Hill Farm CL Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

delightful stay

Just spent 6 nights here, this being our most recent of many others. As usual Jaik made us feel welcome and the pitch was nice. This is an ideal site for visiting places such as lowestoft, southwold, beccles and many others, we also rode our bikes in dunwich forest and along the country lanes, would certainly recommend it for this reason. There is some traffic noise from the A12 but not too intrusive. This is a site we will surely be returning to again.

forsythia

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 20:18

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Short Break in Lovely Site

We manage to book a short stay of three days in August in this lovely area. The site is easily accessed from the A12, the pitches are flat, well laid out with individual water and electric hookups. The grass was well kept and though the facilities are not luxurious, they are well kept and were clean. Jaik the owner left us a welcome note with all the information needed on out pitch and we met him and a had a chat later. He was very welcoming. Excellent site for touring the attractions of the area. Some slight road noise at busy times but not too intrusive.

GN20EZE

Reviewed on 14/08/2021 14:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Could be cleaner facilities

I booked this site because it had toilet and a shower, but on arrival was disappointed in the state of both, I did not feel they were clean enough to use. Housed in a wooden shed, compared to a private site we had just left that was much cleaner. We didn’t notice any road noise, and found the site handy for southwold and Aldburgh , but on reflection would not return.

ScreenNameA223E7F93F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 18:11

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good access to coast

This site is situated in a beautiful part of Suffolk with good access to Dunwich. The local lanes are perfect for cycling. The site itself was in our opinion overpriced at £23 a night. Three of the five pitches looked to have excellent hardstanding, one pitch looked adequate but the fifth pitch (ours!) was basically uneven grass/mesh which was muddy (not sure if all pitches were £23). The CDP was in need of updating. We found the traffic noise (A12 was just 270 metres away) was way too intrusive for our liking although others may not find this to be a problem.

cyclingcampers

Campervanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2021 00:03

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stay in May

Just returned from an enjoyable 6 day stay at this site with friends. Jaik the owner was as usual extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Some road noise from adjacent A12 but not a major issue. Didn’t use communal facilities due to COVID but very welcome on a CL. Within cycling distance of Suffolk coast. Will return.

JohnnyJJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/05/2021 07:59

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

2 WEEKS IN JULY 2020

The site is in a great location, although there is some road noise from the A12 and farm traffic on the road beside the site. We paid £20 per night, which is the most expensive CL we have ever used. The facilities are good, but because the pitch we booked was being resown we did not have our own water supply. I would agree with many of the reviews concerning the access to a variety of places to visit, both on the coast and inland. Please note that a couple of the hardstandings pitches are very large and may cause problems when driving in awning pegs. Would I stay there again, probably not.

dinkysteve

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 20/10/2020 21:11

47 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site in great location for exploring

We originally intended to stay on the CL, but as that was fully booked Jaik suggested one of the pitches in his adjacent six van commercial site. We would have been very happy in either location - pitches have more space in the CL (better for larger outfits), but the commercial part is cosier and more sheltered from wind. However the CL costs £18 per night and the commercial section costs £23. If planning to stay in the commercial section it would be wise to tell Jaik if you have a long outfit as two of the pitches would not be an easy fit. Ground is generally reasonably level and appeared well drained. There is a toilet and shower in the commercial site, but that is easily accessed by people from the CL if they chose. We did not use those facilities because of Covid. TV reception is excellent and WiFi generally good, although it did struggle at peak, mid-evening times. There is a convenient dog walk around some woodland behind the site. Access is straightforward, although longer outfits need to take care at the entrance. This was our first visit to Suffolk and we were pleased to have chosen to stay at this site - it is well located for exploring the area, with many excellent pubs serving top quality food and mostly with very good Covid arrangements. There are some excellent beaches and coastal towns to explore as well as Sutton Hoo (National Trust) reasonably nearby. One highlight for us was a 4 hour trip on the traditional sailing barge Victor from Ipswich. That was an amazing experience on a beautiful sunny day. There is a brilliant bakery / cafe called the Two Magpies, one mile away up the A12. We could easily have spent a second week here - thank you Jaik. (The fresh laid eggs were very tasty.....)

brissle

Caravanner from Avon

Reviewed on 19/09/2020 10:35

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL in a great location

We stayed here after Christmas and over New Year. The hard standings were great with each pitch having 16 amp hookup and individual water supply. Jaik the owner made us very welcome and provided us with a detailed information sheet for the area. The site has great facilities and is well kept. It's a great location for Southwold, Thorpeness and Aldeburgh.

alecsmart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/01/2020 21:22

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We have just got back from our Christmas stay, the owner was very pleasant and welcoming. The site was very clean and tidy, with some extra facilities which a small extra charge would be incurred. However we on this occasion didn’t require to use them, shower washing machine. The site is perfectly positioned to access the Suffolk coast. And the villages along it. I will use this site again, suited my family plus dogs. Will be back

Sally

Reviewed on 30/12/2019 14:46

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location for a late Autumn break

Last few days in October: We deliberately chose this site has it offered hard standing areas - which was much needed after so much rain. The only draw back of the hardstanding (and it was very hard) was that we needed to encroach upon the adjacent grassed area to pitch our awning -but Jaik the owner was very accommodating. For such a small site the facilities were good and very clean and although close to the A12, we didn't notice much noise. There was also a handy dog walk for morning constitutionals! The other reason for choosing this site was its location - easy access to Dunwich - great for a walk and a fish and chips lunch in the cafe on the beach, Dulwich Heath and Southwold. All in all we had a great few days and would certainly go back.

AnitaBev

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/12/2019 11:14

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer