Collierhall Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great stopover

On arrival first impressions were; old run down farmyard with a lot of old machinery about. But once we followed instructions to go round the back of the farmyard we were pleased to find a lovely little field backing on to open farmland. The site was peaceful, with added bonus of toilet and shower on site along with free Wi-fi. Site owner came to find us on the first evening and was very pleasant to chat to. We only stopped here for 2 nights heading on further north in to Scotland and found access to the motorway very convenient. Would happily use the site again.

sisol

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 20:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great stay

On first arrival, it has to be said, the site looks awful, with dilapidated outbuildings and piles of rusting scrap metal. Move into the actual camping field however and the prospect improves considerably. We chose a grassy pitch in the right hand corner with great views, and after that first impression, had a lovely week here. The young owner is friendly and helpful, and there is even free wi-fi, plus a toilet/shower we didn't use, but it looked perfectly acceptable. Water tap by the shower, waste disposal near the entrance to the field, and several hardstandings plus an 'over-spill' site adjacent. The site is off the main road, yet easy to access New Lanark and Falls of Clyde. Lanark has a William Wallace trail to follow, we caught a train to Glasgow from Lanark, and Edinburgh just a 35-mile easy drive. Just watch out for the midges! We would of course stay here on another occasion.

Aggie Pirate

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/07/2021 21:28

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Fab Little Hideaway

I stayed here in May. I arrived about 3PM and was met with a warm and cheerful welcome from the man who runs the site. It is a working farm and he was busy so I handed over my fees and was directed round the back of the farm buildings and offered any pitch I wanted but he suggested two hard standing areas. I chose a hard standing area with fab views and EHU nearby. Every facility is here and it was really quiet on my visit. Amazing views and birdsong. Great facilities including WIFI. I worked from the camper van so sadly didn't explore the surrounding area but I really enjoyed the little hideaway and comfort of my van, top views and the facilities on site. I would totally recommend.

ScreenName48F241965C

Campervanner

Reviewed on 08/05/2021 19:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Convenient stopover from M74

This review is based on my visit in early September 2020, I’m a single guy travelling with My cat(who stays in the caravan or a lead on the pitch being an Indoor cat), in a Adria Dart (8.3M single axle) caravan towed using a Hyundai Santa Fe. I used this site as a stop over on the way to the Highland from Devon. Staying for one night only. The site has some hard standing areas suitable for motorhomes or caravans. It has a large grass area which I used and although it was wet and soft given the time of year and weather I had no issues. The site was easy to access from the m74, the access to the field/hard standing was well signed round the buildings it was all hard made road, with some inclines. I did not use any onsite facilities other than getting fresh water which was from a tap in the yard outside the toilet not far from the pitch. Could stand aquaroll and fill with filling tube easily. The electric hook up which was conveniently placed. As I was just using the site as a stopover I did not explore the area but the area looked pleasant from the site. If travelling north from the site on M74 the next junction has a Tesco filling station that was OK to use when towing if using the outside lane of pumps. I would use the site again reasonable value at £13 including hook up

Jonsply

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 24/10/2020 15:25

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful basic site

Stopped overnight on journey from Mull to home. Great basic site, good views, clean facilities. Site a little muddy, but it had been raining continuously for 2 days! Didn't get bogged though. Interesting array of old farm machinery in character barns. Good internet. A classic cheap and cheerful CL. Will use again when in area.

Jenk

Reviewed on 21/10/2020 12:03

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very welcoming and a perfect peaceful location.

Mr Dunlop came and greeted very warmly and efficiently upon our arrival. Yes the facilities are basic but we suspect these will be improved as the potential of the site is realised. The location is very convenient for anyone heading north or south on the M74. It is only a mile away but no traffic noise at the site. We found the views were stunning and the dog walk provided our collie Jaz with an interesting exploration into the fields. The grass area is going to be affected if there is rain but take advice from the owner, some of the area was cordoned off so it seems common sense that you need to be aware on arrival of where you can park.

MArmson

Reviewed on 03/10/2020 20:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

I need of TLC

Upon arrival we parked up and when we stepped out realised how boggy it was. Luckily there was some "firmer" ground near it which i decided to move to, the wheels were spinning on the grass i didnt get stuck but thought for a second i was going to. Once we moved and got leveled and ran our electric cable half way round the site to a hook up point up all was good until..... Other campers on the site were blatantly walking around smoking a huge joint passing it between themselves with thier baby and young son watching. Emptied my chemical toilet in a hole in the ground the tap for rinsing wasn't working I didn't feel safe on the site and definitely will not be back. Plus sides are the internet speeds were quick and they are working on the toilet/shower room so its not like the other reviews saying its mouldy.

ScreenNameF15893F36F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/08/2020 14:58

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just a farm

Very disappointed with this site unfortunately. Parking up or pitching your outfit is a free for all with no regards for each others privacy or indeed fire breaks. The village of collierhall is tired and run down with nothing for the tourist. The bus service is good enough to take you to Lanark should you wish. The shower and toilet facilities for this site are truly awful so suggest you use your own facilities. Would not recommend this site.

BNSmith1966

Reviewed on 28/10/2019 07:51

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing visit, in our experience it did not correlate to previous reviews

The site was quiet when we stayed. I know it offers exclusive toilet and shower but it is in a run down building with mouldy walls and the shower - well in my opinion you would only use it if you had too. The toilet and sink was clean but I don't think it had been used much. The overall terrain was very rough and the surroundings very run down. Even using the outside water tap made me feel uneasy. The free internet was good. The pictures on the internet do make the site look good. Personally I would rather pay the few pounds extra for a proper club site, well worth it to me. The free internet would not be a key priority. Certainly would not go back, very disappointed and surprised at this facility.

starbug2

Reviewed on 08/04/2019 15:05

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

beautiful setting

Stayed for a couple of nights, plenty of options where to site your caravan/motorhome, choice of 2 paddocks and a hard standing, we chose main paddock with views over the countryside and enjoyed watching the calves in the field. Facilities basic but good value for money. Would go back again

baldybantam

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2018 10:26

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer