Chowdene

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL site

We loved this CL which is perfectly situated away from the main road in an enclosed paddock which is a haven for wildlife, Deer, Fox, Birds (and the odd Mole). Hardstanding pitches with EHU, Sunshine all day (when it is out). Nice 35min (for us) walk into York, busses available en-route. Park and ride 10mins away as is the shopping (Monks Cross). Friendly greeting on arrival. Good facilities for, water fill, water drain, toilet and chemical toilet empty. We used our caravan shower so no comment on the site shower other than it looks just fine. We were there in October and the weather was good which meant we could sit out in the nice surroundings. Plenty of space between pitches and plenty of space if you want to do outdoor activities. Will be returning for sure.

BobCarter

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 05/11/2021 12:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A hidden oasis

Our first CL site and we weren't disappointed. A warm and friendly welcome, fairly level hardstanding pitches. The facilities are nice and clean, if a little dated but everything works. Our electric kettle kept blowing the post so we resorted to the electric hob, which worked without testing the post. We were rewarded with deer taking in the early morning sun, which made our day, especially being this close to York. We would definitely recommend and return here.

chrisfreemanuk

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 17:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Charming little site, cheap bus to York

A warm welcome from Catherine on arrival set the stage for a very pleasant two days at this charming campsite. York, with its many attractions, is a 10 minute bus ride away and the park-and-ride only a few minutes walk from the campsite. The site is well maintained with clean facilities although slightly over priced.

sgbirch

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 18/06/2021 10:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice CL, but a little over priced

Nice CL ideal for P&R only 2 miles from York ,Catherine the warden is very friendly and was waiting to escort us to our pitch on arrival, site is quite level with 1xShower W/C block ( has time of review-was closed due to corvid 19 rules) , However it states £19 a night we payed £69 for 3x nights, which I thought was little over the top for CL site extras £2.00 for porch awning, £2.00 night for two dogs which I am still baffled for what they provide for the dogs? (ie, no dog bins) Rather camp on main site for roughly same price , Disappointed

Paul McGrath

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/04/2021 18:34

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very close to york

Having looked at other reviews, thought I would mention we didn’t have any electric issues. Coat £21 / night as we had a small porchnawning ...just 2 adults. 1 shower and 1 loo in same room. Charge for shower. Takes 20 p and £1. Credit does not carry forward.... Had to queue for loo/ shower one day . Other than that, nice site, easy to get to york, 2 miles into city. You can walk it or the park and ride isn’t just round the corner. York is lovely. Loads to see and do.

craigndi

Reviewed on 30/08/2019 18:14

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Close to York

Found the site easy enough access road is very uneven for the first 100yds. This site is as close as you can get to York city centre unless you stay at Rowntree, pitches are hard standing & level. We we're met by the owner as we arrived & informed which pitch to use, we were warned that the electric was only 10amp so I assume there has been trip outs of said hook-ups. Site is quiet enough but you can hear some road noise which can be expected as you're just off a main road into the city. You are a 5 minuet walk from York park & ride. The price of pitches are reasonable (just) for a site this close to the city, but I think the electrics need upgrading to 16amp for that price. There is a toilet & shower (charge) on site in the same room. Overall a great site if you whish to be close to the city.

tomo

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 28/11/2018 16:15

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stayed a week, end of September

Great location for exploring York City Centre, and couldn’t be closer to local ‘amenities’ including Sainsbury’s, M&S and John Lewis, a variety of eateries, a cinema and the park and ride, all within walking distance. Although you can hear traffic in the distance, it’s surprisingly peaceful, and by no means intrusive. The single loo and shower (combined) were immaculately clean, but very tired and dated. The electric shower had no instructions and wasn’t particularly intuitive to use (or powerful). Electricity was on a timed coin meter, starts counting down as soon as fed, £1 gave 15 mins.

aschard

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/09/2018 18:46

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Weekend away - a lovely site.

This was our first time at the site and it was lovely, easy access to the site,Ride and park just round the corner that took us into york, On arrival with our Campervan our wheel bearing had gone, luckily we were only 5 minutes away from the site.It was saturday with us only getting to the site at 12pm, I spoke with Mrs Wardell and explained what had happened and that we might have to stay on till we could get hold of a wheel bearing, Mrs Wardell was excellent she said she was closing on the tuesday when everyone had left due to up grading the parking spaces. but we could stay on till we got sorted, after my frantic ringing numerous car shops we managed to get one, Mrs Wardells son came over to us to ask if he could help us, my husband said we have managed to get hold of one in malton, but we've no car, Mr Cardwell was more than happy to help us, he took us to pay for the part, then he offered to go and pick it up for us on the monday evening, my husband luckily had the tools to fit the wheel bearing, on tuesday morning all was sorted and wheel bearing was fitted, We couldnt thank Mrs Wardell and her son enough for there help, but for them helping we would of been stuck. Excellent site good service, lovely people. will deffinatley stay again in the future. Thanks for your help and support. Regards Mr And Mrs Hill.

samhill1971

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 29/08/2018 12:52

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Weekend away

Hi We have just stayed for 2 nights during winter months. The hard standing was not wide enough at all. I was walking in deep mud to change my water barrels which ruined more than one pair of shoes, this was not good enough at all. Please extend the width by at least 1.5 metres. If you accept winter trade you need to cater for winter trade. The price shows £19 for all occupants, but was charged £43 for 2 nights, I need to find out why. Only 10amp electricity was available which could be better for the fees charged They could do with spending a few pounds on up dating the site and entrance. You are charging the same price as top quality sites.

TATS007

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/02/2018 20:41

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

Found this site with ease, a few potholes but easy to avoid. Was welcomed by Mrs Wardell, lovely lady with lots of information about site, surrounding area. We did have a little problem with out van and she was very helpful in informing us of the nearest caravan showroom/shop. Very knowledgeable about York and surrounding places of interest. Every time we saw the owner we were greeted with a wave, smile and asked about our day. Park and Ride just around the corner so easy access to York and shops on the retail park. Even though it is close to a main road it was a quiet and peaceful site. Will certainly be back again. Many Thanks.

Invergarry

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/09/2017 15:54

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer