Greenacres Bungalow

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site but too many Vans

This is a beautiful well kept site, bins are emptied regularly. It has easy access from the main road if coming in from the south, the final bit of road is narrow. If you come down that road from the other direction it is long narrow and has hairpins! Upon arrival each pitch has a stake with your name in it, push payment through the letterbox at the bungalow. There is a fair bit of road noise but mainly during the day. My biggest complaint is that this is a 5 van CL, yet when we were there there were 11vans, electricity supplies were having to be accessed by splitters and the elsan was struggling by the end. I have no issues with higher capacity sites, but I book CLs so that there are only a small number of other guests, so dropping a star for that. As others have mentioned phone signal is very hit and miss more miss than hit.

mdr

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/06/2021 16:42

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful and peaceful site

Stayed here at short notice. Owner is very welcoming and pleasant. Phone signal is not great (giffgaff) TV signal is good. Beautiful cut grass field next to a little river. Local pub which provides lovely meals (and expensive drinks!), within walking distance, and lots of walking routes. Very spacious site. Very quiet, although you can hear some local traffic but nothing terrible. We stayed an extra night as we felt so relaxed and chilled. Another fabulous CL site.

steve500

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2020 15:57

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Stay Post Lockdown

We stayed here for a long weekend just after the sites reopened. We followed the directions and found the site easily, only the last bit after the main road is narrow but the gateway is wide and access to the field is easy. The field itself is large and fairly level, we didn't need any levelling blocks on our pitch. There is one water tap and cdp and bins are next to the gate. The grass was short and the cuttings collected. There is a stream which runs behind the site and the owner has also known a useful walk around the next field which makes a good dog walk. There are some nice walks directly from the site, but the styles as we found out are not dog friendly. Mobile signal and wifi with EE is very patchy but as we wanted to get away from it all this was a good thing. The site gives easy access to the peak district together with NT Ilam Hall. The site itself only had 4 Van's during our stay but there is another "overflow" field which also had up to 4 vans, not sure what the arrangement is and it didn't impact on our stay. We liked the cl and as its in area we love we would use the site again.

53 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

beautifully kept site

We stayed for ten nights in May and had a great time here.Site is very well tended with mown grass. Adjoining field has mown path around to walk and exercise the dog. Very slight traffic noise but did not disturb us. In the countryside but within reach of many places of interest.

davejn

Reviewed on 05/06/2019 16:29

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We had 3 nights here in April. Directions to site were easy to follow, the site itself is well laid out with plenty of space. Grass flat pitches with beautiful countryside surrounding the site. We stayed here as 2 adults and 2 children, we wanted a site close to Alton Towers and this was perfect. We would definitely come back to this site, a real gem!

SteveF

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/04/2019 12:12

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site

This is a beautifully kept picturesque site that is perfect for a relaxing stay. There are plenty of lovely walks that are easy to follow using an OS map and these can be accessed from site. The local church is nearby and well worth a visit. We would definitely return.

CB999

Motorhomer from Warwickshire

Reviewed on 03/12/2017 16:08

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

Lovely site about 100 metres away from a road but you can hardly hear any traffic noise.  The site is well kept, to say the least, neat, tidy, very well maintained.  Recycling facilities on site, water and hook up. Great location for visiting different areas either touristy or for walking. Very highly recommended site.

Jim55

Reviewed on 11/04/2015 21:40

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little hidden Gem....

Just got back from a 3 night stay here and what a fantastic little site it is! We used it as a base for doing Alton Towers with our 2 children and found it the perfect little place. 10 mins to Alton Towers without touching either an A or B road so no traffic queues to sit in! We found it to be a beautifully presented site with well tended trees, shrubs and landscaping. No frills at all, but to us, this is the draw of these little CL sites. Massive amounts of space between pitches and easily accessible from the nearby (100yds) B road. Some traffic noise apparent at times but very, very minimal and extremely easily ignored. Perfectly level pitches and easy access to the EHU, waste and water facilities. Would definitely return here and would also highly recommend it. I must mention the nearby Pub, the Rose and Crown! We went here for a meal (2 adults and 2 children) and to put it simply.... Wow! The single best Pub meal we've ever eaten, one you must try to fully appreciate. Left out the gate, left at the B road and then follow the road. It's on your right after about 3 miles.

Shaft

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 25/08/2014 21:25

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful!!!

This CL is fantastically kept, so peaceful, a real gem. On arrival our pitch was marked with a stake with our name on it, huge pitches, level, and in such a peaceful surrounding.  Definitely one to put on the "return to" list. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of work life, do yourself a favour and spend a few days here.

beachhuggy

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 25/08/2014 13:50

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Quality CL

Well presented and cared for CL.  Pleasant, relaxing surroundings but with plenty of walks, drives in the area. No hesitation in recommending as one to visit.

DeeBeeJay

Reviewed on 22/07/2014 18:16

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer