Cherry Cottage CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

I’ve been meaning to review for a while, so here it is. We stayed at Cherry Cottage in early July. We might well have been their 2nd customers. It was obvious that they care deeply about their CL and customer experience. They took on board our (very minor) suggestions, indeed suggestions were encouraged. The available facilities were very good. I think it’s fair to say, there was nothing we didn’t like. Minterne Gardens are just down the road, we’ll worth a stroll around followed by a cream tea on the patio, all very reasonably priced. Slightly further down the road, we really liked Bridport and West Bay. This a very good CL, in a very good spot, a credit to the CL network 👍

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We have just got back from a lovely stay at this very new CL, we were met at the gate by Lynns Father who happened to be outside, after assisting us with getting into the site and informing us where to site ourselves all became clear that we were in for a very pleasant stay. In the evening Lynn welcomed us and explained where things were. This CL is a credit to the owners and you could see that a great deal of effort and money had been put into this lovely site. Thanks Lynn for letting us stay at your lovely CL Bob & Val

1730digger

Reviewed on 28/08/2019 09:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

We arrived on the Thursday evening before the August bank holiday. We followed the detailed instructions that were mailed a few days before and although the entrance is slightly narrow and a hard swing I was able to get our rig in first time (all 42ft of it) A very warm welcome and guided tour of facilities . Easy access to lots of sights and a short walk to the pub. Onsite enclosed paddock for our dogs was welcome. 4G was a bit hit and miss and the free wifi did sometimes drop out but the is luxury for a CL so no complaints. Lynn and John have spent alot of time and effort in making their home an enjoyable area for CL users. The star gazing was amazing with very little light pollution. Throughly enjoyed our short stay and would recommend

Paul and Sherron

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2019 19:21

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely new site.

We stayed here 5th till 13th of August. This is a new, very peaceful site that opened in July. Lovely, closely mown site, with two hard standing pitches, WC (no shower) and laundry facilities. 16 Amp EHU, £15 per night. Plenty of space and a brilliant secure dog walking field adjacent. Free wifi was patchy on the pitches further from the booster and 3G/4G non existent on Vodafone. Just one word of warning: the entrance is tight and needs careful negotiation, my friends badly damaged their van, I only had some light scratches from the hedge branches. Not the delightful owners’ fault, but keep this in mind if you have a long outfit (we only have single axle 24ft caravans). We will definitely return, albeit more carefully 😊

Wakelin Jonathan

Caravanner from Gwent

Reviewed on 18/08/2019 23:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 Star CL

We have just stayed for three fantastic days at Cherry Cottage and can't praise the site enough, we were welcomed with enthusiasm and made to feel at home immediately by both Lynn and John the owners who introduced the facilities which are admirable to say the least from the re-cycling, chemical toilet, fresh water area including a very inviting hut with places of interest to visit, a table and chairs are included to read literature in comfort and how many CLs can also boast an excellent mains WC and an adjoining laundry room with a washing machine drier and fridge? We chose one of the hardstanding pitches of which there are two complimented by three grass ones all with mains hook-up, Wi-Fi was excellent as was the TV signal and the onsite dog walk is excellent. The site is very close to Sherborne with its castle, quaint shopping area, cathedral and a brilliant garden centre, check the opening times of the castle which has excellent walks in the surrounding countryside. Sturminster Newton is also very close with a lovely walk along the old railway line to the Fiddleford Mill and Inn, for the more adventurous you can continue to Shillingstone where the old station is being preserved. The Hunters Moon public house is very close and can be reached on foot with other walks in the area so make sure you have a suitable map. Overall we rate this CL as excellent with exceptional facilities and certainly plan to visit again.

trotter1945

Reviewed on 15/08/2019 11:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Great New CL

It has been a few years since being on a CL and I can highly recommend Cherry Cottage.. Well laid out pitches with lots of space and electric hook up. Free WiFi as well. Very quiet and pieceful site where it is tucked away about 100yrds behind the owners house in it's own paddock area. Grass is well maintained and adjoining paddock for walk mans best friend. This is a new site so everything is fresh and a lot of thought has gone into the layout with new fencing and hedging. Very little light polution for those who like to sit out and star gaze. Additionally a lovely warm welcome from Mr & Mrs Piercey who were lovely hosts..

Hamgar

Caravanner from Avon

Reviewed on 30/07/2019 16:25

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

PEACEFUL SITE WITH EXCELLENT FACILITIES, VERY FRIENDLY WELCOME, WORTH A VISIT

We came for the Classic Car & Supercar Show on Sunday 21st July, held at Sherborne Castle. If you are interested in cars and a great day out, make a note in your diary and stay at this lovely, peaceful sight. Lynn and Jon - and not forgetting Samantha - made us very welcome and were most helpful to us novices. They made an enjoyable stay into a memorable one. Thank you.

zeichen

Reviewed on 25/07/2019 10:31

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The essence of CL sites

What a well presented site everything you would expect of a Really good CL 2 Hard standing pitches and 3 Grass pitches Lynn & John have worked really hard to present a good site Do follow instructions regards arriving and departing as lane is a Bus Route and passing is difficult Getting into site a little difficult with twin axle outfit quite tight entrance ok if you take your time. Many thanks Lynn & John

0303hendo

Reviewed on 17/07/2019 11:28

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Extremely peaceful and well maintained site with easy access to a beautiful part of the country. Lots of open space and countryside. Sherborne nearby.

Only recently opened ... in fact we were the first booking but not the first to arrive ... everything is brand new and at latest specification. Pitches are well laid out and level and feels very spacious. The area where the pitches are is surrounded by open countryside and is extremely peaceful. Follow the advice when you book to check the bus timetable - Kennels Lane has passing places but they are not really big enough for car and caravan but ok for other vehicles to use. It’s not a busy lane but there is occasional traffic but it’s not too long. Sherbourne is just up the road and very interesting. Weymouth and coast is a bit further afield but great to explore. Lynn and Jon both very affable and approachable and keen to help and assist. A great place to both relax and explore - whatever you want to do. There is washing machine and tumble dryer should you need it.

SpaceCowboy

Reviewed on 15/07/2019 22:22

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site with countryside views

Just returned home after a nice relaxing weekend on this new site, in fact we were their first arrivals! Beautiful countryside views, from this level camp site in the grounds of the owners lovely home. All amenities well laid out and easy to use. Short walk to the main house for the WC and laundry room if needed, all very secure behind electric gates. Short narrow road for the last part of journey but we didn't meet anyone on the few times we used the car. Thank you sharing your home with us Lynn, we'll certainly be back :-)

ScoobyWRX

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 07/07/2019 15:50

22 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer