Common Right Barns

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet - such a relaxing break

Easy access to the adult only CL even for a large twin axle caravan such as our Buccaneer Schooner. On arrival a board indicates your name and the allocated hardstanding pitch. The site is a large, flat lawned field – each pitch has a 16 amp electric point. The pitches themselves are all of a generous size and have views of the surrounding countryside plus the site’s shrubs and trees (all neatly maintained). There is a good dog walk with access to the fields beyond. Re-cycling bins, fresh water and Elsan Point are located outside a wooden building. This building contains a WC, a separate large, modern shower, a separate tourist information, book exchange and, unusually, a washing machine. It should be noted that these facilities are all free to use. There are several washing lines situated around the CL field complete with pegs. The site has free WiFi although the signal strength can vary. Good WiFi signal can be found near the house where seating is available. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to be given a folder by Teresa containing several leaflets on what to see and do plus an Ordnance Survey map for the area. The local area is good for walking and cycling on quiet, flat roads and tracks. Peterborough, Kings Lynn and Cambridge are all within reach for those ‘shopaholics’. There are several pubs within walking distance – details are contained in the leaflets within the information pack. We have no hesitation in recommending this CL and we will no doubt return at some time in the future.

TheCaravanMan

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 13/08/2019 17:18

18 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 Star CL caravan club site

What a brilliant CL site and a lovely welcome from Teresa the owner. Toilet and shower were spotlessly clean. Brilliant utility room and even have washing lines around the pitches to dry your washing that has to be a first. The only down side was we could only stay for one night on our journey home but hopefully will be able to return for a longer stay next time we are travelling from the North east to Essex/Kent.

fushia

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 03/07/2019 11:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant 5-night stay

We were lucky to get an excellent pitch, at the far end of the site, which was spacious and well-landscaped. The facilities are very good, and the entrance is straightforward. Well-positioned for visiting Wisbech, Peterborough (really lovely) and Downham Market. Just a pity that other caravanners seem to feel that "dogs on leads" does not apply to them, and ignore the well-signposted dog walk.

molecatcher15

Reviewed on 28/06/2018 22:33

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recommended Site

This site has everything. A very pretty entrance with the eye being caught by banks of heather and daffodils leading into a very mature enclosed site. Areas of wild meadow flowers have been sown in pockets at one end of the field. The facilities are first class with a lot of thought put into what the owners, as caravanners themselves, consider to be what most cl users now require. The layout of the facilities block is spacious. Large toilet and separate shower are designed with disabled people in mind. At the end of the block a utility room houses dish washing sink and veg prep area with local produce available for sale by an honesty box. There is also tourist information here with an excellent article by the owners of their local history re the common rights (hence the site name) of the land in years gone by. Recycling bins are hidden behind the block as is the elsan and waste emptying. A lot of thought and design have gone into this facilities area. Walks around the local fields are reached from one corner of the site. Pitches are all hard standing with easy access. The site is ideal for motorhomers too as there is an hourly bus service to Wisbech, Kings Lynn and March. The stop is about 7 - 10 mins walk along the lane. There is self catering accommodation available for anyone wanting to take family members of friends. There are local pubs available within a short distance of the site, the nearest being at the bus stop. Unfortunately the opening times are a bit hit and miss as demand is now low.

harryb

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 27/03/2018 23:06

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bella's first trip!

Having recently welcomed a new puppy into the family (the Bella of the title) we were looking for a nice quiet site for her first trip in the van. Common Right Barns proved perfect in every respect. I can only echo what all the other reviews have said: a great site with first class facilities and very welcoming owners. Evan Bella behaved so I haven't got to choose between her and the van!!

bossybird

Reviewed on 11/03/2018 17:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A perfect little site with lovely owners

We arrived on the site after finding the directions easy to follow. We pitched our van and had a lovely welcome visit from Teresa who explained where everything was. It;s a beautifully appointed site with washing lines and pegs available. The toilet/shower facilities were very clean and nicely set up. Toilet emptying point the best we've seen ever. It's a lovely quiet site with individual hardstandings which were easy to access and made pitching up easy. We had several nice chats with Teresa and her hubby and we will definitely be going back again to stay.

Bill Kane

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2017 16:27

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Oasis

A very well maintained picturesque and peaceful site. Facilities were spotless and roomy. Mr & Mrs Fowler were available if needed but at the same time giving you the room to enjoy your stay. We would recommend this lovely site to anybody. We will definitely be visiting again.

Lin Bagnall

Motorhomer from Surrey

Reviewed on 27/06/2017 16:31

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and tranquility

A lovely all adult site. A lot of thought has gone into this site. It is beautifully landscaped with plantings of shrubs, bushes and heather. Each pitch is well spaced, with hard standing and grass either side. The toilet, shower and washing up/ laundery room all were kept very clean and tidy. There is a great chipper five minutes away by car. We had some spectacular sun sets while there for six nights. I have no hesitation in recommending it. A credit to Mr and Mrs Fowler

MagnBob

Caravanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 27/04/2017 18:59

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Last minute break

We chose this CL for a last minute 6 day break and how glad we are that we did. The site is easy to locate and is situated behind the owners’ house in a large paddock which is planted with trees, shrubs and flowers. The owners were both friendly and helpful with information. There is a spacious toilet and separate shower also a washing machine free to use. Each pitch also has the use of a rotary dryer and bench seating is placed around the paddock. There are information packs available to use and return on leaving. We cycled from the site as it is close to several cycle routes which were quiet and of course flat! We visited Octavia Hill House in Wisbech which was very informative about her life and work. We also went to the village of Helpston to visit John Clare Cottage another interesting and informative place. There are plenty of other places to visit and things to do in the area. The site is quiet there is some slight farm noise which is only to be expected and whilst we were there some days there were either RAF or USAF jets on manoeuvres which although noisy was interesting to see. There is birdlife in abundance and also we saw a deer in the wildflower area one afternoon. This is a gem of a CL and we will certainly be returning in the future.

ColDeb

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 26/04/2016 16:49

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet weekend away

Came here last weekend on our second time away with caravan. A lovely site with clean facilities. Teresa was very welcoming and gave us lots of information for things to do 

Nic and Nig

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 13:29

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer