Ellengarth

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic!

We have just returned home after a five day stay at Ellengarth. I cannot speak too highly of this site: we were given a lovely, friendly welcome on our arrival and, consequently, felt relaxed from the moment we arrived. Nothing was too much trouble for Dave or Ann, who could not have been more accommodating. The site itself is wonderful. Very accessible, lying a couple of miles North of Leyburn, it has lovely views across the Dales and is within very easy reach of numerous places of interest in North Yorkshire. A welcome pack with literature flagging those places and an ordnance survey map of the area was given to us and it proved most informative and useful. The site is well tended with short grass, recycling points and a tap no more than a few yards away for each caravan. Before we left, Dave popped in to wish us "bon voyage/bonne route", a nice touch. Thank you for everything. We hope to return in the not too distant future. Ken and Deidre

Keslinny

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 29/06/2017 08:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Marvellous CL

This CL has everything you need, water to each pitch,16amp EHU, good TV coverage and we even got 4G on EE and Three. Fantastic scenery even though the weather was poor we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Dave and Ann are the perfect hosts, very welcoming and friendly, we were given a welcome information pack on arrival which was very good. Also they've probably got the best recycling facilities on any CL.

clubman3

Reviewed on 24/06/2017 21:54

10 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Tranquil CL

What a lovely little CL this is. We had a lovely stay here.The site is very well kept and so picturesque, quiet and Tranquil with lovely views and cute sheep. The owners were on holiday, so Peter and Joanne took care of us and were very helpful with any questions we had. The owner leaves an information pack for you in a green box which was a lovely touch and extremely helpful and we went to Hawes, Wensleydale,Layburn , Aysgarth and Richmond , all within good reach. I would definitely return to this lovely site.

maccallum

Caravanner from Durham

Reviewed on 22/05/2017 14:38

29 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

I Like it a Lot!

Just back from a long weekend visit to the Yorkshire Dales. We have stayed on a few CL sites up there and never been disappointed with any of them, this one is no different. I can imagine, though, in wet weather the site gets very waterlogged. It was a bit spongy on our pitch after just a short rain shower but there are hard standing pitches available. Its far enough away from Leyburn to be peaceful yet close enough if you fancy a trip in to do a bit of shopping. Its a good base for the Dales. We were met by Dave on arrival who was really friendly, they were busy packing as they were off on holiday the day after but he came out to make sure we were OK and to brief us on what to do if any problems occurred, a nice man in the overflow caravan pitch was looking after things while they were away. Speaking to other folk, it seemed to be a really popular site which isn't surprising; a very well kept CL site and reasonably priced, of course it will be popular. I just hope we can get on it in the future as we would definitely go there again. If you're into stargazing, on a clear night, this place is breathtaking, easily seeing the Milky Way with the naked eye.

Mark Jones

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 04/10/2016 11:24

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a cracker

Stayed August 2016. As good a site as I have ever stayed on. There is a water supply for each pair of caravans with a splitter tap attached so I was able to attach a hose straight on. Waste water into the hedge bottom. Excellent Elson. Wonderful views and Dave and Ann are a really friendly and helpful couple. Our Fridge/ Freezer went on the blink. We'd just bought loads of milk and the freezer was full. Soon as Dave and Ann heard they offered us the use of a full shelf in their fridge and they allowed us to put a carrier bag full of frozen food in their freezer. The site is kept beautiful, great for all the local villages and Wensleydale

LyntonGarth

Reviewed on 28/08/2016 20:03

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

BEST CL SITE EVER

We visited this CL in June this year. On arrival Dave came over to greet us by name - a real personal welcome. These are service pitches, with water, electric and grey water disposal along side. The chemical emptying is behind a panel fence on a concret base with "wow" handwash - a first for us. The recycling and rubbish again is on a concrete base, enclosed in a panel fence and extremely well labelled. Well done Ellengarth for such a well laid out site. Apart from that, the views are lovely, the adjacent field is full of sheep, and I could see red tractors on the sky line busy with grass cutting and baling. Plenty to distract me from my book. Then of course, as walkers, we tried out the footpaths to Bellerby, and the following day to the lovely market town of Leyburn.I cannot speak more highly of this site.

TYZER

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2016 21:51

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely cl

This cl is ideally located. Good recycling facilities. Peaceful and quiet plenty of wildlife lovely owners information pack on arrival we will definitely be returning again

Bezza123

Reviewed on 11/07/2016 18:12

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Short Break

Super site, close to Leyburn but just far enough away too if you fancy peace and quiet. Had everything we needed. Very warm welcome which always makes your stay that more enjoyable. Met some lovely people.

Peace and Quiet1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/07/2016 12:28

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

great site

Just made our first visit to this site but will not be our last We had a great welcome when we arrived give a folder of leaflets with local attractions and things to do and see and each day that met the site owner he was interested where we were go that day, and he could always tell you other places in that area to see as well. Thank you for having us see you again Ralph and JO.

19ralph46

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 24/05/2016 17:13

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

Just made a second visit to this CL. It is beautifully kept by the friendly owners. It is conveniently placed for exploring the eastern Dales and you can walk across the fields to the nearby village and pub as well as to Leyburn. We will definitely return.

MandCCumbria

Reviewed on 12/05/2016 20:31

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer