Chessons Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal if you enjoy peace and quiet

Nice relaxed small 5 unit CL with the basics of hookup, water, CDP and lovely owner, Lydia offering good local knowledge. Walks all around including over the fields to Wadhurst and, of course, Bewl water. Quiet and peaceful at night. Will be happy to return in the future.

LDPD

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/05/2021 15:29

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent quiet site

Just what we needed for an end of season break. Only 2 members on site. Lovely walks to Bewl Water. Yes, motor homers will need wedges, there is a bit of a slope, reminds me, must make some bigger ones.

strider34

Reviewed on 15/10/2020 15:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Classic CL site. Friendly and helpfull welcome. Site has all the basics we needed and a view of Bewl Water.

This is a lovely CL and the owner was delightfull. Attentive and helpfull but not pushy! There are great waks or rides from the site and lost of interesting places to visit withina short drive. We will almost cerntainly be back.

dandoknight

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/09/2020 17:23

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet site overlooking Bewl Water

A strip of land overlooking arable land and a stretch of Bewl Water with a surfaced roadway to all grass pitches. Chemical Disposal at one end of pitch and water and bins at the other. Grey water goes in the ditch a short walk away. Looks like The site will drain well in times of rain. Friendly owner visits in the evening to check all is OK and take payment from arrivals. Slightly sloping site. Will visit again. 15 minutes from NT Scotney Castle, 20 minutes to Bewl Water activities centre and country park, half an hour from Bodiam Castle. 50 minutes to Rye or Hastings.

ukdavidwoods

Reviewed on 05/09/2020 18:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

Our family of four stayed here in our motorhome for two nights in late July. Its a super location with lovely views of the surrounding countryside and easy access to local walks and cycle rides. The pitches are very spacious , all the facilities are well maintained and you get a very warm and relaxed welcome from the owner. Definitely a site we would like to return to .

hymerinneedofacamp

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/08/2020 21:09

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A quiet and pleasant site

We found this to be a great site from which to discover local walks around 5 miles in duration, and also from which to visit National Trust and English Heritage sites in the vicinity. Our week just flew by. Lydia was extremely helpful and welcoming, being available if we needed. Her instructions for access and where to pitch were easy to follow. Pitches are well spaced with Bewl Water just visible in the distance. The site slopes a little and levelling blocks are likely to be required - we certainly needed ours. Water, bins and chemical disposal are well organised and easy to access and use. Apart from the occasional farm vehicle there was no sign of the hustle and bustle of the 21st century, just the peace of the countryside. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

TonyMaslin

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/11/2019 14:30

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very enjoyable week but CL details not quite correct

The CL has easy access and stunning views over Bewl Water. However, the CL description is a little bit misleading. The whole site has a gentle but noticeable slope in two directions meaning that blocks or ramps are pretty much essential. There is no mention of this in the CL details. The grass had been cut in a rather haphazard way with some parts of the site cut to about 4" whilst other parts, including our pitch, was about 10" high. OK in dry weather but had it been wet it wouldn't have been good. I appreciate it was a very busy period with haymaking for the working farm but cutting the grass on the pitches rather than between them would have been more beneficial. There is a mention of WiFi being available but I didn't find any evidence of this. The CL is very peaceful with only the occasional tractor noise and the odd car going to the farm during the day and almost total silence at night. One other, almost welcome, noise was a Spitfire flying over almost every day from, I believe, a local airfield. We enjoyed our week there and would certainly go again.

JohnM20

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 08/07/2019 12:10

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant and Relaxing CL

Very pleasant CL in pretty surroundings. Access to the site is good. The ground was firm and presented no problems for motorhomes. The pitches are well spaced and all look out onto Bewl Water and the surrounding countryside. Site facilities are good, with the chemical waste point being at the opposite end of the field to drinking water, minimising cross contamination risk.The site owner is friendly and helpful and unobtrusive. A few hundred metres from the CL is the well signed walk around Bewl water. This is a lovely walk that we did from the site one of the days, and there are many other options for walks from the site if feeling less energetic. The site is very convenient for visiting Pashley Manor, we visited for the Tulip Festival, but the gardens are well worth a visit at other times. We will visit again next time we are in this part of the country.

Bobil1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/05/2019 10:45

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Welcoming, peaceful and scenic

What a fabulous view to wake up to, across the rolling fields with tiny lambs skipping and jumping, down to Bewl Water. Lydia is friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. The working farm is tidy and clean. It’s quiet and peaceful - the word “idyllic” readily comes to mind. This is exactly what I think of when I picture a CL.

XineAndDogs

Reviewed on 12/05/2019 09:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views, peaceful.

Stunning viewa towards Bewl Water and the surrounding country site. Very peaceful and a friendly owner. Super spot for walkers, mountain bikers and road bike lovers like us will find lots of exciting rides to choose from. Expect some steep hills! The local village Wadhurst has some excellent shops and on a Saturday there is a fresh fruit and veg stall on the pub front terrace. Stayed here for a week and will definitly come back. Many thanks for a great stay.

Montiki

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/04/2019 11:30

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer