Glendell

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Weekend Away

We stayed at Glendell for three nights this month, July 2021. Glendell is not far from home which suited us as we had just bought a new caravan and wanted to try it out. Glendell is set in a lovely location. It has a good wide roadside gateway for longer units. The site all be it has five pitches only, is huge, giving plenty room to manoeuvre and a feeling of privacy one sited. It is all grass which is kept neat and tidy. There is a good foundation below the grass and I cannot ever imagine the surface suffering from excess rain. Sixteen amp hook up, chemical waste and fresh water with very good pressure are all well positioned. Due to Covid regulations, we used our own on board facilities., There are many walks all within walking distance of Glendell. The river Ayr walk is perfect. Mr & Mrs Sloan are lovely caring people, who obviously take pride in their business and leave you in peace, but are there if you need them. I truly recommend this CL.

kenneth11

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 11:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Convenient stopover

This was an easy to find site, well maintained and cared for. We were in a motorhome on our way to Arran. Convenient dog walk across the road. Although the ground undulated slightly it was easy to find a level spot without blocks. Facilities were easy to find and use. Union flag for water, Saltire for chemical disposal (X marks the spot!).

NoelW

Motorhomer from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 20/07/2021 11:38

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another enjoyable stay

Just returned from our second visit to Glendell and it was as good as we remembered from our first visit. The grass had just been newly mown (cuttings gathered so no pesky tramping grass cuttings into van) and we were fortunate to get fantastic weather during our stay. The owners are very pleasant and whilst available if required, leave you in peace to enjoy your stay. The site is a short drive from Ayr town centre and the various towns/villages on the Ayrshire coast, always with fantastic views over to the isle of Arran. I was amazed to read a previous review saying they were disappointed at the clingy shower curtain and number of loo rolls available, this is a small peaceful cl site where most owners expect to use their own facilities, if you want fancy toilet facilities use a facilitated site with fancy nightly site fees. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to many more.

Strathlinn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/07/2021 23:50

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Glendell

Great weekend spent at Glendell caravan site very clean and well looked after and the owners are very helpful and friendly looking forward to going back again as we enjoyed the peace and quiet

robsue64

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/09/2018 17:58

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A bit disappointing

Had 6 nights here. The field has a slight overall slope , but is spoiled by the undulations on the surface. The pitches are large all grass and well spaced. The grass is well cut and collected. The toilet room, shared with the shower is large with some items of local info. The shower cubicle was small and the plastic curtain very clingy, making it difficult to shower, so I used our own onboard shower thereafter. The toilet was fine but after 2 days the toilet roll ran out and was not replaced for another 2 days. Cows used the adjacent field but were not a problem and we had a laugh when they came to the fence and stared into the caravan. Strangely, they made no smell or at least it wasn't unpleasant ! Aircraft landing and taking off from Prestwick, some 4 miles away, past directly above us at 3000 feet. They were certainly noisy but apart from the very early one or two, and the one or two very late ones, which always woke us up, were ok, as I realise we must do that to someone when we fly occasionally on holiday. The tv and phone signal were good and places of interest easy to get to, but for £15 I thought it a bit pricey. Would I go again ? With little competition in the area, I suppose yes .

faz726

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 29/08/2018 16:05

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

A really well maintained site with good toilet / shower facilities.  Under a flight path but very few planes so do not let this put you off as the site is tranquil.  Good views of the surrounding farm land and associated animals, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Tincataylor

Reviewed on 17/09/2015 17:54

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

Stayed here for 6 nights in July this is a really  spacious lovely well kept site with pleasant and  welcoming owners.The toilet and showers were extremely spacious and pristine.There is bus service into Ayr within a short walking distance.The site is on the flight path but do not let this put you off as the flights are very minimal and there are no flights at night.The nearby road is extremely quiet.In all a very peaceful well kept site and we will certainly return.

curlytop

Reviewed on 19/07/2015 11:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice Site

We thought this slightly overpriced at £14. Grass very well cut and toilet/shower a good set up, bright and clean (Charity box 50p for shower). There is a bit of aircraft noise from them passing overhead but not too regular. Road passes close but fairly quiet. CDP is basic but adequate. Only us and one other caravan on the site at start of July. Notice on door at house beside site requests go to farm to pay etc it's not far to walk.

John and Dot

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/07/2015 10:09

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good for touring

Liked this site, we vist a lot of cls, so we know what the price of these sites should be round about, first impression wasn't worth £12 a night, but after a few days there we changed our minds, the site is kept nice and tidy, guide a spacious shower, and 2 toilets, handy for touring ayrshire, which has some wonderfully places to see, one problem was the aircraft, but after a day or two we didn't notice it, I think if we in that area again we would stop at this site

susiebailey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2012 12:57

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Glendell CL

Nice Spacious Cl. Good Access. Very Well Kept. Grass Cut Short & Tidy. Owners Very Pleasant & Helpful. Lovely Riverside Walk. Beware The Flight Path To Prestwick Airport Passes Over This Site, So You Will Get Some Noise From Aeroplanes - But Don't Let This Put You Off - We Enjoyed Watching Them Pass Over!!

DJM

Caravanner from Stirlingshire

Reviewed on 22/07/2012 15:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer