Grange Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

great site

great site friendly lovley area, will be back.

jonhelenguy

Reviewed on 31/03/2019 18:14

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice little site...

A nice little site which we felt was good value for money. Owners helpful - even lending us their local walks guide book. Toilet basic but clean. Access into site needs care if you are driving/towing a longer unit (ours 8.2 m in length) but worth the effort. Very well placed for local bus routes into Matlock and/or Alfreton. Ask for a day ticket and that will also cover you for a different bus route from Matlock rail station to Matlock Bath for no additional charge. We visited in mid June and the days tickets for two of us were around £11-ish (brain now hazy so best check!)

History Boy

Reviewed on 01/07/2018 14:41

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Frankie 1

Stayed for a weekend with the grandchildren, warm welcome by the lady that owns the site,told us where everything is,the kids loved Patrick the peacock but would not return as a long resident couple in the caravan in the corner by the trampoline clearly don’t like children as we had only been there about 15 minutes when the lady started making sly remarks to the kids saying not to play on the swing as they will disturb the birds,telling them the rules about the trampoline,tapping on the windows when they were on the swing and even tied it up when we returned from a day out,as it states on the website ideal for families that’s why we chose this site,if people don’t like kids they should go on an adult only site as I have no time for miserable people like them.

Jbrackin05

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2018 17:58

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Really great value

We chose this site for its proximity to Chatsworth House (20 minutes' drive), and because there is a decent pub (Horse and Jockey at Wessington) a short walk away. Facilities are quite basic but the site is in a really pretty orchard/lawn on a working farm. It is a really peaceful spot and for 12 quid what's not to like?

goatee

Reviewed on 26/04/2017 21:32

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fab little CL

Arrived here yesterday and was greeted by the owners, found them to be very nice and helpfull. I had read how the gates were tight but had no problems with access with our Bailey Ranger 470 and Ford Mondeo. The campsite is s good size and very private. From where we have pitched we have a lovely view of open Derbyshire countryside. We have found a fantastic public footpath for walking our dogs safely with fantastic views of the area. Having a clean if basic toilet on site with plenty of toilet rolls, soap and towel is a big bonus. Only negative is that there is a bit road noise but this hasn't bothered us. We are enjoying a very peaceful and relaxed break and will definitely return.

kaysontour

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2016 15:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

nice little campsite

we found this to be a well kept campsite , we were shown everything on arrival and then left to our own devices , which we prefer . the 2 local pubs are closed, but we found a lovely one 45 min walk away the plough it had nice reasonably priced food. a fish and chip shop close by [ we didn't try it ], we didn't find much else within walking distance but well placed for lots of tourist attractions if you are in the car . will visit again .

alfiebets

Reviewed on 10/06/2016 13:55

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Repeated visit

As a last minute booking we manage to get a place at Grange Farm.  We told the owner we had been before and asked if we could arrive early on the Friday morning as I work nights. This was fine and I got there and set up.  You don't see the owners much but I heard other people needing assistance and they got it.  The toilet was well stocked with loo roll and had hand wash.  Although it is near a busy route to Matlock for motorcycles it didn't really bother us.  We find it a relaxing place and to our surprise the price has not gone up any.  I would agree that the entrance is a little tight and suggest turning right in and not left. If your not sure go and ask the owner it will save any damage. 

deneoo1

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 04/05/2015 17:16

31 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tight Gateway

Recently stayed on this site and on booking asked if the entrance was OK for a twin axle long van and was told it is fine, it was very tight for us to get in and out with the van on so will not return. The toilet room was very small but functional and a plus factor was that loo roll and hand wash soap is provided. The traffic noise did not bother us.

BasilB

Reviewed on 05/09/2014 19:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

On the doorstep to Matlock

Small site ideally placed between Alfreton and Matlock. Site is close to main road and therefore suffers from road noise especially motor cycles throughout the day and evening. Entrance to site is tight but negotiable with care and the side pitches are on quite a slope so leveling blocks are a necessity. High hedges around site give complete privacy. Farm animals including resident peacock added interest.Local information and places of interest available from site shed and owners very helpful.We stayed for a week and still did not see every thing in local area.

bobandcarol

Reviewed on 15/07/2014 17:33

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pity about the road!

Lovely, well kept site.  Friendly owners.  Sloping field no problem.  Nice views.  Well spaced pitches.  What a disappointment with the road noise!  Site is right next to the A615, a very busy road.  I don't understand why the other reviewers gave high scoring for peace and tranquility, this was misleading for us as the noise spoilt our few days away!

BlueFoxFan

Caravanner from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 25/06/2014 08:31

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer