Cliff House Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and rejuvenating

Peaceful if a little bit windy at times this site has plenty of sea views with occasional paraglider passing by. Open countryside all around. Must be reasonably fit and agile to access the beach from the cliff top. Very friendly owners. Will definitely be returning at some point.

Robinredbreast

Reviewed on 04/09/2021 23:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sshhhh, keep it to yourself 😉

This is a stunning site, won't say little as you have lots of room on the manicured well kept pitches, you can't get much closer to the cliff top giving stunning views out over the beach/sea, no ehu or toilets and showers but fresh water, grey waste disposal and a CDP give you all you need. Short walk to the nearest pub or a little longer to freeport outlet. Super friendly welcome and you won't find nicer owners, it's one of the best CL sites I've visited

MarknJulie

Motorhomer from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 15/08/2020 15:07

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect off grid site

Wonderful site. We stayed for 4 nights. Warm welcome from owners, and all kept clean and tidy. Access straight forward, just be careful if using google maps that it doesn’t try to take you down lanes for the final 4 or 5 miles, main road route is good. Views stunning as mentioned before, and very interesting area to explore. Would definitely return if in area.

RobJTee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2020 12:36

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Cliff Top Location

We spent two great nights at Cliff House Farm. Jenny and John were very welcoming and helpful. The site services are basic but perfectly functional. It’s the peacefulness and views over the sea that makes this site special. Cliff erosion is quite extensive in this part of East Yorkshire so access to the fantastic beach (when the tide is out) is limited. The closest access point is at Mappleton, about a mile north, but along a road with a narrow footpath. There you will find a small car park with public toilets. There’s also a small cafe in the village. Once on the beach there’s a great walk along to Hornsea. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cliff House Farm.

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

CL with stunning sea views

We have just returned from Cliff House Farm, a CL site that I’ve wanted to visit for a few years now. We had a warm welcome from Mrs Dawson on our arrival and she explained where everything we needed was. A very basic CL no EHU and your basic fresh waterpoint and waste water points and the usual bins. That said the site is situated at the end of a field were the grass is cut short and well maintained, the wow factor is the sea view looking North towards Flamborough Head on the sweeping Bridlington Bay and to the South the offshore Wind farms towards Withernsea. You could spend lots of time just watching the fishing boats and the sea birds flying past. Mr Dawson showed me a photograph of a pair of Cranes that he had seen earlier that morning in the adjacent field , I was amazed however on investigation Crains have been breading in Norfolk and have also been spotted in Suffolk and East Yorkshire. There is a Crain breading project at Slimbridge in the West County. There are lots of wild birds to see on this site and not to mention the chickens that roam the field near the farm. Definitely recommend this secluded site just the ticket to unwind and the wait did not disappoint! Thank you Mr & Mrs Dawson for making us so welcome.

startruegig

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 21/08/2018 20:27

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Diamond!

This is a little diamond of a site which could easily be overlooked, as some may feel it lacks modern flashy facilities. It could be described as a field on top of a cliff with just water and chemical waste point, but those who do are so missing out on a truly awesome place with such genuinely wonderful owners. It is all grass site that seems well drained, but mainly level and very spacious. You can pitched up looking out over the North sea about 18 feet from the cliff edge. The views are just fantastic, Bridlington and Flamborough Lighthouse to the North and a fascinating wind-farm to the South in the sea. If you want to chill and be at peace this is the place. There is a lovely pond with moorhens on far side of the campsite. The wildlife to watch endless including a wide selection of birds. Sunsets and sunrises are the stuff of movies. Sometimes the wind can be a bit brisk, but you are on a cliff edge! John and Jenny are such the nicest people who are so lovely and interesting to chat to. They seem to have the balance just right of being caring to visitors yet not intrusive. In our several visits over time, they have phoned the pub for us to check opening times when we couldn't get through on the phone, checked we could start our motorhome OK after a flat battery, so kind. Even their gang of chickens are delightful (babies on last visit). On practical level, there is an infrequent bus service from the main road by the pub Cross Keys. It goes to Hornsea four times a week day and the other way down to Withernsea. You can get down to the beach by foot from going to end of road falling into the sea and go down the muddy cliff, fairly easy but not smooth path with few big leg ups. We did walk to Hornsea along beach one day(when tide out) about 4.5 miles, took us just over an hour. A closer walk, either along beach or main road (only few spots on road with no foot path and although busy road it is a tolerable walk) is to Mappleton where there is the Old Post Office Tea Rooms. They serve light snacks, awesome ice cream sundaes and cakes! Finally the pub, The Cross Keys, again along main road about ten minute walk from pitch. Nothing fancy, but if want a nice simple meal out at reasonable price you cannot go wrong. This is a very special enchanting place, that we do not want to tell anyone about but John and Jenny deserve some praise!

MAB1895

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/08/2018 12:30

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find

We booked this site for four nights and stayed six nights. John and Jenny made us feel very welcome. What a lovely coastal view from our pitch. The whole area was very well kept, so peaceful and quiet. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you both Michael and Rosemary

rosie1955

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/09/2017 07:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our new favourite

Just returned from one night here, but feels longer as it was so perfect for us! The view could not be better- a couple of feet from the edge of the cliff with nothing but sea to view! Site was kept in excellent condition, and very peaceful The owners are lovely people too!! 40 miles from home, this will be a regular for us!!!

lilyadventures

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/08/2017 19:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We will return

John and Jenny very welcoming and friendly. Site clean and tidy and oh the views and sunrises. Unfortunately weather didnt behave but that didn't distract from our stay. We will definitely be going back. Sue & Chris

r66nut

Reviewed on 22/07/2017 19:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

fantastic

Very glad we found this cl its fantastic Jenny &John were both very welcoming we stayed for 7 nights and never moved we will definitly be back together with our dogs its beautiful

123royboy

Reviewed on 25/08/2016 09:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer