Cherry Cottage CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great new addition to the CL’s in Dorset

A wonderfully quiet and well kept site. Facilities are clean, modern and well thought out. Lynn is a fantastic host, very warm welcome and goodbye. The grass is kept at lawn length and the cuttings are collected. There are also two hard standing pitches. I would recommend to anyone visiting Dorset.

JBofShill

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 22/09/2019 13:45

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Dubbers!

A definite thumbs up from your first VW! Many thanks for your warm welcome and for not laughing at us putting up our new awning for the first time ;-) Had a lovely stay and expect to return. PS There is a huge spider in the laundry - I hope he paid full fees!

Susan Coneley

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2019 19:05

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What more can we say that hasn’t,already been said.

On our last night of spending 9 nights here. Fantastic site, very clean as it is fairly new. Jon and Lynn are very welcoming on your arrival, but then leave you in peace. They provide free WiFi which was great .Great area, lots to do. Great pub within walking distance. My husband and Jon had a funny episode with one of the sheep from the adjoining field, that escaped into the CL. My husband and Jon managed to coax it back into its own field. Would definitely recommend, and will return if we visit the area again.

soulgirl

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/09/2019 18:20

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent newcomer

This CL site only opened a few months ago and what a wonderful addition it is. Lynn and her family are excellent hosts and have built a site with some wonderful touches. Pitches are large and two are hard-standing so excellent for our motorhome. In addition to a hut providing local information there is also a very clean toilet, a laundry room plus a micro shop with key essential items based on a honest box system. A bus service runs outside the entrance Monday to Friday between Sherborne and Dorchester, which are lovely Dorset towns and the local lanes are good for cycling. It is very peaceful and quiet and there is a local pub within walking distance. Well worth a visit. Kevin and Liz. Devon. Motorhomers.

Reviewed on 03/09/2019 18:35

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site, lovely people.

This is a well thought out site. Attention to detail is excellent. Loved the rescued animals grazing in the next field. Lynn and John couldn't have been more helpful. Look forward to seeing them again. Oh, and we had pitch 6 (furthest away), WiFi was good, watched a movie on Netflix, no problem. Quite, pretty and welcoming.

BryanTracey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2019 18:23

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

I’ve been meaning to review for a while, so here it is. We stayed at Cherry Cottage in early July. We might well have been their 2nd customers. It was obvious that they care deeply about their CL and customer experience. They took on board our (very minor) suggestions, indeed suggestions were encouraged. The available facilities were very good. I think it’s fair to say, there was nothing we didn’t like. Minterne Gardens are just down the road, we’ll worth a stroll around followed by a cream tea on the patio, all very reasonably priced. Slightly further down the road, we really liked Bridport and West Bay. This a very good CL, in a very good spot, a credit to the CL network 👍

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We have just got back from a lovely stay at this very new CL, we were met at the gate by Lynns Father who happened to be outside, after assisting us with getting into the site and informing us where to site ourselves all became clear that we were in for a very pleasant stay. In the evening Lynn welcomed us and explained where things were. This CL is a credit to the owners and you could see that a great deal of effort and money had been put into this lovely site. Thanks Lynn for letting us stay at your lovely CL Bob & Val

1730digger

Reviewed on 28/08/2019 09:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

We arrived on the Thursday evening before the August bank holiday. We followed the detailed instructions that were mailed a few days before and although the entrance is slightly narrow and a hard swing I was able to get our rig in first time (all 42ft of it) A very warm welcome and guided tour of facilities . Easy access to lots of sights and a short walk to the pub. Onsite enclosed paddock for our dogs was welcome. 4G was a bit hit and miss and the free wifi did sometimes drop out but the is luxury for a CL so no complaints. Lynn and John have spent alot of time and effort in making their home an enjoyable area for CL users. The star gazing was amazing with very little light pollution. Throughly enjoyed our short stay and would recommend

Paul and Sherron

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2019 19:21

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely new site.

We stayed here 5th till 13th of August. This is a new, very peaceful site that opened in July. Lovely, closely mown site, with two hard standing pitches, WC (no shower) and laundry facilities. 16 Amp EHU, £15 per night. Plenty of space and a brilliant secure dog walking field adjacent. Free wifi was patchy on the pitches further from the booster and 3G/4G non existent on Vodafone. Just one word of warning: the entrance is tight and needs careful negotiation, my friends badly damaged their van, I only had some light scratches from the hedge branches. Not the delightful owners’ fault, but keep this in mind if you have a long outfit (we only have single axle 24ft caravans). We will definitely return, albeit more carefully 😊

Wakelin Jonathan

Caravanner from Gwent

Reviewed on 18/08/2019 23:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 Star CL

We have just stayed for three fantastic days at Cherry Cottage and can't praise the site enough, we were welcomed with enthusiasm and made to feel at home immediately by both Lynn and John the owners who introduced the facilities which are admirable to say the least from the re-cycling, chemical toilet, fresh water area including a very inviting hut with places of interest to visit, a table and chairs are included to read literature in comfort and how many CLs can also boast an excellent mains WC and an adjoining laundry room with a washing machine drier and fridge? We chose one of the hardstanding pitches of which there are two complimented by three grass ones all with mains hook-up, Wi-Fi was excellent as was the TV signal and the onsite dog walk is excellent. The site is very close to Sherborne with its castle, quaint shopping area, cathedral and a brilliant garden centre, check the opening times of the castle which has excellent walks in the surrounding countryside. Sturminster Newton is also very close with a lovely walk along the old railway line to the Fiddleford Mill and Inn, for the more adventurous you can continue to Shillingstone where the old station is being preserved. The Hunters Moon public house is very close and can be reached on foot with other walks in the area so make sure you have a suitable map. Overall we rate this CL as excellent with exceptional facilities and certainly plan to visit again.

trotter1945

Reviewed on 15/08/2019 11:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer