Doddington Oaks CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A first class example of what site should be!

We have stayed twice on this CL and will without doubt stay many more times. I could wax lyrical about the site but a lot has been already said by previous members. This site is a shining example of what a site should be, so well thought out and designed to ensure all pitches maximise the beautiful vistas and provide privacy. Well stocked info caravan adjacent to the facilities and stunning walks on your doorstep. Access is excellent as is the friendly owner Gillian. Just go and stay, I am confident you will be in agreement with others who have left reviews.

familyfortune

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/05/2021 10:58

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful place

Lovely site horses to watch Dog walk in woodland Owners very friendly and welcoming Very well thought out re cycling facilities and for grey water Dog poo sticks instead of bags poke it into the undergrowth Fabulous idea. Pitches well spaced out Lovely we will certainly return Thank you

Emma Slack

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/05/2021 10:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quality

Having just spent 3 fantastic days at this most beautiful and quiet site I can only say its so peaceful and tranquil and a great place to sit and ponder life as it use to be. Thank you

smerrick

Reviewed on 23/04/2021 15:41

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

CL with innovative features ideally located for discovering Lincoln and surrounding area.

Doddington Oaks is located c500m from the A46 Lincoln by-pass (some road noise) on the B1190 - look out for flags hanging from trees on the right hand side of the road which mark the short single track lane leading to the site. The camping field which is a fenced off part of a large paddock is accessed to the left through a gap in a high hedge. Pitches (all grass with EHUs and room for an awning) are located at a 45 degree angle to the hedge and are accessed by following the hedge line and then driving through, so no reversing required! By pitching at an angle, you are not overlooked and and the forward views are of open fields and amazing sunsets. This arrangement is probably unique but a really good idea. The service area is of good quality as the CL was only opened in 2017. Adjacent is an information room in a retro caravan. The owners are very friendly and obviously enjoy telling their guests about the local wildlife - hares, hedgehogs, deer, owls and a pair of nesting buzzards are all on site Dog walking is easy with a choice of route and no need to go off-site. Uphill Lincoln is always well worth a visit as the cathedral, castle, Steep Hill and the Roman legacy are all in close proximity. Nearby Doddington Hall has a farm shop, cycle shop and cafes. There are plenty of other attractions in the city and nearby making it worth staying for more than a couple of nights. This CL is good value, well located, innovatively laid out and well managed, making it an ideal site for a visit to the area and a relaxing break. We'll be back...

yellowbelly

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 14:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The directions in the 19/20 handbook are correct but the map co-ordinates are not!

We enjoyed our stay - the 'retro caravan' information room and innovative 'no reversing' pitching arrangement made us smile. You sometimes read reviews berating CL owners for not making an effort but you cannot say that here, everything was spot-on, even down to an antiseptic gel dispenser at the chemical disposal point - very much appreciated. The family enjoyed the views of the horses grazing. Slight downside was an ever - present swooshing-hum from the traffic on the nearby A46 but it wasn't loud enough to drown out the birdsong. My major disappointment was not the fault of the owners - the printed map co-ordinates led me to believe I was booking a CL within walking distance of Doddington village. In fact that's not so and the fast adjacent roads really make walks from the site unpleasant, though there is a nice dog-walk on-site and Doddington is only a very short drive. I reckon the correct co-ordinates are 53.2140;-0.6255

Redaudiman

Reviewed on 15/04/2019 20:18

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We have just returned from a very relaxing weekend at Doddington Oaks. It is well located, just being off the A46 which goes around the north of Lincoln, making access very easy to both the CL and to various parts of Lincoln and further afield. Once off the A46 onto the B1190, take time to look for the CL sign hanging from a branch and the two Lincolnshire flags marking the entrance. They are partially obscured by leaves and branches but as long as you take it slowly, you won't miss the entrance. I like the fact that you drive on to the pitches without having to reverse. This would make it an ideal site for caravan newbies. The old caravan used as an information point is a good idea too and the disposal point and recycling area are well thought out and kept clean and tidy. The owners, Glynn and Gillian were friendly and welcoming. Glynn told us where there was a buzzard's nest in the adjacent private woods (owned by them) so we went off searching for this. We found the nest and a large tree with dozen or more fairy doors on it. The woods also make it an ideal CL for those with dogs. A visit to the new International Bomber Command Centre in Lincoln is well worth it. It is an extremely informative and moving experience and I would recommended you join one of the free tours of the site by a very knowledgeably volunteer to get the most out of it. There is also the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight at nearby RAF Coningsby if you like planes and if you are lucky, you may get a free air display over Lincoln from the Red Arrows who are based at nearby RAF Scampton. A visit to the cathedral, castle (a copy of the Magna Carta is held here) and the historic Bailgate/Steep Hill area of the city kept us busy on Saturday. It really is a lovely part of the city and so picturesque. Even if you do not want to look around Doddington Hall, which is only about a mile or so up the road from the site, it is worth going to have a look around the farm shop and the few small shops in the grounds. You can always find some delicious treats that prove irresistible! Overall, this CL is a little gem and a credit to its owners. We will be back.

Mollymoo12

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 17/07/2018 19:40

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great example of a well run CL in a fantastic location

On contacting the owner, he was super helpful and made sure I knew how to spot the entrance on arrival. He made a follow up call the day before we arrived to apologise that he would be unable to meet us and check that we were OK with that. The site is simplicity itself to access just a feww hundred metres down a good quality B road off the A46 Lincoln bypass and the entrance is marked with two colourful flags and a large sign opposite (although the sign was a bit obscured by leaves on the approach from the A46). A good quality driveway leads to the CL field, which is cleverly laid out with 5 clearly defined, well sized, 'drive in', pitches, with an access 'road' behind and the exit from the field via the far gateway. This made arrival an absolute doddle and meant there was no need to mess about when driving onto ond out of the site, drive in, park up next to your pitch and drive out. The water points/bins and CTP are are of a really good standard in a nice fenced off area. The CL field is amongst horse grazing and woodland beside it, which has a clear path through it and makes for a nice evening walk. Doddington Hall is nearby (we walked there and back from the site) as is Whisby Nature Park, which is a lovely place (access for a car of people is only a £2 parking fee) and the A46 gives easy access into Lincoln. This is a very well laid out and maintained CL in a great location and the owner is extemely friendly and helpful. Just the other side of the A46, a mile from the CL, is a parade of shops with a well stocked Co-Op, chippy, indian and chinese takeaways and a pizza place, so everything you might need is right on the doorstep. Our only problem while on the site was completely beyond the owners control and that was the mosquitoes, which with the unuusal spring we've had and the calm damp weather while we were there, were out in droves (in the whlole area to be fair, not just the site) and prevented us from sitting out and enjoying the evening sun, which was a real shame. If you are visiting in June - August I'd recommend taking some repellent with you - we really wished we had and now have a bottle in the washroom cupboard (literally once bitten...!!!!)

markflip

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2018 11:22

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

We visited this site on the bank holiday weekend. The owners were very welcoming and helpful We were situated in the over flow area, where there were just two caravans. The site is well maintained and the grass cut. It is a peaceful site and you can walk in the woods nearby.

suzym

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 19:49

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Awesome

Arrived here this weekend, this is an outstanding site, so relaxed. The owner is very friendly and so relaxed, the surroundings are very beautiful and clean. Please be aware there is no toilet block here but isn't an issue and really opened our eyes, to true caravanning. The dog walk is great If your looking for a very relaxed holiday then this is one place I would visit again. Shops and pubs a short distance A major plus for me was the close proximity to the home of the BBMF and of the Red Arrows and was treated to a glorious fly bye from a Spitfire and the Arrows Doddington Hall is a nice visit, The cafe and shop sells some great stuff Would we go again...Yes

RobinHood5

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 18:14

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous

Our first visit to this lovely site but it won't be out last. On our first day walking the dogs in the shady woodland feet from the site, we saw both a munjac and a roe deer. Buzzards were nesting in one of the large oak trees and we saw and heard a cuckoo (something we haven't heard for quite a while). Glyn was very welcoming and even helped us get our awning put up as we had been struggling. Being tall is a distinct advantage. Our dogs loved the site and the freedom of the woods. We were also very lucky to spot the lesser-spotted painter and she settled happily on one of our chairs. Gillian does wonderful paintings and the next time we visit will definitely see her gallery. She is very welcoming and even dashed back from her dental appointment to make sure she said goodbye to us. The weather was great which is always a plus when caravanning, but even though it rained heavily a couple of nights the ground was still dry and not water logged. We were a bit concerned about the proximity to the road and traffic noise but although the road was busy the noise tended to blur into just a background noise and the many birds around the site were more than adequate to create a lovely musical accompaniment. I was tempted to give a bad review because sites like this are rare and will get booked up very quickly and we want to be able to get a pitch next time we book - only joking Gill and Glyn. Loved everything about the site and can't wait to visit again.

Provast

Reviewed on 20/05/2018 11:33

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer