Dyllgoed Isaf, Maesybont

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing

A lovely quiet site north of Cross Hands. Great location for exploring Pembrokshire and Gower. Very very clean facilities. Well worth the 18 pds per night for 2 people. Additional 5 pds for each additional adult was a bit steep. Will return.

ScreenNameA58DF9C5E3

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/08/2021 17:13

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A warm welcome

We have visited this small site on 3 occasions now whilst travelling to and from Ireland. The owners are most helpful and welcoming. There is good and level hard standing for motor homes and caravans with electric hook ups close by. The shower and toilet facilities are very clean. The site is quiet with lovely views around and close to the nearest village. We can really recommend this site.

ScreenNameE90AC798C1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/07/2021 17:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 fab days at Dyllgoed Isaf

A superb CL in a great location - if you want peace and tranquillity - only the birds and cows will disturb you! The shower and toilet was always spotless and the whole setup felt very safe. Grounds very need and hard standings good without having to break my back hammering in pegs. Very heavy rain on arrival but pitch quickly drained. Roy and his brother Jeff are very welcoming and made us feel pleased to see us. No hesitation in recommending this CL

tonyqgbr

Caravanner from Somerset

Reviewed on 02/09/2020 17:44

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site for a base to explore Brecon Beacons, South and West Wales

The site is easily found with access roads ample wide enough for most rigs, although approaching from six-ways, Gorslas is probably easiest to navigate from and is nearest to A48 / M4 at Crosshands. The access onto the 5 pitches is through a gate at the back of a gravelled yard - beware the 2 collies who frequently pop out from the driveway as you pull in!! The views are nice for 3/.4 of your view, with 1/4 occupied by a large industrial fabrication / unit. It really isn't that intrusive. The pitches are generous in terms of spaces between them, although the hardstanding could be both longer and wider. Given the position of the building I could not swing my car on full lock close enough to the van and so parked half on the remaining hardstanding and half on the grass. I found parking nose in gave us better views. The drawback is when VERY windy, the awning is thrown about and the wind comes through the valley. That said it was in gales unto 60mph and we are still here to tell the story! The shower is electric and the shower tray, toilets and wash basin is very good for a site of this size. They are sited inside a wooden chalet style wooden summer house. They were kept clean and properly serviced. Also some local information and a few books to exchange etc.. As for the service points, the recycling seemed easy enough but over time the writing is hard to read and probably needs re-doing. If I were younger I could probably remember the information better. The Elsan point wooden trap door is held up by an old rubber bungee and that and the door may need a facelift. It works fine but creates the impression of being a little neglected. Having met Roy and Jeff who seems to run the whole thing I was impressed with the generally well-presented site and facilities and where I have commented otherwise they are only minor points to help. Isn't that the point of feedback. Nearly there - there is no grey waste disposal and so you can run a long pipe to the downside undergrowth or empty your waste hog at the bottom of the site hill. As for animals, there is no specific dog waste bins, but the locale, and fields make excellent sites to walk dogs. There is also a nature reserve about a mile along the road. As for cycling the Swiss Valley Sus Trans to Llanelli and links to the Millennium Path are a short distance from 6-ways. The route is flat, or gently inclined. Views are great. Overall I think it warrants 4 stars. I would say 5 if there was a grey waste, dog waste bin, a slightly better door on the Elsan point and slightly larger hardstanding. None of these things would stop me going back, Jeff and Roy were very caring and attentive hosts who checked in with us violent storms, and were welcoming on arrival. Thank you for a great 11 days.

Gizm0trek

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/08/2019 20:04

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic

Had the pleasure of staying over the August bank holiday weekend, very helpful on arrival beautiful location and so peaceful.Toilet and shower were immaculate and clean even had the pleasure of the chickens roaming the site in the evening. Will definitely be back thanks very much for a fantastic weekend.

gowerlady

Reviewed on 14/09/2018 07:36

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site clean and very helpful owners

Great little CL - all pitches hard standing and very clean - shower and toilets were immaculate and warm with plenty of hot water. Very friendly owners who went out of their way to help us. Beautiful countryside and very easy to explore from the site. Highly recommend stopping awhile in this quiet area!

Squarejack

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/08/2018 21:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Potential

Really enjoyed our recent stay, outstanding location close to National Botanic Gardens, Aberglasny and the Gower. Tranquil site surrounded by lovely farmland. Facilities are good, however disappointed not to find a grey water drain for camper vans. Would visit again.

Susan Pilbeam

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/08/2016 17:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous location, friendly owners

We stayed for a week during February school holidays. Directions to the site were easy to follow. Owners very helpful and friendly on our arrival (which was in the dark!) Meeting us with a torch.  The three dogs were very friendly and our two daughters loved them. Toilet block was very clean, as was the shower which was lovely and the water was warm! A great location for visiting the Botanic Gardens, Aberglasney and only 3 miles from the dual carriageway. Also there is a large co-op; launderette and takeaways 3 miles away in Cross Hands. Despite being so handily placed, the site itself feels secluded and is a great site to `get away from it all`. We would definitely stay again! 

nicolagw

Reviewed on 21/03/2016 19:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great potential

We stayed here in February for two weeks. There are two roads leading to the site but I recommend you use the one from 6 roads junction and not from off the A48 which is single track.  We didn't see anyone on site for several days but that didn't bother us.  This site has great potential for growth but in my opinion its not there yet. There are lovely views of surrounding fields if the weather is kind but it can be like living in a cloud when its not. Thats not the fault of the site of course. My main hope for future developments is to at least double the size of the hard standings. They are really only just wide enough for the caravan alone. This caused us problems with the water barrel which we had to have leaning against the van. Not enough space by the van for it to sit flat on the hardstanding and the pump being too short for it to sit on the grass. There was a very narrow strip of hardstanding on the other side as well so it made it awkward to avoid stepping onto the mud and grass due to it being so wet. I would recommend some paving slabs each side of the pitch as a cheap solution with a huge benefit. In the winter the ground is really wet and so walking across to one of the two taps and to hook up to the mains really needs wellys. The other thing that needs some thought is parking. We made use of a spare pitch but if there were 5 vans on site most would have to leave their cars in the yard outside the site. Making the pitches longer would allow room to park behind the van. For small vans none of this will be a problem. We have a Korando and a Bailey Valencia so not enough room to park behind the van.  Now to anyone who wants good internet and TV reception on this site they are both brilliant with the exception of the pitch directly behind the large barn. We got good 4G good enough to easily stream movies on 3 mobile.  There are three dogs that you will see often. The two collies are real softies and love attention. The brown and white one is fine but sometimes does not want to be friendly but is not dangerous in any way. The advice is to keep the gate closed if you don't want them round your van. They are obedient if your firm with them and when they slipped in as we accessed with our car they were easily commanded to leave.  I was frustrated with the pitch size on first arrival but as the days rolled by I really started to love the place. If some minor improvements were made it would be a very good CL indeed.  The toilets in the chalet were fine but we didn't brave using the shower as there is no heating in there.  I would be happy to visit again. 

Shrimpfarmer

Reviewed on 09/03/2016 15:56

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great site

Spent a few days at the site last month. Owners very friendly, and helpful. Site very clean with good hardstandings. Toilets were first class with separate male/ female all kept in prestine condition. Had no problems with the dogs as mentioned below. Ideally sited for visiting the Botanical gardens and Aberglasny.

cymro

Caravanner from Dyfed

Reviewed on 10/11/2015 17:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer