Gilfachwydd

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gilfachwydd

Just returned from staying five nights at this site. This site is extremely well-kept with fantastic views from the seat at the top of the site. It is in a wonderful setting with good access to plenty of walking and cycling. Jan, the caretaker, was extremely helpful and very pleasant to speak to. We don’t normally return to sites that we have already stayed at, but would very much like to with this site.

ralphandshirley

Reviewed on 15/12/2020 21:11

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Site

We spent just over a week at this CL in August and absolutely loved it. The site is located up on the hillside and the caravans are on a level section at the bottom of a hill. If you climb up to the top of the field where there is a wooden bench to sit on you are presented with an amazing view of the hills and mountains. It's very peaceful even when it is full. We didn't see the owner or caretaker while we were there and the payment system is by putting money in an envelope into a letterbox. Just down the road is a lovely short walk around a very peaceful lake and there are footpaths all around. During our stay we were able to watch a hare grazing and a leveret playing in the longer grass. The town of Dolgellau is just down the road and has a good variety of shops and amenities. Barmouth is not far away and a walk across the railway bridge that spans the estuary is a must. A very scenic area of Wales and a beautiful and peaceful CL. We will be returning.

LAF

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 07/10/2019 10:31

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful location

This is a quiet and peaceful location, the grass is mown regularly and short. The pitches are clearly laid out with stone electricity points between them. Lots of walks and drives from the site and easy access into Dolgellau. An information pack is provided by email when you book, and the caretaker visits regularly. Whilst there are no open views from the site due to trees and hedges, this does mean that the site is more sheltered and screened form the nearby road (which was very quiet).

JohnRH

Reviewed on 01/07/2019 20:21

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing, such an absolue gem.

We have known and loved the Dolgellau area of Gwynedd for many a long year, but this was the first time we have visited the area in our self built campervan. The weather was unbelievably brilliant during our visit, so much so that during our 4 day stop we didn't see a single cloud! The facilities at the site are perfectly adequate and the dog field is an absolute bonus that our 3 Springer Spaniels loved. We will be back and sooner rather than later.

MillieMaster

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 01/07/2018 14:05

26 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quite site

We stayed here for a few days on our trip to North Wales. I was given full instructions before arrival on where to pay etc if no-one was around. Didn't actually see any owner for the whole time, but that was fine as everything was self explanatory. Site only had room for about 5 units, there are no facilities on this site at all (apart from water and chemical toilet disposal). It was very peaceful with lovely scenery. Walking distant to Dolgellau town and to walks etc. Only issue was a lot of midges around!!

owridge

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/06/2018 15:36

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL in ideal spot for touring and walking local area

Spent 7 nights here Aug 2017. It was perfect for us - quiet, great location and good walking easily accessible. Appreciated the easy dog-walking on site for early and late walks. Road up from Dolgellau is tight with caravan but can be walked in about 40 minutes to go into town for the evening. If you want owner / caretaker on site for welcome or queries this would not suit, but if you are happy being self sufficient then would recommend it.

gillzet

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/09/2017 10:10

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and beautiful surroundings

Just back from 5 days for the August Bank Holiday. We have been before and the site remains a gem. CL is set in stunning scenery. Many walks from site . Lots to do in the area. The booking was made by phone with a follow up of a cheque deposit. We didnt see the owners during the weekend and that wasnt a problem for us. We left fees in the honesty box near the house. It would be helpful for those visiting for the first time for there to be a site plan of services and how to contact manager if needed. Maybe the site will consider this addition? We will be back.

mikebav

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 28/08/2017 22:16

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful site

This is a lovely, peaceful site set up in the hills south of Dolgellau with great access to excellent walks. Although the owners were not there to meet you, this was not a problem at all as the agent was very helpful in giving directions and instructions beforehand. The site was very well tended. We will be back.

SandLW

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2017 18:55

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely, peaceful basic site.

Gilfachwydd is a fantastic, peaceful basic CL in a lovely situation. The Foxes Path up Cadair starts right next to the site and there are other footpaths very close by. The pitches are at the bottom of the hillside and very well kept with shortly mown grass. The bonus is walking up the hillside, sitting on the well positioned garden seat and taking in the views.

LifeisGood

Reviewed on 11/04/2017 13:32

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely, peaceful basic site.

Gilfachwydd is a fantastic, peaceful basic CL in a lovely situation. The Foxes Path up Cadair starts right next to the site and there are other footpaths very close by. The pitches are at the bottom of the hillside and very well kept with shortly mown grass. The bonus is walking up the hillside, sitting on the well positioned garden seat and taking in the views.

LifeisGood

Reviewed on 11/04/2017 13:32

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer