Ellengarth

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Long Weekend

We stayed at Ellengarth for a long weekend at the end of September 2014 and will definitely be returning next season. The owners are really welcoming and very helpful. The site is very well kept and cared for with lovely views across neighbouring fields. Good dog walking on the door step too. We would definitely recommend a visit. It is a shame that we only had 3 nights there as there is plenty to do around the area.

Zeddy

Reviewed on 01/10/2014 21:46

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The perfect CL ?

What a gem of a site. Individual pitches most with their own tap, plenty of electric hook up sockets. So peaceful. Easy to find. Leyburn and Richmond worth a visit. A top CL.

Rogh

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 29/09/2014 16:09

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

perfect retreat

We have just returned from Ellengarth campsite where we spent 8 nights. This was not our plan but as it was such a quiet and lovely location we decided to stay longer than planned. The owners were very friendly and helpful, always happy to stop for a chat. The site is very handy for lots of beautiful village locations, Leyburn is only 2mns drive away, Middleham where you can shop or watch the Race horses training on the Middleham Gallops.. Reeth, Richmond are only a few within driving distance, Plenty of good pubs around serving lovely food. The area is beautiful, our only negative is the lack of space to let the dogs off for a run near the campsite, although we did walk them up the very quiet country lane every night. We have never seen as many Pheasants in one area before, the dogs loved it. Will definitely be back next year.

gspgill

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2014 12:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Quiet

If you want a quiet and peaceful break - look no further!!!! Such a lovely site and - such lovely people - even got an offer of a cup of tea on our arrival!!! What is more welcoming than that !! Really helpful and lovely couple. Thank you for a really lovely break in lovely surroundings. Keep up the good work! xx

greendogs2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2014 17:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb Site - What a Find

One of the best CLs we've stayed on. The welcome by Ann and David was excellent and a pack giving details of local events and places to visit was provided. The site is well maintained, clean with grey water disposal on every plot. Lovely views across open fields. A gem of a site. We will be back.

keithjoh

Reviewed on 12/09/2014 14:53

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful CL in an excellent place

A wonderful CL in an excellent place with really friendly owners.  What more could you want from a CL? We just had an excellent eight night stay at this lovely site, which started with a very warm welcome from Ann & Dave on our arrival.  Great views across the fields and beyond on this very well maintained CL. The owners could not be more friendly and helpful as they provided local information, maps and advice.  This area of Yorkshire is outstanding with so much to do and see. Good restaurants, pubs and shops in Leyburn and local towns and villages. Walking, cycling, site-seeing, local history, this area has the lot.    Also our personal thanks go out to Ann and Dave for their help when we had problems with our car. This is our favourite CL to date.         

GeoffE

Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 31/08/2014 20:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

Wonderful south facing site , immaculately clean with recycling facilities and good dog walks nearby. A very peaceful site.The owners David and Anne were extremely friendly and helpful.TV reception was very good. We would definately reccommend this site and will return ourselves in the future.

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly Clean with Wonderful Views

Very thing you could want from a site.  All the facilities were clean and tidy.  Owners very friendly and helpful with a good welcome pack.  We will be back hopefully later this year.  Excellent market in Leyburn on a Friday.  Easy drive to Wensleydale Station (Leyburn);  We also went on the Vintage Tour Bus worth the trip (runs every Tuesday);  Also went to see the Red Squirrels at Snaizeholme at Mirk Pot Farm worth the walk but where water proof shoes or boots.  Really lovely area.

stephen p

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2014 18:31

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

friendly owners

Very impressed with Ellengarth, Anne and Dave were very welcoming supplying info pack of local area and events and excellent free ordinance survey maps for walks .They recommended a couple of pubs to eat at, one of which was The Bolton Arms [dog friendly]where we enjoyed a lovely Sunday roast .We were only here for the weekend and Dave kindly told us we did not have to leave at noon if we wanted to go out for the day [much appreciated ].The site is immaculate with plenty of water points and each pitch has its own grey waste disposal so if you take a 3mtr hose you dont need to use a wastemaster .Will deffinately return

sandancersgj

Caravanner from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on 08/06/2014 20:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden Treasure

This was our first visit to a CL and and our second attempt to book this site and I can honestly say it was well worth the wait. The owners are very friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. The site is very quiet as you would expect and there are plenty options to walk the dog. The chemical disposal area was very clean and well maintained. We would recommend this site and will return in the future.

Dieseldoris

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/06/2014 13:11

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer