College Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another relaxing, laid back, CL

We recently stayed at College Farm CL for 4 nights in May 2015. This was our third visit having stayed twice in 2010. The site is still just the same as before – 5 hardstandings with hook up adjacent although there is the option of using grass if you so wish. The water point is located just inside the site entrance gate [after passing through the farmyard]. The CDP is shielded by some shrubs close to the far hedgerow. Bill & Veryan were almost always on hand to have a chat & to make sure everything was OK. Unfortunately on this visit we didn’t get to use The Paddocks tea room that Veryan oversees but the variety of home made cakes on offer has to be seen! They are only open Thurs to Sunday. Remember to bring along a bird feeder as we were inundated with House Sparrows on our visit along with the occasional blue & great tit, robin, wagtail & the usual plump pigeons! There are numerous walks available directly from the site including venturing onto Alkborough Flats via. the turf maze at Julians Bower, which is now a nature reserve due to the deliberate breaching of the river defences to flood what used to be pasture. We also did a cross country trek to Winteringham [visiting The Bay Horse pub for refreshments!] and returned along the river/estuary bank with views of the Humber Bridge in the far distance [10 miles]. The local roads are also relatively quiet for cycling. The nearest shop appears to be in Burton upon Slather which is a 3 mile walk south along The Cliff from Alkborough. The farm is home to The Confluence Pedigree Limousin herd and they can be viewed when exiting & entering the site. They all have individual names on their ear tags and this year they were all “J’s” i.e. Jimmy, Jura, Jessop! Whilst the entrance track through the farmyard can be a bit muddy at times, don’t let this put you off as this is superb relaxing CL and a bargain at £10 per night.

Pilgrimphil

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 24/05/2015 13:38

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another good holiday.

Having spent 12days in August i returned for 2weeks in September. That must say how much i enjoy being at College Farm. This is a working farm but Bill and Gavin always have the time to make sure you feel welcome. Bill you got your wish, it rained after i left.  Thanks again for your help.

cindisuki

Reviewed on 29/09/2014 20:36

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

OUR SITE

Would love to give this site a bad review so that we could keep it to ourselves but the truth is it is the best CL we have visited, only spent two nights there but wish we had booked for a lot longer, will definitely be going back next year for longer, really friendly owners, also there is a café at the farm which uses good local produce at very reasonable rates.

DaveCyn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2014 20:43

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

warm welcome.

I have just spent 12 days on this beautiful site. Being new to towing I couldn't have chosen a better CL. Bill and Gavin were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble and when it came to leaving, which I did reluctantly they were there to help me hitch up and even made sure the road was clear. I am certainly grateful for all there help and friendliness.

cindisuki

Reviewed on 25/08/2014 12:14

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Lincolnshire at its best

Just home from visit number 3 and everytime has been one to remember. Amazed that there has never been more than 3 pitches in use on any of our visits. There's little more to say that hasn't been said already. Try visiting Brigg - a lovely little town and don't forget to walk over to Burton Stather along the top of the ridge overlooking the Trent. Everyone is so welcoming and helpful. Only problem we found was the cafe didn't open till 10 today (Sunday) and we had to get home so missed our breakfast. Thanks for a lovely stay.

maisie19

Reviewed on 27/07/2014 12:33

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely little hideaway

Had a lovely weekend at this site in Alkborough.   Very well laid out and immaculately maintained site with 4 hardstandings and 1 grass pitch.     Through a very clean farmyard,and into the site to pitch up.   All the usual facilities on site plus a lovely tearoom which was very busy most days.  The owners were lovely, very welcoming and making sure we were ok.   Even made friends with Jasmine the calf!  Lots of walks around the area and good quiet lanes for cycling.    Stunning views from Julians Bower across the rivers.    Will be returning as excellent location for a weekend trip.  

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A superb site

We just spent 5 lovely days at this superb site, located in the village of Alkborough, nice and quiet with plenty of walks locally. Mr & Mrs Ogg were very friendly and made sure we were ok. The Paddock Tearoom food is excellent just a pity it's only open Thurs to Sun. This is definitely on our regular return sites list

patrolman

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 11/10/2013 15:46

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Yet another

lovely peaceful weekend at this terrific site. This is becoming a regular haunt for us. We just can't enough of the gorgeous scones in the Paddocks tea room.

HevnCol

Reviewed on 01/09/2013 21:40

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Simply one of the best sites

for quality of site facilities, walking, views and bonus of excellent tea room open Thursday to Sunday

johncarlton

Reviewed on 29/08/2013 11:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a unexpected gem

As Mr and Mrs Ogg were shopping there was no-one around when we got there, but we located the hard standings and hoped it didn't matter where we chose. (It didn't). Mr Ogg very pleasant and welcoming when we met him that evening. Lovely private quiet location. Alkborough is a pretty well kept village with lots of lovely walks. Great for plant/tree/butterfly and bird watching. Quite a lot of local history to find out too. The tea room on the site is astoundingly popular and quite rightly so. Altogether a great weekend and we will definitely return

Mike Nunn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/08/2013 14:43

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer