Church Farm Cottages

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

Just returned from a relaxing weekend at this great little CL site. very sheltered ( we were there during a storm and hardly noticed it) .very clean facility's and a very helpful notice board and table with lots of useful local information within both blocks. level hard standing pitches. would defenlty visit again.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful weekend

We booked a two-night stay, and have had a wonderful stay, very peaceful, found some lovely dog walks from the site and was nice to have a secure area to let them off on-site. The facilities were very well kept and a bonus. Will be booking another stay soon.

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fab CL

Just spent 2 nights at this lovely little cl. Not one of the largest we’ve stayed at, but what it lacks in size it makes up for with location, facilities, peace and quiet, lovely welcome from the owner, gorgeous sheep for neighbours and just all round loveliness. We’ll be back.
Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super Site

We stayed here for 5 nights last week of October 2019. It is a lovely site, with excellent facilities which were spotlessly clean. Ian was helpful but not overly intrusive. He cleans like a woman(!) The showers and toilets were spotless and well equipped. Bins and disposal all very clearly laid out and closeby. Pitches are flat, with one fully serviced. They are small gravel / shingle hardstandings in a sheltered row. There is plenty of room to put up an awning/tarp and put pegs in to the grass boarders separating each pitch. There is the fully serviced pitch right next to the toilet/shower block, with the others in a row opposite. At the very bottom is a slightly more secluded pitch, which may appeal to some seeking privacy. That said - the whole site is private bar the sheep in the next field! There is no hard rules about which way you face etc. Just common sense applied so as not to obstruct others. We ate at the Gunton Arms nearby as well as Boltons Bistro and No1 Cromer. All were excellent. Back to the site: It's fab and I'd find it hard to believe anyone would find fault here - it's a perfect CL in a lovely spot with kind hosts. Thank you Ian for a lovely stay. We would recommend this site to anyone.

Reviewed on

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gem of a CL

A weekend break in this tranquil CL left us fully relaxed and so pleased we used it. The directions provided when we booked were excellent and Ian's welcome was warm and friendly. There are actually 6 pitches here (in agreement with the Club) all hard standing and flat making things so easy to pitch. The toilet block consists of a heated wooden building that was immaculate throughout. We used it as a base for nearby Sheringham and Cromer and as a bonus found that National Trust's Fellbrig Hall was only a 5 minute drive away. Would definitely recommend this gem of a CL and certainly hope to return

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a great CL

A big thank you to Ian & Sue the owners for giving us a wonderful time on their farm. This is a fantastic cl to enjoy a really relaxing time, excellent pitch sizes, excellent facilities and not too far from the coast. We had wonderful weather and enjoyed everyone's company who stayed on the site along side and opposite us, thank you to all users you made our holiday. Hope everyone got home safe and sound, and you never know we may see each other next year. Well worth a visit.

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous site

Have just spent a couple of nights on this site and we couldn't have asked for anything better. As we were the only van there Ian had put us on a pitch right next to the amenities block so not far to walk. A very peaceful site with only sheep as neighbours. We will probably be back. Can't really add much to the praise already received from other satisfied campers.

Reviewed on

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

"If Only"

If only all CMC certified locations were as well run as Church Farm Cottages CL then lots more people would use them. Lots of great things have already been said about this site, which I will not bore you by repeating them, but it is fair to say that it is a passion of the owners to ensure that visitors are well looked after from the initial enquiry through to leaving them on the last day of your stay. Lovely surroundings, Hard Standing Pitches, clean and well kept Amenities Block and above all lovely peaceful rural surroundings. If only Church Farm Cottages was a little bit nearer our home then we would use the site more often but we have promised ourselves we will certainly return, sooner rather than later.
Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Would we return?

A reasonably peaceful site, but the village access is not good. The pitches are of various sizes and allocated by the owner, who even after been advised the length of our motorhome at booking, seemed to have forgotten. We were given a pitch long enough, but just over the width of the van. The pitch next to us was more than double the size and allocated to a caravan, who proceeded to pitch the caravan right next to the edge of the hardstanding, and put his awning up between us, on the grass, leaving very little outside space for us to enjoy. So little infact we struggled to sit out and using our awning was impossible. When we were getting in and out of the van, he said nothing but his disgruntlement was made clear about us being too close! He was not approachable. We explained this discomfort to the owner and asked if we could move to a vacant pitch, only to be told it was pre-booked. The owner did admit he had never seen anyone pitch like that, on that pitch, plus he did say he had seen a caravan with awning and car all fit on that pitch without spilling on to the grass. The owner seemed reluctant to do anything but sympathise. We explained it was intolerable and we were considering leaving, so as to not spoil our or anyone else's holiday. He said he would refund the shortfall, but when we left early he refunded only half the amount, with explanation "it wasn't his fault and nor was it ours, so we should share the cost." We believe he had more authority to rectify the situation than we did. We feel if he is going to charge the same for all pitches of varying sizes, he should not allocate them, or he should at least be prepared to see fair play.

Would we return? Not a Chance!

Comment from the Club

Many thanks for leaving a review and we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay here. The CL owner has been in touch as he would like to address your concerns. The grass where the adjacent caravan’s awing was pitched was actually part of their pitch so the CL Owner was not able to ask them to move. He did advise you that it would be helpful if you were to pitch front ways in as your motorhome is European the door would then not open facing onto the adjacent pitch, which would give you more space and privacy. He was unable to allocate another pitch as the site was full and all pitches had been taken. As you were not happy with the situation he was more than happy to refund part of your site fee in order for you to be able to leave early. As you can see from other reviews, all pitches have hardstanding and are level and normally visitors do not have any issues so we are sorry that you felt the pitch was not adequate for your requirements. We hope this helps address your concerns and explains the situation.

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb base for exploring more of North Norfolk

We stayed at Church Farm Cottages for 4 nights in April 2018. I can’t add too much to the warm praise that this site has received from the other reviewers. Six wide & deep hardstandings all with adjacent EHU. The amenities block has a shower & toilet for both male & female as well as a host of local touristy information. The water point & CDP are by this block as is the fenced in dog walk. Ian was on hand to advise us of all the site amenities and was around & about during the day feeding the glorious featured Hampshire Down sheep that abide in the field adjacent to the pitches. There are numerous marked walks/trails in the immediate area with the Weavers Way passing close by en route to Felbrigg Hall & its associated country park. A 5 mile circular stroll through the back roads & National Trust estate is recommended. Just be aware that The Wheatsheaf in West Beckham isn’t open on a Tuesday [well, in April 2018 it wasn’t!] as we found out when we made it the focus of one of our walks! Overall a super CL a few miles inland from Cromer & Sheringham and a good base to explore more of North Norfolk.
Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on

41 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer