumn 2018

Easy access, warm welcome. Enough room to pull off road with Caravan on tow before opening locked gate. Good walks for dog and the wonderful Bradgate Park just across the road. Great Pup food near by and dog friendly. Will return without doubt.

Metro

from East Sussex

Reviewed on 29/12/2018 10:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

OCTOBER 2017

Recently returned from 5 nights on this site, access is through a locked gate which is well set back from the road to allow you to pull in to the entrance safely. The owner was very welcoming on arrival and helped us get on to our pitch. The site is spacious with 5 flat hard standings on the far side & twin hard standings near the gate with a further hard standing for motor home use also near the gate. All the potential pitches have electric hook up with the far hardstandings also having a tap at the rear of the post, we found it useful to take a hose with a tap connector to save moving the aqua roll to refill. There is plenty of walking in the area, with Bradgate park just over the road and footpaths to Swithland Wood, we also enjoyed good walks round Beacon Hill Country Park & Watermead Country park both not far away. The NT property Stoneywell is also worth a visit and the Great Central Railway has a station in Rothley. Will certainly use the site again but to echo others there is road noise which can be quite loud particularly at commute time but otherwise we felt it was not too much of a problem.

MikeBentley2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/11/2017 17:23

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bradgate Caravan Site....Another Little Gem!

We visited this CL 1st-9th October 2017. Initially we had a conference to attend in Kegworth and not knowing Leicestershire at all, decided to make a holiday of our journey. Tim Gee met us on our arrival. A flat field with designated areas plus hard standing and an extra hard standing was being prepared as we departed. We found t everything as Tim describes in the blurb on the website. Bradgate Park just across the road. A wonderful place for walking, views and the deer. Stoneywell is a very different NT place to visit. The Space Centre and Abbey Pumping Station kept us busy another day. We used the Park and Ride at Birstall for a trip into Leicester for the Richard lll experience. A good shopping centre and covered market too. All fruit and veg seemed good quality and very cheap. A little further away was Foxton Locks Interesting watching the boats ascend/descend up 10 flights of locks. The small museum is worth a visit with excellent ice cream from the little shop at the top of the locks. Rothley fish and chips were some of the best we've had. We ate in the restaurant. Pleasant staff and service. Rothley Baptist Church gave us a very warm welcome on Sunday morning too. Service starts at 10:45. Another review mentioned road noise. This is negligible and certainly did not cause us a problem. An excellent location for walking and site-seeing. We definitely recommend this lovely CL.

Beulah

Reviewed on 09/10/2017 20:07

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Good CL site

Very Nice Site . Well kept site with a very friendly owner who was very helpful with arrival arrangements and offered good local knowledge. The position , opposite the entrance to Bradgate park, is excellent and offers great walking opportunities. We will definitely return.

BrianandJill

Reviewed on 26/07/2017 19:22

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great level site, loads of space with huge country park opposite

Tim was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions/walks. The wifi was a big bonus and worked perfectly. The information hut and maps were very useful. Bradgate park is a great place to explore with numerous walks with deer wandering everywhere. Stoneywell is a great National Trust site close by well worth a visit.

kebanna13

Reviewed on 08/07/2017 13:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

This CL sets the standard that all CLs ought to aim for. The site is well laid out with nice level hard standing pitches set in well cut grass. Waste & recycling facilities. Separate water point as well as shared points on pitches. Great welcome from Tim on arrival who talked us through the facilities and what there was available to see locally. Nice touch of an "information hut". Really enjoyed walks in Bradgate Park just over the road. Lots of walks from the site including a few to some very nice pubs. A little road noise but not obtrusive. Great outlook over fields and woodland.

MorrisR

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2017 20:48

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful CL

We spent a couple of nights here enroute to Yorkshire and would like to have stayed many more -we will be back It was lovely to wake up on a sunny morning and see a field full of cattle staring at us from behind their fence! It is a lovely well run site and very welcoming. A real plus is being able to walk across the road (yes there is a bit of noise from it at times) and explore Bradgate Park and the dogs loved it!

HerbiesOulFolks

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/05/2017 10:13

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer