Flaxlands Fishery

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Picturesque

Friday and Saturday night stay. Pitched up in motor home on a completely flat pitch, on a raised area a few hundred yards away from the very pretty lakes. Nice to have electrics and water with each pitch and no "shrubbery" to negotiate when plugging in. Yes, you can hear a distant hum of the M4 occasionally, but didn't distract from the tranquility. A short walk to the chemical disposal area, which was the best I've seen. Waste water can be used on the new plants/shrubs which are being grown to enhance the camping area. Hand sanitiser everywhere. A lovely walk, past some unusual chickens down to the lakes. Nicely cut grass, but watch for "goose poo" as there are quite a few Canadian geese. Sat on a bench, admired the views, ducks and moorhens and watched the fishermen [and ladies] in glorious sunshine. We were lucky enough to see a young lad and his Dad? bring in a mirror carp, the lads personal best. We also spotted a Red Kite and a Heron - all in all a very enjoyable 2 nights - next time we might actually venture into Royal Wootton Bassett!

Mad Welshman

Reviewed on 27/06/2021 18:44

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem of a CL site

Our first week back at Flaxlands following lockdown. Still the same warm welcome and ease of setting up on our pitch. Tranquil views over the lake and a great opportunity for anyone who likes fishing. We now have booked several more trips here during the year. Great to see COVID measures in place throughout the site. Anna Chapman Caravaner

Richard2469

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/04/2021 19:43

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful and well organised

We have just enjoyed eight nights at Flaxlands, a beautiful and well kept site. Great to have water to each pitch, no barrels to be dragged around. Owners are really friendly and their collection of poultry is an added interest. My husband enjoyed some fishing and we were able to walk around the lakes once the fishermen had gone home. Yes the M4 is not far away but it is a constant hum which you soon ignore, better than many sites that have train lines nearby and you are disturbed several times a night. All in all a lovely break, booking again soon.

Jennifer Waluga

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/10/2020 10:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Covid 19 Measures Did Not Exist

We visited this newly opened Cl during August 2020 we fully expected some form of Covid 19 measures to be in place especially at the Elsan Emptying Point there was absolutely nothing on site!! There was not any recycling and had to leave any rubbish on top of the red bin down the drive which was locked. We arrived on a Sunday and at no point were we told that the fishing and the gate was closed on a Monday, for saying this was a newly opened CL the pitches were looking tired and in need of some TLC ie weeding, and dog mess being cleaned up! The drive up to the Fishery is in need of attention with very large potholes. The welcome pack did not include any information regarding emergency telephone numbers. This site could be great with more attention.

Comment from the Club

The CL Owner has been in touch as they work hard to ensure their site is well maintained and covid secure for members. As such they have a number of measures in place including a screen for protection on check-in and hand santisers located around the site. Our CL Advisor has recently visited the site and has advised that the caravan pitches sit overlooking the area of fishing lakes. The whole site, including fishing areas is beautifully landscaped and very well maintained. The CL Advisor spoke to members on site at the time who told him that it is a great site and they are planning to return. The pot holes in the road are filled in by the CL Owner several times a year. They regularly check the site and have not ever seen or been informed of dog mess. If anyone ever has any concerns they are always on site to help.

Helen4800

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/09/2020 12:05

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

After lockdown

Finally we are out in the van after lockdown and what a lovely place we chose, warm welcome on arrival lovely spot over looking the fishing lake , watching the heron trying to fish also other wild life to see too.Good size pitch nice and level ,and it was great to have our own tap to plug into the van,( no keep on filling up.) Road noise didn’t bother us either. The only down side was the weather , well recommended.Sharon and John Stafford

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb CL

We stayed for two weeks in October 2019. A new CL where the owners are welcoming and helpful, looking to do everything to the highest standard.. The view from the pitches over the lakes is as per the photographs, beautiful. Opening the blinds to watch the wildlife is a bonus. The only downside is the M4, heard at all times from behind the trees. It did not disturb us in the caravan but it does initially outside. Be warned, the toilet is mainly for the fishermen and a good walk when the need is urgent, and yes it is locked when the fishery is closed. We looked at all of the CL in the area and this is the one we chose, and yes our lives will take us back there again this year. Ps the owners cook up a delicious bacon sandwich, mainly for the fishermen, but worth the wait if you can get one!

chalkie5

Reviewed on 14/02/2020 11:29

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site convenient for motorway and exploring nearby attractions in lovely fishery grounds.

Booked Flaxlands as I wanted a site convenient to the motorway enabling us to break our journey home, but would not take us out of our way too much so we could re-join our journey home quickly, while at the sometime being near to National Trust and other sites of interest. This site was perfect for both. I had checked the proximity of the site to the motorway on maps before booking therefore the motorway noise was an expected consequence of our decision. However in comparison to another site we stayed at just as near to the motorway on our way to our holiday destination we felt this site was far superior. The pitches are in an elevated position providing not only great views over the lakes but the surrounding area (not facing the motorway unlike the previous site). Clean and well serviced throughout the whole site. Over the 2 nights during our stay we enjoyed watching the really stunning July sunsets over the countryside and pleasant walks in the morning and evening around the lakes. On arrival we were given a warm welcome, good information pack including places to visit and distances. We we advised the toilets were only open when the fishing site is open and given times, closed in the evening/night unless there is a pre booked night fishing session. The site is gated and locked at night (key provided). We would certainly stay at Flaxlands again.

GandRTH

Reviewed on 26/09/2019 10:34

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Toilets locked!!

We stayed overnight Sunday 18th August. We decided to go out for something to eat found a fantastic place along the road Sally Pussey, there were other nice places on the main road for eating which had large car parks for the motorhome. We were given a key to get in and out through the gate and my husband was told the fisheries were closed the next day and to lock up and leave the key. They didn’t tell us that the toilets would also be locked up!!! The site has 5 places for motorhomes or caravans and I wasn’t too keen that we were facing down to the lake. I think it would be better to park sideways so the awning could be put out to have a view of the lovely countryside. We were the only people there, so could have done I suppose. We need to go back to Swindon in December but would not return to Flaxlands the road noise was terrible and the lack of a toilet infuriating.

Kathryn18

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 09:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer