Chapel Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely CL

Stayed on chapel farm from 15th/july 2021 for 3 nights , what a great cl , fantastic owner paul came over to the site every evening to see that everyone was all okay . Views from site are beautiful over the padstow estury very peaceful site . Local pub is 2minutes walk away with a great restaurant . Great site will definitely return Julie Attewell

JAttewell

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 10:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

Wonderful CL. Fantastic views. Everything we want from a CL. Drinking water and chemical disposal only. Spacious and quiet. Attentive owner who visits everyday to ensure that all is good and is willing to give advice on local attractions. The Quarryman pub nearby (5 mins walk) is a handy bonus but pre booking advisable. Cycling the camel trail is lovely but there is a steep decent to get down to it . A visit to Camel valley vineyard accessible form the trail is worth a visit . You won't find many sites as good value as this one

m1ewk

Reviewed on 18/09/2020 18:47

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Luvverly

We had never tried a CL before, however having been to Aires in France thought we should give them a try. Based on the good reviews and photo decided to try Chapel Farm and we were not disappointed. Lovely location, beautiful view across to Padstow (when it's not foggy). The ride down to the Camel Trail is fairly straightforward, but coming back up the hill is a killer! Paul is a really nice bloke, lots of local knowledge and obviously loves the area. The site itself is basic with just the two taps: one for water one for the Elson, but for the price and the view it's perfect. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing break, there's good phone signal too which helps and the pub next door has good reviews although we didn't try it. We went to the Borough Arms in Bodmin just off the trail and had a fab lunch there instead.

ScreenNameC29F1DC02D

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/08/2020 17:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

Just purchased our first motorhome and wanted to try it out. We were delighted when we arrived at the site. The views are spectactular and it gives you a feeling of being miles from anywhere. The owner couldn't be more helpful, a really lovely man. We didnt need anything but he made it clear that nothing would to much trouble if we did. He gave us print outs if similar sites before we left. We will definitely be returning, sooner rather than later. Forgot to mention that we had our dog with us. Able to walk the dog freely on site.

Ace Ruby

Reviewed on 01/09/2019 21:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic views in a peaceful setting.

We've stayed here a number of times over the years. If you want all-singing, all-dancing with complete facilities then this site isn't for you. If you want peace and tranquility with outstanding views of the Camel estuary and Padstow then you won't find better. We've just stayed again and visited the Quarryman pub, only 2 minutes walk away, for a lovely meal. A previous reviewer mentioned that he didn't want it becoming too popular and I have sympathy with that but the views deserve to be enjoyed by more people.

Don Ricardo

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2019 16:02

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our favourite CL

Been coming here off and on for around 16 years. Why? Magnificent views, peace and quiet, friendly helpful owners, excellent base for exploring this beautiful part of the world, great choice of eating places and shops at Wadebridge a few minutes drive away. No electric hook up but friendly owners happy to charge your battery or help you with any other problems you may have. My only concern is that writing this may make the CL more popular and cause it to fill up more often.

KenBodley

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 02/07/2019 21:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful one night stay

What a beautiful setting. The field is very basic. Chemical disposal point and water and that is it. The views more than make up for lack of amenities. It is stunning. No pitch payouts but there were only 3 of us on there so it didn't really matter.

TeriMartin

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/05/2019 08:16

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant Find

We stayed at Chapel Farm over the Easter Weekend. At first we were unsure due to previous reviews and a lack of pictures but we thought we would give it a try and we were not disappointed! We arrived at the field to find only one other van on the site and phoned the owner to ask about pitching. They told us to choose our own space around the edge of the site. We choose to point our van facing the amazing camel estuary so we could enjoy the lovely views. Later that evening, the owner came down to the field and introduced himself and took payment. He also advised us on local places to visit and the best ways to do it avoiding the crowds etc. He also offered us battery recharge and generator facilities as the site has no electric hookup. We have a solar panel so we knew we would be fine but it was nice to know we had these options available to us. Finally, he advised us to try the local pub within 5 mins walk from the site. We were allowed to use the full field and walk the dogs around as long as we cleaned up after them. He then left us to enjoy the weekend, which we certainly did! We were lucky to get amazing weather and enjoyed some great sunsets and walks around the area. We also explored some of the local beaches - several were available due to the great location. We fully recommend this site.

jcrow

Reviewed on 28/04/2019 22:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chapel Farm

We have been coming to this wonderful site for many years and have just returned from a 3 night stay. Initially the site was managed by the previous owner, where the whole field was open to members. With the change in ownership came fenced pitches and a reduced area. But now the field is open again and place markers have replaced the more rigid emplacements. We were welcomed by Paul and during our stay enjoyed the walks and ease of access to Padstow as well as the food at the inn nearby. It's a gem of a site and the views and sunsets make this a memorable site to visit. We will, of course be back.

bodgerwren

Reviewed on 31/07/2018 20:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Its all changed.

I have used this CL a few times with few problems in the past but not for a year or two, Super location but that was all it had going for it being a sloping rather unkempt field, tap with a Trust Box for the fee hung on the hedge by the gate.  Booking was possible but most people out of season turned up and parked well away from each other for privacy and not to obstruct the view to the other campers. Wonderful just what I wanted in a CL. Well, its all changed as has the owner but not for the better sadly! Arrived a little late on a Thursday evening 6pm 2 June 2016. As we drove through the gate in our 5.4m campervan we found 4 large caravans parked close together next to the gate 2 to the left and 2 to the right alongside the walls.  Each pitch was not too wide and had a tatty bit of bailing twine hung from steel rods to mark out the pitches. The field was unkempt and looked if it had not been mowed for some months being rough grass 2 foot high, apart from the 5 marked pitches which were mown  The only clear pitch was down a slope through the 2 foot high uncut grass over what we knew from the past was very rough ground. Being rather unwilling to park in a campervan that does not perform well on wet grass down a slope, we parked by the gate.  We were off early the next day so were far from concerned about the view, never are? This was behind the 4 vans and in no way obstructed their outlook in any way whatsoever. As we stopped one of the campers straight away appeared from his van and asked if we had booked. We HAD tried calling the number in the book earlier in the day and got an answer phone. No one called us back which was usual for the site in the past, but not any more. He TOLD us to park in the empty site but did not know if it was booked? Frankly not wanting to get stuck at the bottom of the site and facing possibly wet 2 foot high grass in the morning. But also not wanting to take a booked pitch, we stayed where we were out of the way from the other vans. Around 9 pm the owner arrived in high dudgeon claiming she had had complaints, and that we HAD to move down the slope to the tatty roped off area through the unkempt 2 foot high grass. There was no attempt to either understand why we were concerned or explain what the complaints were about. She then changed track claiming we had just turned up and had not booked. On telling her we had tried and left a message on her answerphone which we had not had the courtesy of a reply. She stated that that was her Mother In Law and she did not listen very often to it. With that we explained we had been before, to which she replied that the “Days of come and park as you like are over” and that she would now allocate pitches and there was no attempt to understand. With this we frankly felt that what was a simple site liked was now a poorly maintained over managed one and that any past appeal had gone. I asked if she would prefer the we leave and rather dumbstruck she said “if you wish” and we left.

PSkynner

Reviewed on 23/07/2016 16:18

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer