Five Cross

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site and owner.

This was our first visit to the site and we had a very friendly welcome from Joan. Joan guided us to our pitch and pointed out all the services. Having set up our caravan we decided to try out our new porch awning. It came with very vague instructions and we struggled. I fellow camper and his wife came over to us and introduced themselves, saying that they have one exactly the same and did we need a hand. The awning was duly erected and we found that there were two (optional extra) poles missing so Steve went over to his caravan and lent us the necessary poles. We also had frequent visits from some local dear. Luckily we had carrots. That was the start of an enjoyable stay among friendly campers. The only downside is the noise from a working Quarry which didn't spoil our stay. Thank you all Yorky and Dot

Yorky2uke

Reviewed on 19/07/2022 18:08

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Loved it

Thanks Joan for the warm welcome, we loved the relaxed way you run the site, no silly rules, we had our own loo etc so there was no problems, such a friendly site and loved the visiting deers which amused us each day. We will be back now we have found this Jen. See you soon Joan xx

taffymary1

Reviewed on 13/07/2022 18:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely little CL site

Lovely little cl site with wild deer visiting regularly. Hook ups are to one side of field, but an extension lead will reach to any patch you fancy pitching on. Some sloping so take chocks. A hose extension is also useful to reach the tap. The site is very peaceful despite being close to a road. The owner is very friendly and helpful. If you like peace and sitting in the van watching deer from your door, then this is the place for you.

ScreenNameA8A9EBB96C

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/06/2022 14:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal location

A very warm welcome by Joan to her lovely cl site that she now runs on her own due to the loss of her husband. Was great to watch her call the deer into her garden for their evening feed. Every day there was deer to be seen on site and on one occasion to see a stag. The entrance to the cl share's the same entrance for Crossway's CAMC site and is easy for any size vehicle. There is some road noise during the day but is not to intrusive. Ideal location for Monkey World (our reason for traveling down to this area) steam trains to Swanage ,tank museum jurassic coast etc. Would definitely stay here again. Had a lovely 2 weeks stay and enjoyed every minute.

malkeiron

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2021 20:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Five Cross---best weekend ever

we have just returned to caravanning after a period of approximately 30 years---This was our first tryout in a new van and it couldn't have been any better---we arrived and were greeted by Joan who could not have been more welcoming--it is a very quiet site (5 pitches) with electric facilities. We were treated to Deer on the site which was indeed a beautiful sight. Overall the weekend was a great introduction to caravanning again and we intend to visit Joan on many occasions in the future as time permits.----- We would not hesitate in the slightest to recommend this site.--Thanks Joan, from Paul & Pauline Spencer

spencer317

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 17:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location

This is a great location to visit Weymouth,Appleby. The tank museum, Chesil beach The owners Joan and John are friendly and very welcoming. Lovely visits from the deer Water and waste disposal areas well signed and clean Would definitely visit again

Urbonas

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/10/2020 19:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Paradise found!

My husband and I have been here every year for six years. Absolutely nothing bad to say about it! Joan and John are so welcoming, but leave you generally in peace. Perfect location for adventures to the Jurassic coast, the lovely Weymouth (train station five minutes walk if you don't want to drive),and if you have a fishing husband, there's Wally's lakes at Osmington Mills or Chisel beach for Mackerel in abundance. The Frampton Arms is a five minute walk for a beautiful carvery for £7.99 a pop! The only thing that cost us a fortune was buying brown bread for the deer! Our go to site!

Janet Cowell

Reviewed on 18/02/2020 20:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendly welcome to a peaceful site

As others have reported, we were welcomed by Joan with a cup of tea and allowed to pitch wherever we liked. We chose a spot in the middle to get the most sunshine, but it required a long electric lead, which Joan would have lent us if we hadn't had our own extension. The only let down was the the up-keep of the toilet. It wasn't particularly clean, especially the hand-towel, and toilet paper ran out a couple of times. Be careful to securely bolt the door to avoid embarassing surprises, as my wife found out! Although not officially provided we found that wifi was accessible in a limited way through the BT WiFi system - free to BT customers. There was no mobile signal on EE. We had spectacular weather during our stay and made the most of what the gorgeous area has to offer, from cliff top walking to Durdle Door, visiting two Thomas Hardy (NT) properties and being amazed at the huge number of tanks at the Bovington museum.

johnosh

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/09/2019 19:55

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL we have ever stayed on

Being greeted personally by Joan was started of our stay, followed up shortly with tea and coffee was a very good start. We loved having wild deer on site, but you have to accept that they are wild animals. One deer was partial to a bit of bread but was very pushy if she didn't get enough and I was firm with her and walked away. You do have to be careful if you approach them, although sometimes they just run away. The traffic noise was higher at rush hours, but overnight not a problem at all, and as we live in London we are used to it. Don't let it put you off from coming to this site, it is absolutely lovely. Joan came and "visited" a couple of times to make sure we were OK, although I suspect part of it was to see our cat Stanley when he was outside in his crate! She was never intrusive. It is very central to get everywhere and it was a bonus to have a supermarket 10 mins walk away. Joan personally came out to say goodbye We will be booking again to come back next year.

Meads181

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 17/09/2019 10:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Warm welcome

We were welcomed by Joan, the owner, with a cuppa and biscuits for our dogs. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The entrance to the site was easy and the surroundings were very peaceful. Lovely to see the deers up close and able to touch them. Would thoroughly recommend a visit and we will definatley return. Thank you Joan , for a very enjoyable stay.

Hectorsheepdog

Reviewed on 07/07/2019 22:14

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer