Church Farm Cottages
Log in to write a review
A reasonably peaceful site, but the village access is not good. The pitches are of various sizes and allocated by the owner, who even after been advised the length of our motorhome at booking, seemed to have forgotten. We were given a pitch long enough, but just over the width of the van. The pitch next to us was more than double the size and allocated to a caravan, who proceeded to pitch the caravan right next to the edge of the hardstanding, and put his awning up between us, on the grass, leaving very little outside space for us to enjoy. So little infact we struggled to sit out and using our awning was impossible. When we were getting in and out of the van, he said nothing but his disgruntlement was made clear about us being too close! He was not approachable. We explained this discomfort to the owner and asked if we could move to a vacant pitch, only to be told it was pre-booked. The owner did admit he had never seen anyone pitch like that, on that pitch, plus he did say he had seen a caravan with awning and car all fit on that pitch without spilling on to the grass. The owner seemed reluctant to do anything but sympathise. We explained it was intolerable and we were considering leaving, so as to not spoil our or anyone else's holiday. He said he would refund the shortfall, but when we left early he refunded only half the amount, with explanation "it wasn't his fault and nor was it ours, so we should share the cost." We believe he had more authority to rectify the situation than we did. We feel if he is going to charge the same for all pitches of varying sizes, he should not allocate them, or he should at least be prepared to see fair play.
Would we return? Not a Chance!
Comment from the Club
Many thanks for leaving a review and we are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay here. The CL owner has been in touch as he would like to address your concerns. The grass where the adjacent caravan’s awing was pitched was actually part of their pitch so the CL Owner was not able to ask them to move. He did advise you that it would be helpful if you were to pitch front ways in as your motorhome is European the door would then not open facing onto the adjacent pitch, which would give you more space and privacy. He was unable to allocate another pitch as the site was full and all pitches had been taken. As you were not happy with the situation he was more than happy to refund part of your site fee in order for you to be able to leave early. As you can see from other reviews, all pitches have hardstanding and are level and normally visitors do not have any issues so we are sorry that you felt the pitch was not adequate for your requirements. We hope this helps address your concerns and explains the situation.