Danewood

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

OK but !!

We arrived after a 6 hour journey to be met (not welcomed) by the site owner who began the start of his 30 minute lecture. Not what you need after a long journey. We have been caravanning for over 30 years and can manoeuvre our van perfectly well but we were given a lecture as to how to reverse onto our pitch which was marked by the owner placing 2 bricks behind for us to park between after which we were shown the showers/toilets and given another lecture on how to use them. These were supposed to be exclusive use but builder from adjacent builders yard was using toilet! Road noise was constant day and night. We did have a nice meal in the pub opposite which was very good. Overall I would say OK for an overnight stop but we won't be returning as it felt we weren't wanted just our cash. I did check at time of booking and was told £17.00 a night but charged £20.00 a night on arrival.

LinandKeith

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/10/2021 15:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Noisey road

Constant traffic noise on the road beside this site. Owner greets you, then gives us his rules and shows us around. Very particular about positioning your caravan, making us go back and forwards 8 times, moving an inch each time. Cannot keep your car beside your van where it is underneath trees. We had a breathable groundsheet, but he asked if we would move things inside of our awning. Site is very well kept but ... Do not take any notice of £17 per night site fee as we were told the book is out of date and it is now £20 per night all the time. Will not be returning.

GeoffMags79

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/10/2021 13:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely long weekend break

This is a lovely site, very well kept and maintained. Terry was very welcoming and showed us round the site, showing us the facilities which are two separate shower cubicles complete with a toilet and wash basin and one separate toilet. There is a busy main road but this did not bother us or give us any concern and is quiet at night. The Plough Inn, almost directly opposite, is very handy. They do breakfasts on certain days of the week although we cannot comment as we never went. We did, however, have a meal on one evening, it was your fairly average pub food, but the service was friendly with a nice garden to sit out in. We have a motorhome and used electric bikes to get about on, Milford on Sea was within easy cycling distance with a lovely shingle beach,the beautiful coastal town of Lymington (ferries over to the Isle of Wight), Hurst Castle, Bucklers Hard and the Sam Miller Motorcycle Museum to name but a few that were within easy cycling distance. A brilliant farm shop also just down the road, turn left out of the camp site. There is a New Forest open top double decker bus, which does a circular tour of the main New Forest villages that can accommodate bikes free of charge if you want to discover more of the area. Also close by was the train station with trains to Bournemouth and Poole. All in all a lovely site, in a brilliant location, will definitely be returning, hopefully in the not too distant future.

nutsinmay2

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/08/2018 11:20

18 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

thanks terry

thanks terry for first class holiday and your attention to us will be back next year thanks pam and brian from gloucster

brib

Reviewed on 03/08/2017 08:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not too sure

A very clean site, tad on the small side but with a charming feel.The biggest problem is the traffic noise spent the day around the van on the 01/09/2016 and the noise was constant but can't blame the owner for that. As for value £20 a night i think is expensive as the sites I know around are £11 ~£15 with similar facilities, was going to stop for 4 nights but found a much more peaceful site for £15 with the same facilities so a tenner in my pocket is better lol. I do think that Terry should use white boards with a white board marker to direct visitors to there pitch as 2 bricks do not directly mean anything to first time visitors. I would return if welcome but would be a last resort.

evolution10

Reviewed on 01/09/2016 23:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Back again!

This is my second trip here in less than a month. It is next to a road that connects towns so from that point of view there is traffic noise but certainly not horrendous and quieter at night. The facilities are top notch with no issues at all. Showers fine, haven't had flow or temperature problems mentioned in other reviews. The entrance is a right hand turn in then another right hand turn into the field. We have a motor home so the accessibility was no problem. Expectations are clear but politely made in various areas.  Access to local areas of interest are easy. Too many to recommend, it's all down to personal choice really. We like the walk along the spit to Hurst castle, take the boat back and eat in the Gun Inn (good if you like crab). Ringwood Brewery tours are worth a quick mention too. Whilst talking of pubs, The Plough Inn is just across the road from the CL. Lovely meals at a reasonable price. Gets busy at weekends despite being off the beaten track. They also do take away pizzas or fish and chips of you want to dine at the site. The nightly charge is a little higher in the school holidays and Bank holidays but still worth paying. Finally if you turn left out of the site and drive up the road the farm shop, Danestream, sells delicious meat either for the BBQ or to take home.

MacBert

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/08/2016 15:05

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tight access

Nice little campsite but be extremely careful when entering as the access is vey tight and we damaged our awning rail on the gatepost on the entry to the field. Pitches are pristine and the owner takes great pride in his site. On arrival we had "the rules" read out to us on our guided tour of the site, helpful but could have waited until we had settled in before taking us round the site explaining everything. The toilets and showers are clean, I used the shower in the caravan as my son said it was either red hot or really cold when using the site showers which put me off. good waste segregation on site and a nice dog walk too. The plough inn is literally a stones throw away over the road and the food served was lovely, worth a visit. The adjacent road is quite busy and noisy but to be honest it didn't bother us. Visited beaulieu motor car museum whilst we were there and it's a great base for many other surrounding areas line Bournemouth, Poole etc. Its a nice little site with an owner who prides himself on his immaculate site, would visit again now We know about the tight access we could plan the approach a bit better 

brimlad

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 22/08/2016 22:06

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Well Kept Site, Helpful Owner, Great Location For Local Area

This is a great site we have stayed here every summer for the past 16 years.  The owner Mr Terry Harnett is very helpful, there to help you site your van onto your allocated pitch, and is available if you need any help or information on the area. The pitches are all very well kept, all grass, all freshly mown so no ground sheets are needed. The pitches are also rotated after each van has departed so each new visitor gets a nice fresh pitch with grass freshly cut so ground sheets aren't needed. The site does sit alongside the B3055 which is well used by local traffic and obviously you can hear some road noise (the noise has never been a nuisance to any people staying on this site I've spoken to.) The owner does pride himself on keeping a well kept site so obviously there are some rules regarding protecting the grass, and cars are parked adjacent to the pitches just a little way away to protect the pitches and keep them in great condition for all to enjoy all season long.  There are two showers with toilets and one separate toilet on site. The showers and toilet are well kept, cleaned at least once a day with a floor mop to mop the floor yourself after each visit keeping it clean and tidy for the next person.  The site has a lovely dog walk with a bin provided to dispose of any dog waste. Adjacent to the site is the pub The Plough, serving hot and cold foods and even does a take away. Just down the road is the local farm shop, well worth a visit, so much delicious local foods to try! The train station, New Milton is 2 miles away handy for trips further afield if you don't fancy driving. We would recommend Portsmouth and Gunwharf Quays, a shopping outlet mall on the old Gunwharf quay, so great mixture of shopping and restaurants to watch the ships coming and going.  Another place we would recommend is Urban Reef on the seafront at Boscombe, wonderful local food and a view of the sea whilst you dine. I would recommend this site and give it 5/5. 

Shelley1965

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 07/08/2016 09:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good or Not so good?

Recently stayed at this site and the jury is still out on this one. Glad we read all the reviews before we arrived. Worth doing. It certainly helped not to get wrong with the owner and to make one aware of " the rules". The location is very good for the New Forest and the site is kept very well. The pub opposite is excellent. Local ales and superb food. The site is next to a very busy and noisey road. And I mean busy. Not too bad this time of year as not sitting outside but during the nice weather would not be good. Cars can't be parked next to vans. Not to our liking especially when wet. Showers were clean but did not work well. Scolding or cold. Electric showers with low water pressure not good. Would we go back? The pub yes. The Cl no not for us although there are many sites around not as good. 

Mr Sambambles

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/10/2014 12:08

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Countryside Gem

This was a last minute booking we made on the way to the new forest, and we are so glad we did. The site was lovely well positioned for the New Forest (and a pub across the road!) the toilets and showers were clean and all of the site well maintained - would definitely visit again for the New Forest! 

ruthrastall

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2014 15:48

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer