Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Good basic functional CL with points for and against

We used this CL as it's reasonably close to Duxford Imperial Air Museum Which I thoroughly recommend for a fantastic day out. We always book basic CL's for VFM Hill Farm is a basic CL its fairly small and 5 vans are just about OK . To enter the CL you will need to open 2 gates which is a bit of a pain if you are solo. Rear of the site looks out over open fields with true rural views Mrs Martin is a friendly owner which is more to say than her 2 dogs which constantly bark at you as the water tap is boarder line on her garden fence. Although they are fenced in its the constant barking got me down Great Guard Dogs but not when you want a little peace. On the whole its OK it is what it is a bit noisy a bit cramped BUT great for Duxford and Cambridge

Green Gilbert

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 13:22

39 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little basic site

Nice level site very quiet and lovely views of Cambridgeshire.Not far from the Imperial War museum for a nice day out.Pub close by. Mrs Martin is very friendly and informative of the local area . There is a park and ride near Cherry Hinton that may make it easier to see around Cambridge .

foggy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/04/2021 17:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely basic site

Lovely simple, level site. Village pub is an easy 0.4 mile walk along unlit pathway. Queens Head at Harston is a short drive away and serves lovely Thai food. Great for visiting Cambridge as the Trumpington P&R site is close by and motorhomes can access via intercom at a separately sign-posted gate. parking is free and bus into Cambridge is only £3 per adult. Be aware of the owner's dogs which may be loose in the garden. I ignored the sign and luckily they were friendly but the owner said one does bite!

Plinksta

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/09/2020 21:24

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Real Gem

What a super basic no frills site. Nice views, and despite being close to a road we heard little or no noise. Great site for cycling - close to Cambridge, Grantchester and lots of lovely little villages. Added bonus a planes from nearby Duxford flying overhead. Terrific!!

wesley

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 17/09/2020 18:53

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil and peaceful site with the basic amenities

When choosing an area to stay during my early February visit, I was delighted to see this site available. The price and simplicity was what initially attracted me, as well as the ideal location. I stayed for 3 nights and arrived with ease after initially driving past the entrance. That was mostly a disagreement between where the satnav thought the site was, and where it actually was. This little site is tucked away on the main road, but you wouldn't be able to tell as it is so lovely, peaceful and tranquil. Being a quiet time of the year, the owner was not around much, but I didn't need them to be as everything was easily self-serving. After agreeing on everything via the phone in advance, I let myself in and parked up to be the only caravan present. PERFECT! Eventually, we managed to meet each other one cold windy morning and settled the bill. While the dogs are loose in the garden, they are not intimidating or noisy and you barely notice they are there. Water and waste were easily accessed without any problems, and getting on and off of site was very easy and simple. It's a short walk down to the quaint pub, and you're within easy walking distance of many of the other villages nearby. The area is so peaceful that if you listen very carefully, you can just about hear the faint clitter clatter of the train in the distance when it goes past. I will definitely return here at a later date when I need to be back in this area and recommend anyone else also stays here.

P35H

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/02/2020 16:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location & value for money

Excellent, location, value for money. Not having EHU brings price down. The site is secure & well kept being flat with nice views. Easy to cycle to Cambridge via The Shelford villages then cycle path either through Grantchester Meadows or footpath from Trumpington. I would recommend this site. Local pub only few hundred yards away is an experience. Duxford being nearby we were treated to a Spitfire flying over each afternoon.

Itjob

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 24/08/2018 13:01

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Close to IWM Duxford

A well kept small but tidy CL which we used to visit an air show at the IWM Duxford for which purpose it is very handy. In spite of there being no electrics, the CL was full for the weekend! The co-ordinates for this site are slightly out, it is infact located on the B1368 between Harston and Newton at 53.13207N 0.10053E. and is only a half mile from the Queens head and the bus stop in the village of Newton. The CL sign is not very visible and the entrance via two gates is easy to miss although the Farm also has a roadside sign. It is possible to turn round in the village of Newton if you should miss the entrance. We would use the site again and consider it excellent value at £7 per night.

peedee

Motorhomer from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on 31/05/2018 10:48

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for visiting Cambridge

We've been staying at Hill Farm for over a year; and what a find! It is perfect for visiting Cambridge, being just a mile away from the park and ride. Sarah is so friendly and strikes a perfect balance between welcoming you on site and leaving you alone to come and go as you please. Dogs are made very welcome and the fantastic Heritage pub, The Queens Head on Fowlmere Road, is only a mile down the road. Looking forward to our next visit in a month. Kate, Singe and Jumble.

KtD68

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/09/2017 16:12

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer