Chapel Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful farm stay

Peaceful farm stay, 500m from sea wall and miles of walking. Footpath at the end of the farm drive. Well maintained level pitches and basic essential facilities. Be aware that this is a working farm with the attendant sounds and smells of farm animals and farm dogs, all of which are within feet of the pitches. I really enjoyed seeing the farm stock, all of which are in superb condition and very well cared for. Very quiet at night, and lovely waking up to the sound of seabirds. A site I look forward to visiting again.

sue parfitt

Reviewed on 10/09/2021 13:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Certified location.

Stayed here begin of August. Lovely site, yes it is a working farm so you will get animals and smells. But is was great to see the cows in the field. There is a lovely walk through the gate right on site. Down to the sea wall. Which you can walk for miles. It is part of the welsh coastal path. Absolutely fantastic, for push bikes you can ride for miles through the country lanes, or do the sustain bike rides. Which you can ride to chepstow. Or many other bike rides. There was a few flys around, but never landed on you or bite you. There was recycling for your rubbish, also water tap in the shed opposite the site. Which was explained to you when we booked in. Plenty of room for my grandson to run around playing football and on his bike. Absolutely gem of a site for the money. We will definitely be returning.

BarryHackling

Caravanner from Gwent

Reviewed on 29/08/2020 11:06

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't bother!! Really poor

Not as we remembered it! Last visit April 2015/6 Having visited many more wonderful CL sites now this one is definitely lacking! Area for caravans very small now due to stored caravans and a long term sited one. Lots of debris around the area. No signs alerting you to water, waste, rubbish etc. Whilst accepting it is a working farm so expect to see, hear and smell animals. However did not expect to be disturbed at 8 am by building site noise, drills and diggers trundling by and workmen shouting as the owners made improvements to their storage area nearby. Bothered by lots of flies so unable to use outside area. We will not be returning despite the convenience to the M5.

Rose Bennett

Reviewed on 16/08/2020 12:47

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wouldn’t stay again

Had a one night stay here and did not like it at all. Obviously a working farm so you should expect it to appear as such but this was really quite messy and dirty, filthy dogs running around barking and the stink of a nearby sewage plant I think. The worst thing was there was no sign for the toilets, water or bins. The owner did give us a description on arrival but we couldn’t find the toilets at all, we just wandered around barns and sheds and random huts full of junk, to no avail. So we ended up leaving the next morning without even a wash and went to the nearest service station instead. It really doesn’t take much to put a couple of signs up. The footpath is easy to get to but there’s just a stench of sewage up there so not a nice place to walk. It was quiet and relaxed there though. We didn’t feel watched or hassled. I can’t think of anything else good to say.

Laurag7867

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 09:05

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good little site if you don't have a dog

We found this to be a nice, peaceful little site with easy access. The hosepipe for drinking water is a bit unhygienic though - in a farm building across the yard. Our main complaint however was that the 2/3 farm dogs were rather too aggressive towards our dog and kept harassing him, even right next to our caravan. Our spaniel was frightened to come out of the caravan. They (one in particular) also urinated on every bit of our caravan that it could reach. To get to the footpath along the estuary, we had to either go through a field of cows or run the gauntlet through the farmyard to reach the footpath next to the farmhouse. It's such a shame - it would probably be fine with no dog

Magic37

Reviewed on 23/10/2017 18:33

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What I imagined CLs to be.

I was a bit worried by the only other review. There was no need, we liked it and stayed for an extra night. Near to the M4, but you cannot hear it, access is down a long country lane. Always a good sign of a peaceful site. You enter the farm yard and go around to the left side. The pitch is well tended grass and some hard standing bounded on 3 sides by a fence and hazel hedge. There are lots of power hook up points. We liked the views across the fields to the river embankment. We watched the cattle watching us, sheep wending their way along the embankment and the treat of a morning parade of a family of partridges. I don't know why the other review mentioned that there was no foot access to the embankment, we did the 5 minutes walk there several times to enjoy the magnificent views over the River Severn Estuary. We are into history. This is a good base from which to visit the Medieval Castle at Caerphilly (free parking Sundays), Caerleon Roman Legionary Fortress (free entry to museums and parking) and we were particularly impressed with Caerwent Roman walled market town (free entry and parking). Try Bruno's (Museum St/Backhall St) bakery/cafe in Caerleon for bread rolls the like I haven't tasted since childhood. Their Bread and Butter pudding was pretty good as well! All in all, a working farm but generally a lovely quiet 'CL' with great views, somewhere to walk to and places to visit. We would go again.

pirastro

Reviewed on 16/08/2017 11:54

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Right by the Severn

Visited for an overnight stop. Pitching area rather small & felt a bit cramped. Whole set-up much larger than CL. Right next to the CL area is a much larger camping area, so the CL wasn't as quiet as I'd expected. Some pitches back onto the other 'site' which is just the other side of a fence. CL overlooks a field beyond which is the river Severn the other side of a bank. It's possible to walk to the top of the bank by a couple of footpaths nearby (but not from the CL itself) It felt as though it needed a bit of sprucing up.

Lisian

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/08/2012 20:13

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer