Ellengarth

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

All you want from a CL

This site is located easily but not near any main roads. The owners put themselves out to welcome you and advise on the local area. We would describe the hospitality and help as outstanding. The site is level and spacious and water etc close by the pitch. We had our 2 dogs with us and were really pleased with the safe walking available straight from the site (despite the torrential rain present throughout our stay). Leyburn is a short distance away with cafe's, pubs etc along with a market to get all you need. We used Tesco at Catterick for our main food shop this was about 25 minutes drive from the site.   I would recommend this site as the ideal location if you want to relax taking in the beautiful views and enjoy walking or alternatively as a central base for discovering the wider Yorkshire Dales. We loved it and will return although without the driving rain please.....  

H2NRA

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 28/05/2014 09:49

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best

I wholeheartedly endorse all the good things said by other posters. Ann and Dave could not be more welcoming or try harder to ensure you have a good time here. The homemade cakes offered at the beginning of our stay set the tone for the rest of it. We came for a week and stayed a fortnight. The site is fairly level and has a hard road down the centre to ensure easy access. Some of the pitches have wheel wide width hard standing and more are promised for next year. There are two water points alongside the pitches and the toilet emptying facility is just the other side of the track. The views are good and the surrounding area wonderful. We will certainly be back.

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Eight Days of Delights

If all CL's are like this we are going to have a wonderful time visiting more of them. With considerate hosts who obviously work very hard to keep this site in tip top condition, it really makes it worth staying there. It has been pencilled in on our 'places to go list' for 2014, but if we can go back sooner we will.

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We stayed here for 3 nights and what a warm welcome we received from the owners David and Ann.The site is very well set up with wonderful views and is very peaceful.The walking in the area is superb. We will definitely be back!

denmer

Reviewed on 24/06/2013 17:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Curlews and cup cakes!

Having spent a wonderful day in Ripon and planning on moving on to Cumbria the next day, we only had time for one night in early June at Elllengarth in our Motor Home, but one night was enough to convince us that we must return. How many CL’s can give you cake, sanitising hand rub, copious water points, level access, open countryside, wonderful views. maps, bird watching reserve information, bicycle ride suggestions, wildlife rich hedgerows, buttercups and Curlews ? Dave Loadman and Ann Thwaites have paid attention to every detail and then go over and above what we, their visitors can expect. The lemon cup cakes were a delightful surprise but even they were surpassed by the owner’s warmth and friendliness. We can’t wait to return.

Swifttrippers

Reviewed on 23/06/2013 20:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic stay

We booked Ellengarth after visiting their webpage. It looked ideal for us as we are a couple with 2 dogs and just require peace, quiet, walks and relaxation. We were not to be disappointed. Dave and Ann are the most welcoming of hosts, presenting you with a welcome pack and some freshly made cakes upon arrival. As long standing locals, they know many of the local walks and can direct you over the farmland to the local pub at Bellerby (15 mins). The site is South facing with easy access and the pitches are comfortably deep and wide. The land is free draining and pegs are easy to hammer in. There is a nice shelter belt behind the pitches, giving protection from any Northerly winds and the views are beautiful. The facilities ample for your stay. Leyburn is only a couple of miles back down the road and Campbells (fine family run supermarket) is a must, as they have a great meat counter/deli, as well as a wide range of fresh veg, wines and beers. We stayed on the last May Bank Holiday and enjoyed 3 days of glorious sunshine for walking. Our other 3 days were a mixture of sun, showers, rain and wind but we were never deterred and found gaps in the weather each day for 5 - 10 miles of lovely walks. I tend to travel to West Witton or Jervaux, park the car and enjoy a walk, often stopping for a beer and a sandwich. Both these places are less than 6 miles away. On departure, Dave lent a hand getting the last poles down for the awning and we said goodbye, but it was really a "see you again soon" as we both knew we would be back. And soon hopefully. I have mixed feeling in giving Ellengarth and Dave and Ann such a glowing review, as we would like to keep this secret all to ourselves and ensure we get a pitch next time. However, they do such a good job that it's only fair they reap the rewards of this lovely place.

IDRowley

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 03/06/2013 10:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem!

A lovely peaceful and quiet CL down along a country lane. The CL looks over fields and the calves in the adjacent field kept our boys entertained. Nothing seems too much trouble for Anne and Dave including a welcome pack of attraction information and chocolate cakes on arrival. Attractions are easy to get to and there are plenty close by. Leyburn is a 5 minute drive for essential groceries - the family run grocers has a fantastic butchers at the back selling locally sourced burgers and sausages, great for bbq's. Give this CL a try - you won't be disappointed.

Highwayman72

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 02/06/2013 22:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely friendly site.

We stayed 4 nights over the May Bank Holiday and really enjoyed our stay. On arrival, Ann presented us with some delicious home-made buns and a welcome pack which included places of interest and local restaurants/pubs etc. Dave was extremely helpful by providing us with a copy of the local ordanance survey map when he discovered our interest in cycling. The weather was mixed, but Dave had created part hard-standing on some of the pitches which drained well and coped with the heavy rain. He had also created a gravel road on the field which improved access. Our pitch was the lower lying one as mentioned in the previous review but it presented no problem in the bad weather. I would recommend this site to anyone and the owners really put themselves out to make our stay pleasurable. Hope to visit again soon.

Sasha123

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 01/06/2013 18:06

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our stay at Ellengarth

We visited this CL during a wet and windy spell mid September 2012 and were warmly welcomed on arrival by Ann who offered us a cup of tea. We have visited many CLs in the past but this is the first time we have been offered a cup of tea on arrival! We love walking with our border collie and whilst out during the first day, about three miles from the site, we were stopped by a friendly tractor driver. "How’s your stay going" he said in a broad Yorkshire accent..."I recognised the Border Collie"! It was Dave, the other half of the CL ownership. We thought it was a nice touch for him to take time out from work to have a chat during a busy harvest season. We had one particularly wet day and Ann called round to say she had obtained some DVDs from the local library in case we were bored. She also offered drying facilities as we told her that we had been out walking all afternoon and had got wet. This is a new CL and both Dave and Ann are keen to develop the site and asked us to leave feedback (which says a lot for their honesty and openness).... so here it is...

Positives:- Warm welcome; great views; quiet (however if the wind is in the wrong direction you can, on occasions, hear some distant activity at an army rifle range), lots of taps (nearly enough to make it a super site) and electricity points; discrete, clean and ergonomic toilet emptying (with hand wash provided); great walks straight from the site; only four minute drive from Leyburn market place; good dog friendly pub at Bellerby – 2 minutes in car or 15 minute stroll across the fields; well demarked recycling area; good mobile phone and TV signal, good value for money.

Negatives: One low lying area on the site which can get waterlogged during a wet Summer (as this year - Dave said his plan was to make a hard standing for the 2013 season). Wi-Fi would have been useful to us as we do some work whilst away caravanning.

We would certainly return for another stay, and would recommend this site to others. Smile

Graythwaite

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 14/09/2012 22:39

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer