Grove Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Autumn visit

Very windy wet weather, but managed to shelter behind tree for protection. Lovely quiet site which we had to ourselves at this time of year. Friendly site owners gave us a lovely welcome as did the two donkeys. Shower and toilet were spotlessly clean and tidy. Easy site to find with great access. Found lots of lovely dog walks in area. We would highly recommend this site and we would definitely visit again if in the area.

Ian Heagarty

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/11/2021 17:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site and Owners

Fantastic CL site. The owners Tom and Mark can’t do enough to make you welcome. We used this site as a stop over having toured Northumberland. Easy access off the A1. The village of Hett is beautiful with lots of lovely walks from the site. The site has water and chemical disposal and is positioned next to some charming donkeys who are very friendly. We paid £2 extra to make use of the the lovely warm wet room. Can’t rate this site high enough 10/10 guys Would recommend and thanks again.

camping82

Caravanner from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 01/10/2021 19:49

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic peaceful stay.

I had recently installed a solar panel to my caravan and needed somewhere local to stay to try it out. Found this gem of a site to try and we were NOT disappointed all, extending our Two night stay into Four nights. Tom & Mark are the most convivial of hosts always willing to have a chat. The toilet and shower are immaculate and cleaned regularly and easy access to water, Grey water and loo disposal point. It was hay making time during our stay which made it feel even more relaxed, watching others toil. We will most definitely be back. Thank you for a stress free break guys.

ScreenNameEA00DC4C22

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2021 12:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super Site and Welcoming Owners! Highly Recommended

We only stayed one night at Grove Farm as we were travelling further north. However Mark and Tom made us very welcome and were flexible to accommodate us if we needed another night. We enjoyed chatting with the donkeys in the adjacent field! Whilst we did not use the toilet and shower I am quite confident they would be spotless. One thing to note is the price is now £10 but still excellent value for a quiet and lovely location with good access to Durham and the coast. Highly recommended and would visit again if in the area

Stevemary

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/07/2021 19:52

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our favourite bolt hole

Having stayed before we couldn’t wait to return. Tom and Mark are such incredible hosts, nothing too much bother and full of suggestions of wonderful places to visit. This time we took their suggestion of visiting West Auckland a beautiful little village steeped in history with a lovely little cafe in the village antique shop. Last time we visited was the week before they got their girls (the donkeys) so beautiful and majestic and so sociable although that could be because of the supply of carrots we kept close by. Staying here has been a favourite of ours since our first stay last year and we really look forward to coming back again to visit a few more local suggestions of villages and events.

Kirstylou

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 21:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb relaxing stay

Second time we have visited Tom and Mark's lovely site. Tom and Mark are exceptional hosts. Friendly and helpful as can be but not over bearing at all. The site is in a lovely, peaceful location and the toilet/shower are spotless. Very handy for Durham and area as well as the coast. Two new donkeys are a great addition to the feel of the place. Thanks Tom and Mark for a lovely stay :)))

PhilMTB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/09/2020 20:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site with helpful hosts

Fantastic site set on a farm on the outskirts of the village of Hett. Beautiful scenery and loads of space to chose from to camp. Tom and Mark couldn’t be more helpful. Pristine shower and toilet facilities cleaned beautifully I can’t praise this site enough. Plenty of public footpaths from Hett to walk along and at the right time of year plenty of blackberries and crab apples to pick. If you don’t want to go far you can always just stay on site and pet their newly acquired and very friendly donkeys.

Karen Routledge

Reviewed on 15/09/2020 19:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden Gem

phoned in advance and arranged our stay, on the phone they explained that there was no hook up and that the shower and toilet were exclusive and that as there was no one else booked in we would be able to have the key for these. upon arrival we were met by Mark, he explained eveything and was very helpful. Tom returned to the site whilst we were talking and was equally friendly, helpful and chatty. we were able to park up wherever we wanted on the field due to being the only ones there so found a nice flat spot (if busier would need levelling ramps). the site was very peaceful and tranquil, we walked into the village although not much there (no shop or pub) but it was a lovely little village, we visited spennymoor which is a little run down but has everything you may need. we then went to Bishop Auckland which was a lovely place to visit. I would definitely visit again for a quiet get away this along with the lovely owners makes this a new bolthole for us we look forward to returning again soon.

Kirstylou

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/08/2020 16:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little gem

We tried this site as it was the first time we tried non electric pitch and we are local to the site. On arrival we were welcomed by Tom who was very friendly and informative and then Mark also came to greet us. They showed us around taking time to ensure we were happy with everything and offered any help. After looking around round we diced to pitch on the main field at the highest point and enjoyed fantastic views with piece and quiet. The toilet was cleaned every day and kept spotless, the shower is roomy, hot with good pressure and was also cleaned daily and kept spotless. I have yet to find a better value site with these facilities and felt welcomed throughout our stay. Thank you Mark and Tom, you have a lovely site and should be proud of it, hope to see you again soon.

johnlp1982

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/08/2019 13:32

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Short Stay

We have just spent 3 nights at Grove Farm and had a lovely time. Mark and Tom were very welcoming. The toilet and shower facilities were very clean. The field itself had lots of room and the views were excellent. The top corner nearest the entrance is probably the best place to pitch with a relatively level area and the highest spot in the field giving the best views. The horse in the next field was very entertaining and friendly. Hett Village itself is very pretty and we had a nice wander round the duck pond. Nearby Spennymoor has a big Asda with cheap petrol as well as a number of other shops and takeaways.

Athel

Reviewed on 15/08/2018 10:34

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer