Forton House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely cl

We spent 3 nights here last week. Lovely peaceful cl with electric and water on each pitch. Good WiFi too. Peter gave us a full information pack with maps and places of interest when we arrived which was very helpful. Sustrans cycle route 33 just under a mile away which took us into Ilminster off road on an old railway path. Lots of interesting information boards along the way and a nature reserve. Also cycled to Cricket St Thomas along country lanes another day. Thank you Peter, we really enjoyed our stay

Mikbar

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/11/2021 15:49

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely central base

We booked this CL as we'd never stayed in Somerset before, it is perfect as a launch pad for ether the South coast (30 minutes away) or North Devon (around 60 minutes away). There are lots of lovely villages nearby and all the main shops in nearby Chard. Although we came in early July the English weather let us down a bit, but we had some sun and lots of good company from fellow caravaners on the site. You will need to drive to attractions unless you're happy to sit and relax with a glass of wine and a good book, and we did that several times. The site is secluded and quiet, just the normal rural sounds, we loved it.

ScreenNameF2A9FBDAA8

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 16:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

would stay again

cannot really fault it for £18 a night. excellent to have clean water immediately behind the van, and waste run off too. very handy for escape to the coast and surrounds but other than a few cows now and again in the next field...(this is farming country) nice and quiet.

whytony

Reviewed on 18/10/2020 18:40

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Little Site

This beautifully kept little site is level, has hard standings, water and electric at most pitches. Friendly and helpful owner. Best of all it is extremely quiet and peaceful with glorious bird song in the mornings. There's plenty to do in the area, Ford Abbey is delightful and easily accessible on quiet lanes by bicycle. We shall visit again.

WandJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/05/2019 16:24

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best

This is a really nice, well laid out site. Access was good - I have a 26ft long, 8ft wide caravan and had no problems with access. Pitches are fairly level with water, EHU and grey waste on every hardstanding pitch with chemical toilet disposal, recycling, shower and toilet all nearby. Peter was very welcoming but did not bother us at all during our stay. I would thoroughly recommend this site to anyone (although I'm not sure I want to as it may become to popular!). We will certainly be coming back again and again.

Oona

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/04/2019 15:37

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

Early in the season so no problem with booking. Perfect cl for us and many others it seems. Level pitches served with water, drainage and electrics. What more could one want. Owner helped me out when I lost mains electric due to a faulty trip in van. Ideal for touring around the Jurassic coast. Highly recommended.

mikealison

Reviewed on 30/03/2019 10:56

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

We just spent 5 nights at Forton House, we had booked in 5 months ahead, and had e-mail confirmation. On arrival the owner had left a letter and a envelope to leave payment as they were away on holiday. We had a very good pitch, with hook up, water and waste drain very close to pitches. On arrival near Chard the road was closed from Chard to Forton, and did not really notice the diversion, and found very narrow local roads (caravan brushes hedges both sides), which my satnav gave as an alternative. On investigating the normal road to Chard a few days later, it was very narrow for long sections, and would be very difficult when meeting any oncoming traffic, so on leaving the site at the end we went in the opposite direction to pick up the A30 road to Chard, much wider with room for 2-way traffic, a mile or 2 longer, but hassle free. As mentioned above the owner was away, as a result the toilet/shower room was not cleaned, however the bins on the site were emptied.

hannaypa

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/07/2018 07:36

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well laid out site

This CL has been well laid out with hard standings and most pitches have water on each pitch. There is a very nice WC/shower room but this this needs a thorough clean, it did not appear to be cleaned on a regular basis, such a shame when they have gone to the expense of providing it. We didn't see the owners at all during our stay, on the 4th day we went looking for someone to pay, but only found one of the owners children in the care of the housekeepe. Access is very tight especially if there is a car parked in the adjoining neighbours drive which there was when we arrived and we would recommend approaching from Crewkerne, rather than Chard. Overall a peaceful, well laid out site but be careful on entry.

GillandJohn

Reviewed on 05/08/2017 08:30

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Forton House

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at Forton House CL site. The owner was very helpful on arrival. We had rain on most of the days but the ground was not to bad. Unfortunately there was road works near the site which meant the buses could not run so had to use the car. A lot to see in the area.

bluewasp2011

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/03/2017 16:32

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Privacy & plenty to do in area

Lovely rural site in a large field with hard-standings and drinking water and grey water drainage on 2 or 3 of the 5 pitches. Good central location for what we wanted to do – Jurassic Coast and some NT properties. What to ‘do’ in the area – we visited: Seaton Beach, Lyme Regis and Dinosaur fossil museum, Forde Abbey, Branscombe Beach, Montacute House & Gardens (NT) (twice as lit up beautifully for Christmas), Ferne Animal Sanctuary, Sidmouth Promenade and Beach walk, Chard Nature reserve (most of it restricted for dogs), Bridport and West Bay coastal walks, Beer and in past we have been to the Beer Caves. Lots of Jurassic coast seaside towns within 30 – 35 minutes drive. Some local walks straight off lane from site. Site itself is a peaceful 1 acre field surrounded by other fields, no road noise at all as in middle of countryside, five or six hard-standings, plus four storage spaces (only one used when we were there). Only one other caravanner stayed during part of our two week stay, but most of the time we were on our own so we had the run of field and dog area. Some pitches have ‘their own’ water and grey water waste point, however the size of the taps at ¾ inch does not allow you to hook up to the tap as a permanent water supply. Very convenient to have tap and grey water waste right behind the caravan (choose a pitch with a tap on it). Recycling is comprehensive, a bin for plastics, one for metal and tins, one for paper, etc. A nice shower room (unheated so fine in summer, but we prefer our own facilities in winter). Grass not too wet unlike some sites we have been on in winter. As it was winter we parked caravan with one wheel on the grass beside the pitch, using a leveller, so we could pitch the awning over the hardstanding/ gravel. Owner okeyed this and it does mean you keep dry underfoot within awning and dry to get in and out of the awning. It was nice being able to open all the blinds and not see any neighbours, any other caravans in front of us – just fields. A shame not all CL’s are like this one. It has location, peace and quiet, and but for the wrong tap size for our hose, almost ‘fully serviced’ pitches, all for £15/night. Also a small play area for children on the driveway into site (not part of the CL, but owner allowed our children to use it). Well recommended for a long stay.

Martin Gover

Reviewed on 10/01/2017 15:06

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer