Ellengarth

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice quiet location

Nice welcome on arrival, very pleasant owners gave us all the local information we asked for. Well kept clean site. Great little shed for re-cycling along with box of books & magazines and plenty of leaflets & information on local walks & cycling. Off a country lane but literally no traffic at all. Typical lovely Yorkshire Dales scenery. We cycled to both Aysgarth Falls & Masham on quiet good road surface routes. I would definitely recommend the site. But whilst not in the least an issue for us there were 9 units on site, we were on Pitch 7 on grass which in our opinion was the best pitch but any would be good. 6 hard standing in a row then no.7 on the entrance & 2 more through a gate into separate field. Around 40 minutes safe walk into Leyburn either on footpaths or safe road to walk on. Lots of pubs & cafes to choose from. Recommend Campbell‘s Grocery Store, upstairs has fantastic wines & spirits. Lots of good quality shops, Wensleydale Wool knitting shop a real gem, lovely items not just for buying wool.

Itjob

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 14:34

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb site

Just arrived home after another 2 week visit to the beautiful gem of a site Ellengarth CL. The owners Ann and David Loadman keep this site in pristine condition, it’s in a tranquil spot with beautiful views and ideal for dog walking. I’m so confused by the previous review 9/8/2021. Ann and Dave are the perfect hosts, they are friendly, approachable and so helpful and always go that extra mile to make sure the caravanners are happy and have everything they need to make their holiday an enjoyable one. I feel the review was a personal attack on Dave Loadman and the exact opposite to the Dave everyone likes and respects, he is so pleasant, helpful and always has a smile for everyone that’s why caravan and Motorhome owners return time after time to this super site. Why an issue with the groundsheet would make anyone have such a verbal attack on such a lovely man is beyond me. There isn’t one review that gives this site less that 5 stars which says it all in my opinion. from my iPad

nerja

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 14:34

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very disappointing return visit!

This was our second stay, booked in advance as usual and paid our deposit after having checked all the details of the site on the CAMC site. This time we also came with our elderly parents. On our second day the owner ‘Dave’ approached us and told us that we couldn’t have a groundsheet down. We politely informed him that the site description on the CAMC site ‘clearly stated’ that breathable groundsheets were permitted and that at no point when we made the booking or upon arrival was this not the case. He stated ‘He had changed his mind and that we had to remove the breathable groundsheet.’ He also insisted we paid for our whole stay upfront, which wasn’t a problem and we did, although we haven’t had to do so before. We explained to him that the groundsheets both my parents and ourselves were using were top-of-the-range Kampa-Dometic groundsheets and had always in the past kept the grass in pristine condition, protecting the grass from continued footfall from using the awning. All this seemed to have fallen on deaf ears and he was insistent on the removal of the groundsheets. Eventually, he realised ‘he was in the wrong’ for not informing us prior to the booking or upon arrival that groundsheets weren’t allowed. We compromised and lifted a corner every day to please him. Three days before the day of our departure he insisted we completely remove the groundsheets and as he already taken our money we felt pressurised in complying with his demands. On the day of our departure he was hanging around with his mower, waiting for us to leave at around 10:30a.m. muttering under his breath, loud enough for us to hear the words “They’ll not be another one like you, that’s for sure.” The thing is, ‘Dave’ ended up shooting himself in the foot as removing the groundsheet 3 days before we left caused more damage to the grass as we had to walk in the awning wearing our shoes instead of our bare feet on the groundsheet. (We took photos of the awning grass all the way through our stay to prove that while the groundsheet was down, no damage has occurred to the grass whatsoever. Only after the removal of the groundsheet was the grass in a worse state that it had been before). Of course there was some discolouration of the grass on the footprint of where the outside of the awning had been which is inevitable with any awning. So, to sum up our stay, the location as always was wonderful. Sadly, the behaviour of the owner of the site ‘Dave’ was incredibly, horrendous, uncaring, unprofessional and downright rude. If you do decide to book this site, just make sure you ‘don’t step on his grass!’ I wouldn’t ever stay at this site again, even if you paid me to! Awful, awful, awful! A word of advice ‘Dave’, I completely understand you wanting to keep your site looking nice for your guests, but maybe instead of using all EIGHT of your pitches, you could use the CAMC rules and just use FIVE of them allowing you to rotate your pitches giving time for the grass to recover.

Bambinos

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 16:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic Site

Absolutely lovely site. Beautiful setting with great views. Lots to see & do in the area. Leyburn is a very pretty market town with plenty of shops & eateries. Site is immaculate with fairly large fully serviced hardstandings & very well-maintained grass in between. The owners, Dave & Ann couldn’t have been more helpful & gave us loads of information about the area, walks & places to visit. Very good value @ £15 including electric.

jon1950

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 16:14

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Convenient Site

We stayed here for 7 nights early September. Excellent pitches fully serviced. All very tidy and well kept. We will visit again.

MKSEBye

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/09/2020 20:18

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL

I stayed here for 6 nights with my 4 young grandchildren. They enjoyed making up their own adventure on this spacious site. An ideal location for visiting the many lovely places in the area. The CL is very well kept with serviced pitches. The owners were very friendly & helpful.

Zaffyann

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2019 17:46

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent.

We loved this cl,easy access.With hard standing pitches,water and grey waste drains on all pitches. Lovely views and very quiet site. The site is just about eight miles from the A1 so handy as a stop off if traveling to Scotland. We stayed for seven nights and loved every minute although it did get a bit windy a couple of nights,as it is open so seems to catch the wind.But that's no fault of the owners. The owners couldn't do enough to make our stay a special one. We will return next year for sure.

R A WOOLSTON

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/07/2019 17:26

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

9 Day Stay

We booked this site to tie in with some work I was doing nearby and made good use of the location for a short break in Yorkshire. Dave and Ann made us very welcome and all the communication beforehand had been managed really well. The site is very pleasant and a perfect location to explore the dales from. Electric hook up and water to each pitch and a drain point as well. Hard standing with ample space between pitches made for a CL site with high level of spec. I would definitely come back here again and recommend it to friends.

DKO2

Reviewed on 27/05/2019 20:33

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Long weekend stay

First time at this site where we managed to bag the last pitch on the overspill spot which was excellent.owners introduced themselves and were very welcoming.lovely short walk through fields into leyburn and some good cycling to be had cracking back roads to get lost in.lovely site and very quiet.and best of all no dog poo to be found which is a rarity. One to return to next time we are in the area

Reviewed on 27/04/2019 20:39

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant site.

My wife and I have been in the C&MC Club for over 36 years and we have never written a Review before. However, Ellengarth was so outstanding we wanted to record that fact. Each pitch is fully serviced (water, electrical point, and grey water drainage) which was great. The pitches are a good distance apart so there is no sense of crowding. Because the vans are lined up in a row you are even less aware of them. All the services (Chemical disposal point, recycling options, etc) were also first class: even down to a Book Swap option. When we arrived we discovered we had forgotten our caravan steps. Mr. Loadman worked out how to improvise and brought wood blocks for us - my wife has difficulty with mobility so this was vital. He even came later wtih drill and screws to secure his work of art! It really is a template have every site might be set up. Congratulations, we will be back! Robert & Ann Warren (Northumberland)

Robert Warren

Reviewed on 06/03/2019 16:40

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer