Dark Orchard

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just right!

This C.L is just right for a short break or longer stay. Its very close to Hay for cafes and shops, yet equally there are many walks straight from the site. There is so much space for 5 units-we parked over the tiny bridge in the smaller field and it was like having our own private site. True there are no facilities other than CDP and water, but we all have facilities in our vans so make us of them! The site owner is very helpful and friendly, and her Father is a delight, he lives overlooking the site and welcomes everyone personally. I just can't fault this place-lovely!

Boo King

Reviewed on 01/09/2021 22:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our favourite CL

We love this place. We've stayed here twice, it's a real gem. Off grid living in a huge field. Total peace and tranquility yet only a short walk into Hay-on-Wye. A fabulous mix of culture, cafes and restaurants as well as gorgeous places to run, road cycle and dog walking. The owners are super helpful and the site is superbly well tended. I can only reiterate what everyone else has said, I'd have no hesitation in reccommending.

CaroleJason

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 15:36

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site, excellent location

Fabulous site, as described, large quiet spot. Very friendly, helpful owners. Short walk into town. Down by the river is lovely but lack of bridges means no circular walk but nice walk past the glamping tents and in other direction to The Warren. Tough 11 mile walk from site up to Hay Bluff but worth doing. Also some hilly road cycling on quiet roads. Enjoyed visiting the town for the bookshops of course but plenty of other interesting shops too. From the Midlands approaching on the A438 at about 5 miles away we crossed the river on the wooden Toll bridge which was a novelty and came through Clifford on the B4350, site entrance just past the co-op, opposite the big pet & garden store. Definitely recommend.

Itjob

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 26/07/2021 17:16

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet in the heart of Hay on Wye

Lovely, well kept, site that couldn't be closer to the centre of Hay on Wye. Very welcoming owners. Great location with a small stream running through that added to the charm. Recommend going to The Warren, there's a small pebble beach there which we really enjoyed swimming from.

Thumper762

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/07/2021 19:17

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great off grid Cl

Stayed here for 3 nights mid June . A lovely large meadow .... Met the owners who were a very pleasant couple . Would highly recommend.

wye

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 12:12

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfectly Heaven !

Stayed 15/16/17th June 2021 We needed a site that was grass under foot and within easy walking distance to an interesting town with our older dog. The field is immaculately kept, part mown, part wild. We parked on the top half of the field over the stream. We seemed to have the whole field to ourselves, much to the delight of the dog who decided she'd found her second puppyhood and spent her time looking for, and chasing squirrels ( too slow ! ). We were met by the lovely Peter who when offered a chair in the shade proceeded to impart his wisdom re the site, the local area, it's pubs, it's shops, who's who and his life history ...... an absolute delight and we loved chatting to him x The site is really quiet, despite being only 5 minutes walk away along the road from the lovely town of Hay-on-Wye. Also, If you turn right out of the site entrance and walk for 2 minutes up the narrow road you will find a public footpath that takes you into Hay over the fields. Keep the dog on the lead though as there were sheep in the fields when we were there. Lovely shops and bars etc in Hay itself. The sun shone for us and our whole stay at this site was just wonderful. We will definitely return !

Dobedobedo

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 09:46

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic

Immaculate, very well presented and the mixture of lawn and natural stunning, the faint noise of the stream soothing can not express how tranquil Dark Orchard is. Hay on wye is easy 5 minute stroll with it’s interesting shops selection of cafe’s pubs. The river walk worth visiting, some amazing carvings along the way, plus an area known as the beach pleasant. The hosts Lynda & Peter exceptional nothing too much trouble and loads of information. Can’t wait to go back and stay longer.

Pamela Roberta

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 13:50

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What an idyllic place

We came across this site as we were looking for a simple one night stop over. We were greeted by a great peaceful setting in a large area for 5 pitches. You can find an isolated spot where you want which is looked after so well with cut grass and wild meadow areas. The hosts are caring and attentive. It’s within 2 minute walk of the the character town with many bars, cafe’s and shops Don’t pass this by

SThorley

Reviewed on 14/06/2021 08:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An absolute gem

Dark Orchard CL is a 2.5 acre off grid CL site located on the England/Wales border. Divided by the Dulas Brook, Dark Orchard CL sits on the English side of the border in Herefordshire whilst the town of Hay-on-Wye sits in Powys, Wales. Dark Orchard CL is situated just meters from the River Wye and a few minutes stroll from the iconic town of Hay-on-Wye (Hay). Often referred to as the town of books and famous for its literary festival, Hay is home to over 20 bookshops and is surrounded by natural beauty for hikes, biking or paddling on the river. You'll also find a vibrant market containing local fresh produce, arts, crafts, and antiques every Thursday in Memorial Square. Dark Orchard was immaculately kept during our visit and we had the opportunity to meet the lovely Pete 'The greet' who had a wicked sense of humour and lots of useful information about the area. We also managed to meet the owners Lynda and Chris on our last morning who were extremely personable and helpful. Lynda and Chris had a last minute family event on the weekend we visited but told us they are often on and around the site to meet guests and answer any queries on the area. Our full review and photos can be found here - https://www.theroadtwospoons.co.uk/blog/dark-orchard-cl-review

TheRoadTwoSpoons

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/06/2021 20:02

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

Was only able to stay one night due to availability & I can see why, lovely site, well kept, spacious & friendly owners with a dad who knew everything about the area, short walk into town, we wish we could have stayed longer, will definitely return, now in my top favourites of CLs

alt1307

Reviewed on 05/06/2021 22:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer