Hawton Waters CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful and well kept site

We stayed at Hawton Waters on our way north to Whitby. My wife and I were so pleased that we also booked for the return trip and then also stayed an extra night. This is a very rural site surrounded by open countryside, but the big attraction is the beautiful lake which we both enjoyed walking round and our dog thought she had arrived in heaven, with so many new smells to explore she really enjoyed her walks, and the first time in her six year she learned to swim. This coupled with the warm welcome and the very friendly atmosphere made for a very pleasant stay. We look forward to returning another day.

bobthebooth

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2020 19:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of my favourite cls.

This is one of my favourite sites it's perfect base for discovering the area, the site is always kept pristine. Loads of walks within the site. The only gripe I have is having to carry the waste to the gate. Being disabled I have to use the car for this. Apart from that I have no negatives, owners friendly as are their children they are a credit to them so polite.

ISHA

Reviewed on 27/05/2019 18:50

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site, very friendly and welcoming

This is a lovely peaceful site in a quiet rural location, a few minutes away from Newark. The owner was lovely and friendly, and the site has a large mostly level field. The grey waste comment on an earlier review is now out of date - there are sturdy brick disposal areas for both grey and toilet waste. All in all a lovely site and we will return if we're in the area.

anewall

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 21:24

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a Gem!

When we arrived we were buzzed in through the security gate and told to pitch where we liked, we did with a lovely view of the lake. The site is really well kept with lovely views all around. There are plenty of walks along the river Devon and wooded area. A perfect site for us will definitely be visiting again.

harky1969

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 10/05/2016 22:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Second visit

Owners are welcoming, site is well looked after. plenty of walks around the lake and wooded areas. will always go back.

alpa1958

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/04/2016 23:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site, but....

This is a very safe site, accessed by security gates, but bear in mind that the fishing lake has a separate access and a determined thief could easily get in through that route so make sure you take all your usual standard security precautions. The site is lovely, with horses in the nearby field and views over the fishing lake.  You can do a circuit of the lake easily, which is a nice walk for the dog.   As others have said, the best thing is that there is masses of space and they provide extra long power leads if you need them. Having seen a previous review which commented on the grey waste disposal, we had hopes that the problem would have been fixed.  There were two narrow planks leading up to the edge, but frankly I thought it was dangerous and was not prepared to risk a back strain or broken ankle trying to get rid of grey water.   It's a shame, because this really does prevent us from returning to what would otherwise have been a perfect site.

Rovon

Reviewed on 29/06/2015 19:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful site

Quiet site with lovely open feeling, extra hook up leads available so you can spread out if you want. Beautiful fishing lake to walk around. Perfect site for us to visit nearby relatives.

colesyboy

Reviewed on 11/04/2015 09:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely location

A big site so plenty of room to spread out.  Access to a walk around the fishing lake and then across the local countryside.  Lovely family run the site, very helpful with two lovely children.  Family horses kept in the nearby fields.  No bus service away from the site and not much to walk to locally so own transport required.  Newark was fantastic and there are some great drives through the local villages.  We will be back again as Lincoln and Nottingham are within reach.

SusanL

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/09/2014 20:45

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So peaceful

We have just spent the weekend here and really enjoyed the peace and views. We were let in through the security gates by one of the girls. We were told where to go and pitch where we liked. There is loads of space. We choose a spot near some hedges and pleased we did, seen as its been the hottest weekend for months. The site is one of the best kept that we have been too. The only thing I would say they need to change was the grey waste disposal site is a little to high so could do with a ramp. But apart from that I would recommend this site.

SueIan

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 07/07/2013 14:11

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

MAY BANK HOLIDAY WEEKEND AT THE GRANGE.

A superb site with a great welcome and very good facilities. Excellent views and great walks within the confines of the farm and around the lake. Pitches are well spaced out with very long hook up cables available to us at the far end of the site. Overall a CL that I would have no hesitation in recommending to other members of the club.

dinkysteve

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 27/05/2013 16:51

45 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer