Glebe Farm Caravan Site

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely rural CL handy for Shrewsbury and Ironbridge

Towards the end of September we spent 6 nights at Glebe Farm CL in our caravan. Access was easy and loads of space surrounded by fields containing sheep and alpacas. The grass was close mown, green and free of clippings. The classic CL site has 5 electricity points, the terrain is slightly rolling but well drained and with plenty of flat areas suitable for RVs as well. The main gates are open all the time and we felt a little insecure. This could easily be resolved with a chain or coded padlock. It faces South East so brilliant sunrises over the Wrekin landmark. The back fence butts up against the Wroxeter Hotel garden so you may occassionally hear marriage celebrations. The site forms part of the Wroxeter Roman city and is just a 5 minute walk to the English Heritage excavations and visitor centre. Excellent. The owner lives nearby and is easily contacted by phone. Do try local treats: Fidget Pie, Eley Pork Pie by Ironbridge and the Wrekin Blue cheese!! All in all we had a wonderful stay on this brilliant CL. We cannot wait to return.

Ian1945

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 11:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A perfect Basic CL in a stunning area ...

When we arrived (directions in the book are slightly misleading) but we drove slowly and not a problem. Easy access into the field, and we couldn’t believe there was no one else there. We had been prewarned that the electric was not working, so not a problem, Lots of space to choose a pitch, fantastic views of The Wrekin and the surrounding area. Lots to explore, Wroxeter Roman Site , the Church in the village and the Vineyard are all within walking distance and worth a visit. We also walked up The Wrekin for stunning views and visited Ironbridge. If you are happy with a basic site, as we often are - this fits the bill perfectly! Thanks.

KateWorden

Reviewed on 10/08/2021 11:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site for couple of nights away

Visited with our 10 year old son. We both enjoyed the Roman City only about 5 minutes walk away. The site itself was clean, open and had lovely views of the Wrekin in the distance. Surrounded by fields and birds. Plenty of space for us to kick a ball to each other without disturbing others on the site. Pitches very generous, electricity easy to access. Disposal facilities basic but perfectly adequate. Highly recommended for a stopover on the way somewhere or a peaceful base for local visits. Thanks!

ScreenNameD1C7127D96

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/06/2021 14:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic

We visited Glebe Farm for 3 days from 27/4/2021 for 3 days Loverly welcome we were given some eggs Relaxing site looking at the Alpacas and rare breed sheep We also visited Wroxeter Roman city a must see walking distance from site Slept really well here Bus stop down the road if you fancy a trip in to beautiful Shrewsbury Thank you Christine Highly recommended

sal s

Reviewed on 01/05/2021 07:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Covid relief

Arrived on site by the directions given no problems booked for 6 nights which we needed to see all the lovely attractions around this area. The lovely lady and her daughter made us both feel very welcome and we will go back. There is water , electricity and waste disposal all on the site. But the thing is the views and the animals great.

martin brown

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 18/04/2021 16:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't whine, but wine

When review stars are 2x 1, 2x 2 & 2x 5, result is an overall 3 stars you begin to wonder. We had a Red Letter voucher for the near-by vineyard tour so we thought we would try it regardless. Vineyard and CL are owned by the same family, but quite different members of it. We understood they were next door. So with an afternoon wine tasting, we could walk there & back easily. Yes on a map they are virtually adjacent. However getting there means leaving the CL by the entrance, down a country lane, through the village, (Quite interesting) and up a track. Which took us a 1/4 of an hour. The 3 hour tour, wine-tasting, afternoon tea were very good. We had booked 2 nights on the CL so we could do this. We thoroughly enjoyed it. It was part of my 70th birthday treat, and was appreciated. The CL. - I tell friends a CL is a farmer's field with a tap, emptying point, and bins. Maybe electricity. Which it was. Directions - we went down the correct lane. There is a sign pointing to the CL fastened to a highways department sign. Everything in the area is overgrown, so we nearly didn't see it. As it was we had to back maybe a couple of feet. The turn is tight. Then there is a sign pointing to the entrance which you suddenly find is by you. Again not a lot of room. But we got there without any real problem. CL - The field is a good size. There are 6 electric points. However a couple are under trees where the branches might make a noise over night. One is opposite with as good a view as you could want in the middle of a farming county. The grass had obviously been allowed to grow longish, then was cut so it lay in strips down the field. And trod into the caravan. We have caravanned for 40 years, on all kinds of sites. This is a farmer's field with basic facilities. Everything was there and worked. I have been to some CL's which were far better, with all kinds of facilities probably in an out house, hard standing even. Others are basic but full-filling all the requirements. This is basic. To pay, we left the money in a letter box outside the bungalow by the vineyard and phoned the owner to say what we had done. Later we saw her walking her dog, she waved. I was not woken up by a cockerel as other have been. However one morning I was aware of on in the distance. This is not a 1 star or 5 star CL It is a basic site fulfilling all requirements. It was certainly value. It is not impossible that we will return, as there are so many other things in the area to do.

Thowdmon

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 13/06/2019 13:40

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Dissatisfied

Eventually found the site by chance, directions poor. Unable to contact owner on arrival at an empty field so no one around to direct us & no info in site of where owner lived , so just pitched where we wanted. No issues with the electrics but then we were the only one using it. Chemical toilet & waste disposal area in very poor state, rubbish hadn’t been removed from previous weeks. Owner arrived on our 3rd day to collect the fees & apologised about the length of the grass, why we couldn’t contact her & the general state of the Waste area saying it was due to sickness in the family. However looking at previous reviews this excuse had been used for several months . Even with the issues the owner still charged us more than website quote, saying electric was extra Will not be returning

grumpy331

Reviewed on 29/04/2019 11:55

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overcharged and no power moved to another CL nearby disgraceful

Refused to stay here after our arrival and moved on to another site. Tried to charge us more than the prices advertised on arrival. Only 3 of the pitches had power, (I had booked before arrival) as we were the last to arrive we didn't get any, but didn't know this until we were told to disconnect as it was tripping the site. Electricity was supplied by a cable running from the hotel, the whole hotel tripped if you turned anything on. It was cold and with small children and no heating we had to either move to another CL or go home as I had not packed enough bedding to keep us warm. Told that new power was going to be installed the following week - no good for us - but intereting to see that reviews left after we were there in June are still reporting the power problems. Grass was uncut and was told the owner was ill, again months after going this still seems to be an issue. Would not recommend to anyone. very disappionted

littlefairy

Reviewed on 09/09/2018 08:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Disappointing

We were very disappointed with this site. It is need of some TLC. I appreciate there has been illness in the family but to be charging £14.00 PUN with electric it needs to been tidied up and a better electricity supply added. On 2 of the 5 nights we stayed, there were 7 and 8 units on site and the electric supply was not enough. It kept tripping out! The surrounding area is lovely and the alpacas kept us entertained in the mornings after we had been woken up at 5.30am by the cockerel. The chemical disposal also needs attention and personally l feel it should not be within the same place as the recycling. We will not be returning to this site.

glenchris

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2018 16:17

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

No Sleep !

If you are one of those people who can sleep through a fire alarm, then you will have no problems here. However, if you like your sleep to be uninterrupted then find somewhere else as there is a cockerel that started before dawn around 04.00 and continued unabated until gone 11.00am when we left. The field is just that a field and if it should rain will be nothing but huge puddles. Not somewhere we would ever return too. As a footnote, we were charged £14.00 not £12 as stated.

SteveDon99

Caravanner from Powys

Reviewed on 05/08/2018 20:28

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer