Drummuckloch

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Dog Noise is not gone

This is a lovely CL stayed 2 nights but the dog barking/howling at 2am 4am and 6am is not relaxing. If you are a deep sleeper it will be lovely but not if you sleep light you won’t get much sleep.

Jordans

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 08:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very nice site , no dog noise

Currently in the middle of a 7 day stay at this charming CL, although being in close proximity to a farm the noise is minimal, just noise from baying cattle at times in the evening , no barking dogs now. What do people expect if the CL is next to a working farm , I would 100% book again as it provides a good base with good access .

Mick Heywood

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 15:58

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL but spoilt by noise

This is basically a good CL and we have stayed here several times over the past two years. However our latest stay in September 2019 was marred by the incessant barking from several dogs on the adjoining farm. We’re not the only visitors to have complained about this. Other reviewers have mentioned this problem, and during our stay another couple packed up and left early because of it. We complained to the Estates Office, and was told that the manager would “have a word” with the farmer, but nothing improved and two nights later it was as bad as ever. The dog barking woke us at 3am and kept us awake for over an hour. It just goes on and on. I know farmers keep dogs for several reasons including security, but this noise nuisance is just unnecessary and makes the CL unusable. We’re not the only visitors to wonder whether the farmer has started running a boarding kennel business. I will be submitting a formal complaint to the Club. Members choose CLs for, above all, peace and quiet. This essential factor is now missing and we will not use this CL again.

G4SPZ

Caravanner from Worcestershire

Reviewed on 15/09/2019 10:36

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Definately Not Peace and Quiet

We booked 5 nights at this site on a recommendation and despite the great views, the lovely Cardoness estate park and the beautiful beaches close by, we only stayed 2 nights. We were put on pitch one which is the one nearest the farm house and next to the farm track and probably would have had more peace and quiet sat on the M25. Throughout the day from early until late the tractor was constantly up and down taking what smelt like silage from the cow sheds across the field, it is a working farm so some noise is expected so we could have put up with this and to be fair we were out most of the day. The cows mooing and the cockerel crowing from first light is country life and also expected but what really finished it for us was the dogs. We have a dog so don't moan about a dog barking now and again but the dogs at the farm (I'm sure its a kennels) barked throughout the night and once one barked the others howled for hours on end. If this had just been a one off ok but on both nights we struggled, getting hardly any sleep at all which was not what we had booked this site for so we gave up and moved on. The warden didn't seem at all surprised when I told him we were leaving and without any apology just gave me the money back for the 3 nights I cancelled. As we left one of the other caravaners said they had been on pitch one on another visit and had been warned there could be dog noise but this warning wasn't given to us. They were now on pitch 5 and said the noise didn't carry that far so they were undisturbed and like most of the other reviewers were enjoying a peaceful break.

Roycart

Reviewed on 09/07/2019 16:25

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Drummucklock, Cardoness. Gatehouse.....back again

Returning after 3 yrs and it's just as good as it was during our first visit, and I thought that I'd add a little to my previous review. This is a basic CL with 5 Hardstanding pitches and EHU. It lies just off the A 75 about 3 mls west of Gatehouse of Fleet, up a farm drive. The site overlooks Skyreburn Bay and the Waters of Fleet, and although quite close to the road the traffic noise is not very intrusive. There is no dog walk as such from the site but a quiet back lane is close by, without having to walk on the main road. For those unfamiliar with the site one does have to drive to Cardoness Estate offices, which is about 1/2 ml away, to book in and be directed to the site. There are lots of places of interest within easy driving distance, such as Cardoness Castle at Gatehouse, Threave Garden, House and Castle at Castle Douglas, McLellands Castle and Broughton House (N/T) at Kirkcudbright... the Artist Town.....as well as Wigtown...the Book Town.... and the Whithorn peninsular. There are small supermarkets locally and larger ones including Aldi at Newton Stewart. There is plenty of opportunity for those wanting both long high walks, eg up Cairnsmore of Fleet, and short walks in the woods or through parks at Kirkcudbright & Gatehouse, and in the forest at Kirroughtree, which is also the location of one of the 7 Stanes Mountain Bike centres. A grand site for touring Dumfries and Galloway, and a bargain at just £12 pn. This is our second visit and we would not hesitate in returning.

162 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Drummucklock, Gatehouse of Fleet....Just grand.

This farm site has 5 aligned H/S pitches with great views overlooking the Fleet Estuary. It is accessed from a layby on the right of the A75 travelling from the east, however on arrival one has to book into the estate office of the Cardoness Estate. To do this you have to drive in the second gate west of the TEAPOT roadside cafe which has only a small "Cardoness" sign.There are good walks on the estate, and one can park by the estate office, where there is also a small shop. The area has lots of places of interest close by such as Gatehouse, Kirkcudbright and Loch Ken. Although the site is close to the A75 there is little road noise. We were unable to get a television signal, however others on the site managed. Phone recrption was good, and although the website shows wifi access one has to go to the estate office for it to work. We really like the site and thought it was a bargain at £10 pn. Will definitely return in the future.

162 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Back Again

This site is just perfect for those wanting peace and tranquillity, the site itself sits up above and away from the A75 with views over the Fleet estuary. Included in the price is access to the grounds and all the facilities of the Cardeness Estate, with fabulous beaches walks and views. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff of the Cardeness Estate, who treat you as if your part of the family. To sum up its just a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Dumfries and Galloway.

Meterman10

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 02/07/2016 12:27

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for Exploring Dumfries & Galloway

What's not to like about this site? Well it has almost everything we could have wished for. The welcome was wonderful, the site is located overlooking the Fleet Estuary where just over the A75 you have access to the main Cardoness Estate which is yours to explore with its secret bays and lovely beaches. There is a little shop for essential's and within a few minutes drive is the lovely little town of Gatehouse of Fleet. Within 3/4 of an hour you can be exploring the mountain roads and views of Galloway Forest Park or nearer to the site explore the rugged bays, beaches and quiet coastal roads. If you just want to relax go down to the Cardoness Estate and explore the woods lake and beaches. Nearby Creetown is well worth a visit especially the Gem Museum and its excellent coffee shop. The staff and owners of the CL were so friendly and made us feel so welcome we booked in for 2 days and stayed 2 weeks. One minor issue were the farm dogs which if spooked could imitate the Hound of the Baskervilles at 2 or 3 in the morning but hey this shouldn't spoil the wonderful experience of staying on the Cardoness Estates CL. We will be back as we had such a wonderful time there.

Meterman10

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 26/09/2015 10:42

25 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent value

We visited this site in late May 2015. The directions given are a bit confusing, we were back and forwards along the A75 a couple of times before stopping and phoning the holiday park for help. The easiest way if you are travelling westwards on the A75 is look out for a roadside cafe called the TEAPOT in a layby on the left, about a mile & a half after passing the turn off for Gatehouse of Fleet. If you reach the cafe you have just passed the entrance to Drummuckloch on the right. A further 200 yards along the A75 is the entrance to Cardonness holiday park on the left. No large sign with the name & listing all the facilities, as with most parks, just a small sign with 1 word CARDONNESS.

Gemmadog

Reviewed on 17/06/2015 07:35

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice quiet site

This was our first experience of a CL and only our 2nd trip in our caravan. There was only one other caravan on the site and luckily for us they were able to advise that we needed rock pegs to use with the hardstanding (newbie mistake) when we were struggling to get the awning pegged in. We spoke to the office before we arrived and arranged to site the van before going to pay so we didn't have to worry about turning round with the van if we missed the office. The site is next to a farm so there was some noise from that but it wasn't intrusive. The views were lovely and it was a very peaceful stay.

Athel

Reviewed on 21/02/2015 17:24

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer