Dallachulish Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Perfect

Such a lovely welcome The views of mountains and Loch are stunning. The site is excellent with large pitches The owners are very helpful Explore Scotland at its best from here or just relax and take in the fabulous views from your caravan. Water supply has warning of possible contamination but this is not a problem, remember to take and use Purifying tablets and boil all water for food and drink etc. Dont let this put you off, the site is not to be missed.

Meterman10

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 07/08/2013 10:30

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just book it!

This place is fabulous! The view up the loch from the campsite is truly epic. Ross was very friendly but not obtrusive, site is obviously well looked after. Two words of warning although neither of them should stop you from booking: 1. If you are going June - August make sure to pack the jungle juice as the midges in this part of the world have fangs! 2. There was a notice on the fresh water supply that it could be harmful and it should be boiled before drinking. Notice also suggested that you should not use it for teeth cleaning (unless boiled first) and to keep your mouth closed in the shower! Not sure how serious the problem was but is very easily solved with those 5 litre fresh water bottles you can get from the supermarkets for next to nothing.

kipper01

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2013 11:57

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A delightful experience

I am not going to attempt to write a lengthy review for this C/L simply because there is no need, it is truly a beautiful place and Ross is one of the most friendly host's you will ever meet, Ross, thanks for a brilliant week (July 2013) I got some brilliant aerial photographs from my R/C glider (thanks for allowing me to use the other field to launch from) we will certainly return. Bob & Kath Benson

yorkibob

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 14/07/2013 09:20

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An amazing site with stunning views

The site is very easy to get to, quite close to the main road, but this section is not the route to Oban or Fort William from the south, so is not very busy. Each pitch has a hard standing, for your car or your caravan as you prefer. It is well maintained by Ross, who is very friendly and concerned to make it a good experience. The electricity went off one cold morning when we all switched our heating on together, but Ross got it fixed quickly. The best thing about this site, though, is the views, which are breathtaking. You look up a sea loch surrounded by woods and mountains. The light over the water keeps changing, and the sunsets in the other direction can be spectacular. We also saw the biggest rainbow ever. There is a road to the head of the loch, which continues up a valley to a parking place from where you can walk through the woods. There is lots to see along the coast. Having passed the two local Club Sites, where the caravans seemed to be crammed in, we were very happy to be at this peaceful CL.

Jasperselwyn

Reviewed on 29/06/2013 11:26

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Picture Perfect

Could this be the best CL on the network? Well, if it isn't, it certainly comes close. Where do I start? Access to this CL is simplicity itself, even with a large (26') twin axle in tow. No problems pitching either on the new hardstandings or grass if you prefer. Speaking of grass, it is immaculately kept, a real credit to the owner. Now the views. All I can say is wow! If you're looking for what makes Scotland special then look no further. Mountains, hanging woods, a sea loch: all right in front of you. Dallachulish is a bird watchers paradise. You may even spot a sea otter locally. And to help you keep in touch with friends and family Ross has installed wi-fi so that you can stay connected. What a shame some people book and just don't turn up. Ross works so hard to make things as near perfect as he can. Only hope after writing this I will be able to get a pitch next time I am north of the border. Can't wait!

KathrynJ10

Reviewed on 24/06/2013 22:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good 400.

We wanted this CL to be special as it was to be our 400th different CL.That's taken over 30 years of mebership to reach. It was worth the wait. The CL is a fine addition to the Club system. The farm is well signed off the main road and easy to find. The welcome was warm. With a hard surfaced drive in and round the CL to the surfaced pitches there is no problem arriving in wet weather. Some of the pitches follow the slight slope of the field, leveling blocks may be needed. The views from the CL, mountains and loch are stunning. To see sunsets, pitch the other way. All the basic facilities you need are well set out. A fairly new CL, but just what is wanted. Scotland needs more CL's like this. Ross tries to keep things informal, he did not require a deposit when we made our booking. What a pity some members have taken advantage of this and let themselves down as "no-shows". I'm sure we will re-visit this CL. It's a good 'un.

willbee

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 24/06/2013 14:37

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best view ever out of my caravan window.!

Always wanted to see Scotland but never sure where or when, So decided first week of May , Booked site with ease, offered deposit but Ross said not to bother But please give plenty of notice if not going to turn up. We did turn up and had a fantastic week Ross was always around should we need him for advise, But not intrusive, Weather was not brilliant but the views and scenery more than made up that, Ross has done a fantastic job on the site, All hard standing pitches all with a great view of Loch and mountains, We have only been on sites with basic facilities i.e. no toilets or showers for the odd weekends but found the week went by with no problems,Will no doubt return but for longer next time, final note Sat Nav took us through Glasgow and also along Loch Lomond, Loch Lomond road very narrow, This part i did not like however came back Via Stirling 30 miles further but worth the views and less stressful .all in all a great adventure,

microlight20

Reviewed on 19/05/2013 14:00

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet and amazing scenery

Just spent two nights at Dallachulish Farm near Oban and will certainly be back. Ross was friendly and helpful and has made improvements to the site recently. All 5 pitches are now hard standing with easy access to them all by a gravel track. It is a very quiet site with amazing views of the loch and mountains ( covered in snow while we were there.) There are good cycle tracks around if you are feeling active, the ferry to Lismore Island a short drive away, and Oban about 15 miles.. Can recommend this site if you are wanting a get away from it all break, and where you can be as relaxed or active as you like.

LandI

Reviewed on 01/05/2013 08:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We have been waiting for this site.

This site is in one of our favourite areas. We have had a part seasonal pitch on a much larger site in the area the past few years. This year we decide to try smaller sites and CL's to see if we could manage with only the caravan facilities. We booked 10 days at Dallachulish. On arrival we were given a warm welcome and started to get set up. A knock at the door and Jim? from the club introduced himself and asked to see our card. He came in for a chat and explained a bit about his work with the club.Nice to meet a face behind the club.the views from the site are superb.The Loch,fishing dog. walking, canoeing.and the cycle path are all at the end of the road. Shops in Benderloch and Appin will have all you need. There is a caravan shop in Benderloch which will supply anything and everything you need. We enjoyed the Dalrannoch tea room in Barcaldine. Good fresh food sensibly priced. This is a new venture for Ross the owner he is working very hard to make sure everyone is happy and enjoying their stay. In the end we stayed 14 nights and will be back in the spring.

marnie

Reviewed on 05/10/2012 14:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a find!

Stumbled across this site through finding a lost dog! The owner is very friendly and the location is just breathtaking. The field for the caravans is fairly level - just a few bumps as the other reviewer mentioned - neatly mown and fully fenced - ideal if you are taking a dog. It is set on the banks of Loch Creran with clear views across the Loch to the mountains beyond and is as close to Appin as it is to Benderloch and there are a variety of shops in each. Benderloch also has a great little fish and chip shop, excellent cafe and a caravan store. I can recommend the ferry from Port Appin to the Isle of Lismore for a lovely day trip. If you are looking for a great, get-away-from-it-all holiday, this site definitely fits the bill. The roads to Fort William and Oban are good with each being about 20 miles (maybe less). No - there are no showers but there is plenty of water, an electric hook-up and a chemical disposal point. So whether you want to stay a few days and soak up the scenery or do a quick overnight pit stop - give it a try. You might even be able to persuade the owner (Ross) to do you a bit of breakfast at his B&B for the right price :)

Beaglemom

Reviewed on 11/08/2012 14:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer